We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming”
Review of Hotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baron
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Tirana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

having read previous review i arrived with a feeling of trepidation.arriving late afternoon,i was watered,then fed,enjoying the view from the terrace,before taking the cab back into town<500 leke/£3>.on my return and subsequently,the staff/owners always seemed to my wishes at heart.my schoolboy german came in handy but these were very minor problems for this well situated albeit out of centre hotel.the bus cost 30 leke,took 15 mins.i took cabs due to the heat.my stay was enhanced by the international nature of the other guests,with whom i spoke at length over drinks on the terrace.we all seemed to like it.my room was spacious,had a balcony and all in all,this was the best three star hotel i have stayed in this year.the food was good too,seemed authentically albanian to me and complemented the rather cheap but good local wine.try the red!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baron
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We chose this hotel carefully based mainly on reviews from Trip Advisor. We were totally surprised by the poor quality of the stay we experienced and the many problems.

We arrived at midnight after a late flight and were looking forward to the hotel. The hotel chauffeur drove us at high speeds, dangerously and we were pleased to arrive in one piece. We then were annoyed to find that, instead of the family triple room we had booked we were put in a twin room with an extra bed for our son. As our son is 14 he is rather big for a camp bed and I spent the night putting his arms and legs back in to stop him rolling out. We were charged extortionately for 2 bottles of water before settling down for the night. Washing wasn't easy as there was only the tiniest little 2cm bottle of complimentary hair/body/hand wash all-in-one. The bathroom had an equally minute sliver of soap. All night we lay awake - kept up by the continual howling and braying of what sounded like all the dogs in the country just below our window and endless, noisy traffic. When the traffic slowed a bit the hotel started to have visitors - whether this was deliveries for the kitchen or guests I don't know but they started banging doors and talking loudly from 4am.

In the morning we were disappointed to find we only had the option of eggs, omelette or toast for breakfast and after this we voiced our desire to be transferred to a suitable room and one which faced away from the road.

The hotel were very nice about this, although the waitress/customer service lady was quite derisive from the start. We came home from the day out (the drive to Tirana city is well over half an hour) to find ourselves in a tiny triple room with no balcony and no bath. The shower was horrible, dirty and mouldy and we felt annoyed to again not receive the type of room we had been promised over the phone prior to arriving. I broke down in tears and the hotel kindly moved us again - scolding us all the while. This time we lumped for a double room with a balcony and cleaner shower-room with a camp bed - but the room was too small to swing a cat. The balcony was full up with massive, sweaty plants and the floor was flooded. In all three rooms that we tried the air conditioning and TV did not work. For the next two whole nights we were kept awake by endless, competing, all-night weddings. The music was so loud we had to wear ear-plugs and lasted until 4am. The noise was made worse by the fact that there were more than one wedding going on at once and a building not far from the hotel seemed to be a venue for weddings every night - all night. The second night of this chaos we packed up at 3.30am and fled the Hotel Baron. We sought refuge at The Prince Hotel in Tirana, which proved to be much cheaper, much more spacious, spotlessly clean, with metal window blinds which ensured a silent, dark nights sleep in a beautifully air conditioned room. It was luxury and we loved The Hotel Prince for the rest our holiday, It was a friendly, beautiful, peaceful hotel which we looked forward to coming home to every day. The food was wonderful and the staff went out of their way. It was far more professional than the Hotel Baron.

When we visited the Hotel Baron after leaving it to request a partial refund (we had paid for 8 nights and only stayed 3) we were refused any refund and the Hotel manager even refused to give us a simple note stating that we had stayed 3 nights - so as to enable us to seek a refund of sorts. She was rude and challenging and her son was very intimidating. She tried to charge us a large tax. My husband wanted to pay the tax as he was scared of her son's threatening behaviour but I refused and they all started rowing loudly in Albanian.

The awful experience at the Hotel Baron made the first three days of our holiday extremely stressful and upsetting and was a massive mistake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank claire3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

To be fare the hotel is okay, but the location is outside of Tirana and not convenient for walking to museums, theatres, bars or restaurants or Tirana excursions. Staff were kind. You have to get a taxi or a bus to go to Tirana and busses are not recomended. You may save on hotel fee but you will spend triple on transportation to go to the hotel from Tirana.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Very enjoyable, great food. Make sure you try the restaurant. But the "grasshoppers" on the menu turned out to be cocktail shrimp. Major disappointment. For me, anyway. But who could imagine grasshoppers in season in October? Am I the only one who sees a touch of Judy Chicago in the ceramic pieces on the dining room wall? Anyway, everybody was very helpful getting me to early morning travel connections.

The rooms in the back have great views over the valley.

If you walk back from town, don't walk back through the park because the park roads take you bit by bit away from the hotel road. Finally about sundown a very nice man gave me a lift to the hotel. And I had maps and a GPS!

Room Tip: back is quieter
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We have e nice holiday! Tirana for us was a very interesting city. There are so much bar, restaurants, pub ect... also Tirana have a lot of yang people...
But the best things was chosen to stay in the hotel Baron. The staff is very professional and so friendly. The room are comfortable and very quit. The nature around is beautiful and green. The facilities and the service, the bar and the food... all the things in this place are great.So if you go to Tirana, you must go to hotel Baron.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Serena018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We were only in Tirana one night -- arrived after supper and left the next morning after a leisurely breakfast. The manager and her family live in part of the hotel and are very welcoming. The rooms were clean and the bed we had was good, although our friends said that their bed was a bit saggy. Both rooms had nice balconies. The breakfast the next morning (which was included in the price) was delicious -- petulla (fried dough), garden tomatoes, feta cheese, home-made apple marmalade, cheese omelet, orange juice and large macchiato. We felt like family. There's a beautiful garden area with tables and chairs for coffee in the summer. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Tirana!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandTEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Very clean, welcoming and good stock of wine for excelent restaurant. family run so they care.
make sure you get a room at the back away from road and beware of mosie's !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterEastDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirana
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#60 of 93 in Tirana
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jolly Hotel
Jolly Hotel
#17 of 93 in Tirana
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dinasty Hotel
Dinasty Hotel
#2 of 93 in Tirana
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tirana International Hotel & Conference Centre
18.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Lule
Hotel Vila Lule
#1 of 38 in Durres
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Nobel
Hotel Nobel
#33 of 93 in Tirana
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baron

Address: Rruga Elbasanit Nrd. 274 H. 1, Tirana 1003, Albania
Region: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tirana
#15 Business Hotel in Tirana
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HOTEL BARON!Hotel and Restaurant Baron is a family business which constantly tries to meet the desires and demands of its customers. Our Hotel is in the middle of Albania and is in an area characterized by a harmony with nature just 3 km outside the center of Tirana. Built in 1997 preserving the traditional Albanian architecture, Hotel has 4 floors and has 20 rooms which are divided into the following categories: single, double and family-rooms. Our restaurant offers traditional and European cuisine, a kitchen that best expresses the art of tasting. We wish to have the honor to welcome you soon at our premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baron Hotel Tirana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing