We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very friendly staff”
Review of Sokrat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sokrat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 112 Tirana B&B and Inns
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, very friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is situated in the center of the city, in walking distance to many bars, restaurants, and more. Rooms were very clean, and nicely furnished. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I was there together with colleagues, who shared the same opinion. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone. The staff is very friendly, and the hotel owner does everything to make us happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorence0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
4
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I didn't actually get to stay at this hotel, although I was given a reservation as part of a group. The group arrived earlier in the day, and everyone got a room. The hotel was advised I would arrive around midnight. When I got there, however, they did not have any more rooms available (did they give my room away even though they knew I would be arriving late?), and I was forced to try to find another hotel at 1 AM.

I recommend you have a backup plan if you make reservations at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cielbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fundoa, Manager at Sokrat Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ms. "cielbie" ,

We are very sorry that you didn't actually stay at our hotel, and we understand your anger and discomfort.. But we also feel the obligation to advise the travelers to not take in consideration your "advise", but to be careful when booking, to any hotel, and give the correct number of rooms they need.
You were part of a group of people, for which we have been asked to book 7 single rooms, and if you then come 8 people, sorry, if the hotel is full, we can not help you.
It also sounds really nonsense your insinuation on the hotel giving your room away, even though we knew you would be arriving late. What reason we could have to do this? We have a business to take care of, and, of course, we have nothing against you !!!!!
So, again, we are very sorry for your inconvenience, we kindly ask you to go slow on the blames and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to amenities and restaurants. We came over to Tirana for a family wedding. 12 of us stayed at the hotel. Having never been to Albania before. The hotel was perfect to accomodate us all. Even if some of us were only staying a couple of nights. The rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cold meats and cheeses fresh fruit and yogurt. An assortment of juices bread and jam . Also omelettes and sausages these are served cold though but delicious. There is an air conditioned lounge/ breakfast room which we used during the day as well as a nice area outside where we sat for breakfast. Great if you are staying with children. I would definately stay here again loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMcfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were so happy to have had the opportunity to stay at the Sokrat Hotel! It is located within walking distance of great restaurants and tourist sites, and it is wonderfully clean and nicely furnished. Best of all is the very reasonable price! The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the hotel is immaculate! In addition, the service was great; and they even provided little cakes for us when we had to leave for an early flight and would, therefore, miss breakfast. The only thing to be aware of is that there is no elevator. As a previous review stated, this hotel is a "little gem", and we will look forward to staying there again when we are in Tirana!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacherkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I had the great privilege of staying at the Sokrat Hotel for an entire week, and I'm so glad! Everything about this hotel is excellent, and I can't recommend it highly enough. Service is wonderful, rooms are comfortable and clean, central location is perfect.

Thanks, Genti, for a terrific stay! You and your staff are to be praised!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paswaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fundoa, Manager at Sokrat Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Best regards from all the staff at Hotel Sokrat!

We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for such a nice review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you sometime soon again.

All the best from Tirana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elbasan, Albania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

One of the best hotels i have ever stayed. The location is great just some steps from the center of Tirana. Even though Tirana is a busy city rooms are quiet, well furnished, spacious and very comfortable. Great price for the value you get. Stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business and everything was clean and well organized. Food is fresh and delicious. Thanks to Hotel Sokrat for this experience :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerdiKita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I think that Sokrat Hotel is one of the best hotels I've visited from all around the world! Great and very professional staff, perfect location for reaching the most important places in Tirana, so elegant furniture and all the facilities one can need! I reccomen it to all people, who visit the town for business or pleasure.And the cost is not at all expensive. Amazing

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayabe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tirana hotels
0.0 mi away
New W Hotel
New W Hotel
#17 of 91 in Tirana
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#21 of 91 in Tirana
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rogner Hotel Tirana
Rogner Hotel Tirana
#3 of 91 in Tirana
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Tirana Hotel
Sheraton Tirana Hotel
#6 of 91 in Tirana
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tirana International Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
The Rooms Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokrat Hotel

Property: Sokrat Hotel
Address: Rr. e Elbasanit, No. 81, Tirana AL 1000, Albania
Phone Number:
Region: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sokrat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokrat Hotel is a brand new hotel, centrally positioned in Tirana, the capital city of Albania. It offers in general a very cozy and welcoming atmosphere and a very professional service as well. We have already had our first guests during the last month and the first reviews we have received have been very positive and encouraging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokrat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing