We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Fare Suisse Tahiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Faire Suisse was very good- we got picked up from the airport which saved a big fare. The rooms were simple but they were clean and comfortable. It is a short walk to the township which we did on the first night (we only stayed one night). They also dropped us off at the ferry which was really nice and again saved a fare.
The only thing to be careful about is the breakfast- they had it all set up like a buffet and we thought it was inclusive of what we had paid to stay but it isn't!! It's about $15 each person. Having thought it was part of it, I didn't feel like much so all I had was a small yoghurt container... So that ended up being a $15 yoghurt....
All in all though (minus the breakfast incident) it is very good value for money, lovely helpful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    162
    32
    9
    12
See reviews for
54
401
95
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and had a great experience. Clean rooms, reliable wifi and very good service. Great location, within short walking distance from the center of Papeete. Thank you Beni and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogdanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I wish all B&B owners were as friendly and reliable as Beni at Fare Suisse! His rooms are very clean, affordable, comfortable, and located just a short 10-15 minute walk from the "market" where the roulette (food trucks) are in downtown PPT. He's ~10 minutes drive from the airport and the ferry, and he was more than happy to pick us up from the airport, take us to our ferry to Moorea, pick us back up from said ferry, and shuttle us back to our flight home. Included in the rate, and always on time.

The rooms are basic (no TV, for example), but they're perfect. There's reliable WiFi, breakfast if you want it, an ATM + grocery store within walking distance, and a great rainfall showerhead.

We stayed one night at the start of our vacation and one night at the end, and found it to be absolutely ideal for making complex connections less stressful. Beni is awesome -- just be sure to book early, as there are only a few rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the lobby have the best WiFi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenNCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here three nights in Sep/Oct on way to/from other islands. Clean, comfortable, no frills, gets the job done and great value for money (given the generally horrendous prices in Polynesia). Has a small kitchen with microwave and stove, so you can buy food at local supermarket (5 min walk). Free WiFi/Internet that works well. Free pickup and drop off to the airport/port is included which save a taxi. Only negative point about that is the owner insists on leaving minimum time for flight check-in, so a bit of a rush each time at the airport. Another small quibble is lack of staff present during the day, when there's an emergency phone only. No pool of course.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When we arrived in Tahiti Beni was there to pick us up. He also dropped us at the airport at the end of our holiday. We stayed here 3 times one night, one each in the beginning and end of the holiday. In the beginning of our holiday we travelled to Easter Island and after that trip we also stayed one night in Fare Suisse before we travelled to the other islands of FP. Beni also arranged these 2 extra trips to the airport.
B&B is near a big supermarket and ATM. The center of Papeete is also within walking distance.
Rooms (and bathroom) are clean and large.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night en route to another island. The owner is lovely and picks you up from the airport and also drives you to the port. The room is quite basic but is fine. Good shower, my only complaint would be no mozzie net, there were lots in the room and no protection whilst sleeping. Breakfast is 10 euro's a person and is basic European of bread, jam, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereal with drinks. Overall did the job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's a good choise to visit Papeete or if you need accommodation for your stopover in the main island before going to paradise, in other islands, i definitely don't like Papeete at all but i love Fare Suisse. We sleep there 3 times, i need good hotel without luxury near city centre and free pick up. It has everything. Benni, the owner, speak good english and many other languages and picks up us free of charge for 3 times, just tell him hour of arrival. Fare Suisse is 10 minutes walking from Place Vaiete and the main market. New room,. new bathroom,everything is very nice. breakfast for 7 euros/p , he arranges day tour and transport to and from main beaches in Tahiti.
Free wireless in the hall.
I appreciate their kindness and goof services and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
4.7 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.5 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
#2 of 7 in Papeete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Suisse Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Suisse Tahiti

Property: Fare Suisse Tahiti
Address: Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fare Suisse Tahiti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fare Suisse" is a homey guest house settled in Papeete, the capital of French Polynesia. The "Fare Suisse" offers a lot of facilities as free transfers to the airport (only 10 minutes away by car) and offers easy access to city-center all place the main places of interests (supermarket, shops and restaurants, pearl museum, tourism office, market, harbour...) Only from 5 to 20 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fare Suisse Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Fare Suisse Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing