We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”
Review of Fare Suisse Tahiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

En route to another Polynesian island we stayed at Fare Suisse for one night in September 2013. Everything was fine – a clean bedroom and bathroom, nice breakfast on the terrace which even when it’s raining gives enough shelter and of course a friendly Beni who fetched us from the airport in his car and provided us with an umbrella on a rainy day. Our luggage could be left at the hotel till we had to leave for the airport again. We definitely stay there again if we shall visit Papeete again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at le Fare Suisse on and off for 10 days while we were visiting Tahiti and the surrounding islands. The pension is clean, comfy, safe and quiet, 2 minutes from a big supermarket and minutes walk to the cultural center where the Heiva danse show take place, and a few more minutes walk to Papeete’s market and city center. Guests have access to the kitchen all day long. Rates are reasonable.

Service is absolutely amazing. Beni and his staff make you feel right at home. Beni offers free airport transport as many times as you need to. We had to leave once for Bora and come back, and then again to Moorea and back and Beni was always there right on time to pick us up and drop us off. This is a major plus since there is virtually no public transport on the island and taxi fares are crazy expensive.

Wifi is fast and available everywhere. We spent hours planning our next adventures on the big terrasse overlooking the city which was very nice.

You can do your laundry, store your stuff while you’re away and they also let us use the hot showers even after we checked out since we had a late night flight out of Tahiti.

Tip: Bring a flashlight if you’re going out late at night because the way up to the pension can get really dark.

Room Tip: They also have a dorm room perfect for 3 people travelling together or for solo travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaStoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

All the reviews are right. Thus small pension is a great value, great location, clean and comfortable and very nice breakfast. Beni is a great host and shuttled us back and forth from port telling us all about French Polynesia. Only sorry we didn't book on the way out too....

Room Tip: I think there are only 5 or 6 rooms....small but comfortable and walking distance to the heart of Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mk2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in Tahiti at the beginning of your dive trip in French Polynesia in April 2013 and Fare Suisse was recommended to us via friends.
We had a very warm welcome at the airport and Beni gave us lots of tips, information and things to do about Papeete.
The Fare Suisse is beautifully located on a hill and all highlights of Papeete are within walking distance. We had booked a twin room and stayed in a little apartment with a kitchen and a big terrace which we enjoyed in the late evening.
My next trip to French Polynesia isn’t planned yet but I will return and I will definitely stay with Beni at the Fare Suisse while I’m in Papeete.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svenja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Fare Suisse for a total of 3 nights.

Beni and his team were extremely friendly and made our stay very confortable.
The free airport pick up service was very helpful and Beni was always right on time for us and that very early in the morning!

The guest house is well situated in Papeete not far from the airport, only a 10 minutes walk from the city center, we also found a supermarket closeby just down the hill.
The rooms terraces and the common area offer nice and relaxing views of the surrounding gardens.
The free storage room was extremely helpful to keep some of our belongings during the rest of our trip, considering the small sized aircrafts operating in the region.
Rooms were very clean and provided us with what's needed to have good nights sleep.

We could park the rental car in the guesthouse, enjoy free wifi, very good breakfast and Beni and his staff touristic advise.

A very reasonably priced, calm, well though of place to stay that I would recommend to anybody coming to visit beautiful Polynesia.

We'll certainly be back next time!

September 2013

Jérôme, Silvia, Josiane and Didier from France/Switzerland and Spain

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jerome0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed a total of 5 nights before and after our voyage to the Marquesas Islands on the Aranui 3. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lobby and breakfast areas were attractive. The staff was extremely helpful, including free shuttle to the airport and dock at all hours of the day (and night). The location is ideal. It's part way up on a hillside in a residential area. Only 2-3 blocks to a new park beside the harbor. Walking via the park, the total distance to the downtown information center is only 1 km. Wi-Fi is free and has high bandwidth. We cannot say enough good things about this place. Excellent value for the cost (85 Euros per night per room, 10 Euros per person for a continental breakfast of bread, fruits, juices, cereals, meats, cheese, coffee & tea).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed four nights in the first half of June and couldn't have been happier. The patron Beni is excellent and the location is very convenient. We self-catered- there is a supermarket close by ansdeverything Papeete has to offer is an easy walk away.It would be hard to find better value

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms to the right of the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
4.7 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.5 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Tahiti Airport Motel
0.2 mi away
Punatea Village
Punatea Village
#5 of 7 in Papeete
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Suisse Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Suisse Tahiti

Address: Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range: £75 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fare Suisse Tahiti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fare Suisse" is a homey guest house settled in Papeete, the capital of French Polynesia. The "Fare Suisse" offers a lot of facilities as free transfers to the airport (only 10 minutes away by car) and offers easy access to city-center all place the main places of interests (supermarket, shops and restaurants, pearl museum, tourism office, market, harbour...) Only from 5 to 20 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fare Suisse Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Fare Suisse Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing