We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place you simply have to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shakesbeer

Shakesbeer
Ranked #219 of 608 Restaurants in Tirana
Cuisines: Bar, International, European
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A place you simply have to visit.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

According to the staff the owners of Shakesbeer used to work in the UK and upon returning home set this place up to look and feel British without the "British Pub" feel. Took dinner and a few beers in Shakesbeers and was not disappointed one bit. Main menu is off the grill making all the meat clean and tasty. Beer naturally was cold and refreshing. Would I return again? A resoundingly loud Yes. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoveton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Shakesbeer has a great atmosphere in the middle of Tirana. During the warmer months they open up the central courtyard and you can almost forget you're in the middle of a busy city. The chef and owner lived in England and has a lot of international experience. Their menu features a great mix of traditional Albanian flavors as well as some amazing international dishes. Shakesbeer is a must stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMarie530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drinks - great value”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We came here following a recommendation in one of the guide books and loved it. I had the Thai prawn curry featuring the best prawns of a mostly coastal holiday so far, far better than in Croatia. The mrs had an excellent Chicken Satay. We got lovely complimentary breadsticks and melon for dessert. The beer was great - two large Korca, plus large bottle of water, plus spirit and mixer. Total = £15!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShieldsWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting tastes”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

By its name, it implies a beer house, but in that place, there is more than just beer. We enjoyed all we ate, but the cheese and olives with sesame were some very interesting tastes to try. The ambiance is very nice as well, which makes the restaurant a cozy place, be it just for a beer or a good lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ertan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a place to try”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

With so many choices now in Tirane, where to go for a meal and conversation. Glad to have stumbled into this place, you don't see from the road how big and special this restaurant really is until you get inside. The food and service was a big pleasant surprise! We took our time to sit, eat and enjoy. Our server was quality. Would find me back there again, next time in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catkar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakesbeer also viewed

Tirana, Tirana County
Tirana, Tirana County
 
Tirana, Tirana County
 

Been to Shakesbeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing