We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional restaurant inside the Hotel”
Review of Bujtina e Gjelit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bujtina e Gjelit
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Tirana
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional restaurant inside the Hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is an amazing Hotel- not luxurius-a converted chicken farm,looking so different....
The owners proudly grow their own vegetable while the meat prepared on an open fire place over charcoal is simply amazing.We had the best tasting bisteca Fiorentina,a freshly made spinach pie and an amazing bottle of red Riserva wine by Kallmet.
This dinner at 25 euros per person was not cheap but the wine alone cost 18 euros and it was divine. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: I would go for the restaurant rather than the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christospap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide Traveler :)
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Whenever Im in Tirana, I'm at Gjeli's (The Roosters Inn), it is simply amazing - very nice staff, great mixture of luxury and traditional albanian style and the food,... ah the food... Best best best...

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Bujar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I spend a lot of time in Albania for both business and pleasure, I only wish I would have found this hotel on my first trip. Bujtina e Gjelit is the perfect mix if you are looking at balancing luxury with a splash of Albanian tradition and culture. This is a family hotel built by hand with every little detail considered creating a unique feel throughout. The rooms are beautiful with huge comfy beds and mini balconies. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the food is exquisite, all locally sourced or grown on the hotels private farm. Walking around the hotel you will find a number of surprises including a range of animals and even tortoises ambling past as you have breakfast. You really would not think you are in the centre of a big city. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for the last days of my 14-day Albanian tour and this was definitively the most compliant to western Europe standards. The hotel itself is a charming Ottoman style house with a high quality restaurant and swimming pool. The Rr Don Bosco is a lively small street with lots of shops and small markets, cafes and fast food. The hotel is a bit hard to detect from the street, because of the brick wall surrounding it but it also gives it good cover from the street noise.

Rooms are cleaned daily and they are quite large and beds are good. The bathrooms are of good size too and they have a tub and a shower, which worked ok. Like in most of the places the TV didn't actually work very well and the channel palette didn't really offer anything, but TV is usually irrelevant. You can hear some noise from the inner yard in the evenings, especially if there are some performers at the restaurant. But it lasts only until midnight at most. The free WiFi didn't work very well in the room but was good by the pool side.

The pool is quite small, but deep enough and with a kind of children's side. It was cleaned daily. Overall the place was tidy. A curious addition to the place were the ducks and chickens in their pen on the small front yard and the tortoises by the pool. The building was in good condition, but especially the small front yard the facade could use some touching up.

The price range was well below western Europe but more expensive than many hotels in Tirana. The restaurant was surprisingly good, but a bit expensive. The live folk music at the restaurant on some evenings was nice, though it could be a bit annoying if have an early morning the next day. This is a quality hotel with very good service, surroundings and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jarno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Tirana. The hotel was attentive and very friendly. Great atmosphere, great food, great help
Can find security recommend this hotel to others. Yours is one of the "crazy" Norwegian supporters

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjeli, Manager at Bujtina e Gjelit, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for the nice time we spent together and the awesome review.We are looking forward to see you "crazy norvegians" again!Best wishes,have a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A great hotel. I stayed here for a weekend with wife and friends. Been visiting Tirana very often and know it's noise, but at Bujtina e Gjelit you don't have the feeling you are in Tirana, it's more like you are somewhere in Theth or Valbona, it is so quite and relaxing.
The staff was very lovely, very nice and polite, they were as courteous as the owners. The food, rakia and wine are incredible tasty and delicious. It is a very clean and neat place. Free wi-fi, very clean Pool.
I would recommend this place to y'all planning to visit the most lovely and welcoming country/nation on Earth, ALBANIA.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. I stayed here for about a week, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxing despite being in the middle of the city. The food was one of the best parts of the stay. There is always something delicious available and everything is made in house. They even have gardens across the street where they grow many of the veggies and greens that you eat in the restaurant. It is pretty close to the center of town so there are quite a few things walkable in the area, just be careful crossing the streets. Albanian drivers are...very brave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesetJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tirana hotels
1.9 mi away
Dinasty Hotel
Dinasty Hotel
#2 of 92 in Tirana
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Plaza Tirana
The Plaza Tirana
#1 of 92 in Tirana
133 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rooms Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sar'Otel Hotel & Spa
Sar'Otel Hotel & Spa
#16 of 92 in Tirana
130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Tirana Hotel
Sheraton Tirana Hotel
#6 of 92 in Tirana
417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tirana International Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bujtina e Gjelit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bujtina e Gjelit

Property: Bujtina e Gjelit
Address: Rr Don Bosco, Tirana 001, Albania
Region: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bujtina e Gjelit 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bujtina e Gjelit, envisioned and constructed in 1994 by a family with strong connections to the Albanian art and traditional values. Shingled roof, iron, stone and wood works in fine details created in an artisanal manner by the Albanian masters. Folkloric suits and traditional home interiors make all even more special. For many years, we have tried to faithfully transmit to our costumers, the architectonic and culinary values of the Albanian and Balkan tradition.Gjeli restaurant (outdoors/indoors)Taste the Albanian cuisine. Rotisserie piglet, Oven lamb, ember cooked sausage, traditional baked pie, are some of our chef’s original specialties. Our traditional way of cooking by the oven brick and the warm familiar feel would not escape your senses. We follow rigorously our guests’ needs and tastes, always trying to outdo ourselves on perfection and quality of serving. Gjeli hotelA characteristic construction with shingled roofs on stonewalls, balconies and wooden stairs, narrow corridors and room interiors designed by perfectly combining the old with the modern, take you on a journey of hundreds of years back in time. It includes a total of 18 rooms and 1 residential suite. The rooms include: Satellite TV, Wireless Internet, private bathroom, minibar, blow-dryer, alarm system and, of course, room service.Conference room with a capacity of 80 people offers Audio/Video system and Internet service.Outdoors pool (free for our clients)Parking (free for our clients)Gjeli Farm:Gjeli’s Farm is located near the Dajt Mountain, 24km from the city of Tirana. The farm is built near a small lake, in the middle of wilderness and clean air. It provides ideal conditions for planting and cultivation of all our produce we use in our restaurant. Everything on your plate is biological/organic, without any artificial compounds. Seasonal activities, such as hiking, barbeque, fruit picking, are organized accordingly.Hotel Restaurant Bujtina e Gjelit is located between the Airport “Nene Tereza” and the city center, 15mins from the airport and 5mins from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bujtina e Gjelit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing