We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colorful communism remnants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.17*
and up
Tirana Sightseeing Walking Tour
Ranked #13 of 79 things to do in Tirana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Gallery of Art was founded on January 11, 1954, although its beginnings date back to 1946 with the functioning of Art Pinakoteka. The National Gallery of Art is a state museum, research, and scientific institution. Its objective is the enrichment of the collection, conservation, study and promotion of national heritage values in the field of visual arts. Also through temporary exhibitions National Gallery of Arts promotes significant trends to the public, from visual art tradition to the contemporary methods, which are now being applied in Albania and all around the world. The mission of The National Gallery of Arts is to inspire and educate the young generations to come closer to the visual arts. We want everyone to feel part of the extraordinary world of art.
Ithaca, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Colorful communism remnants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I had the privilege to visit this gallery many times and also being walked through with the help of its director. It is a small collection of Albanian painting mainly, of the last 150 years. Of course the period of communist painting is the most eye catching, due to its vivid colors and ebullient themes. But you should give a chance to the pre-communist era too. Don't miss the Motra Tone painting of Kole Idromeno which holds a very dear place in many Albanians hearts as a picture of national pride and as a point of reference for the start of modernity in Albanian art.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Galeria Kombetare e Arteve -“Veni, Vidi, Vici"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The National Arts Gallery is ideally located a few minutes’ walk south of Skanderbeg Square, on Bulevardi Deshmoret e Kombit. We were told that “the gallery has 4,000 works of art by Albanian and foreign authors, spanning seven centuries of Albanian cultural heritage,” but our aim was more modest.

After visiting a small Museum of Communism in Prauge in 2009 we were intrigued by the prospect of viewing a Social Realizm exhibit in Tirana.

The pavilion of Social Realizm in the gallery contains paintings devoted to this subject. These paintings were used as a propaganda tool of the Albanian dictatorship to idealize the positive aspects of the regime. Paintings depict workers, villagers, teens and children all happy, doing their daily chores, working the land and factories. I was impressed with a stone statue in the center of a young woman, hair blowing in the wind, hand raised in the air holding a harvesting equipment. Also impressive were pictures of muscular men holding working tools in one hand and military weapons in the other, ready to defend the “mother-land”. To non-communists this is an obvious case of “brain-washing”.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The realism paintings are a must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I went there when there was a British modern art exhibition on with Hirst etc but that was nothing with some of the old local artists realism paintings. The scale is incredible. Plus when finished go out the back and look at the Lenin statue. Oh and teh abandoned car next to it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank S1W1J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like socialist realism you have to go there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I was quite fond of this museum. When I visited they had an exhibit of younger british artists which was interesting. They also have some older Albanian painters.

But the real jewels are without a doubt - in my opinion - the socialist realism paintings on the 1. floor. They are just about everything you could expect from socialist realism: huge handsome working men, strong willed longhaired working women, apple cheeked children, fields filled with corn and tractors, massive plants and production facilities etc. Fantastic.

I just wished the museum knew what treasures it holds. No postcards, no books on their collection. Just a (locked) store with very few and not very interesting books (if you ask at the reception they will let you in).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent socialist realism collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The gallery is not huge but it has one of the greatest collections of socialist realisim I have seen in Eastern Europe. There's also some excellent work by an earlier Albanian painter Kol Idronomeno, there are two pieces from this painter that I really enjoyed, the Wedding from Scutari and Our Sister, which the guide told me is considered the Albanian Monalisa.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Gallery of Art also viewed

Tirana, Tirana County
 

Been to National Gallery of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing