We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the Eastern block”
Review of Hotel Belarus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belarus
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Minsk
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the Eastern block”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the first hotel that I stayed in while in Belarus. The hotel was clean, and the staff was very friendly. They were happy to advise me of the sights to see in the area. As most hotels it was buy, but the service was still quick. Good location for the enter of Minsk!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top floors. The view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etienne1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    171
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
75
56
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
islandmagee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy. In some areas it looks great with marble floors but in others its 1970's soviet design at its worst.

Staff were good and the hotel is quite central.

Sercurity was pretty tight with armed men and soldiers a regular sight.

The hotel is linked by a walkway to a nightclub and strip bar although this didn't affect our stay in terms of noise etc.

You can exchange currency within the hotel but the rate was poor as you would expect.

But they do have a haridressers and they managed to give me a quick trim for very little.

Overall and interesting place.

Room Tip: dont leave clothes out hanging on your balcony or windows left open as the police may think your a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garymckeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just got back from Minsk and stayed with friends. I stayed at this hotel years ago and it was a true cultural experience. Back then it was an OK place and definitely close to where we needed to be. We were a large group and it provided just the experience we were looking for. I would have to say in the early 90s when we stayed it was utilitarian.

The hotel Belarus is currently closed.This trip it was pointed out to me the place was almost destined for the wrecking ball but a last minute intervention spared it and is now undergoing renovations. With the hockey championships coming in 2014 there is a lot of hotel construction and renovation going on all over the city. I was astonished at the growth of the city and amenities for visitors over the years is almost startling.

This hotel occupies a prime location on a bend of the Suisloch River and the entire area is now a busy construction site, including luxury apartments going up near the Old City and Isle of Tears.

Room Tip: Will have to wait for re-opening
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Was here for several nights on business in late '10. Other reviewers have rightly pointed out the "Soviet" (e.g. cheap, worn out) character of the hotel. However, if you spend the extra money for one of the "business class" rooms (instead of settling for a standard room), you will be pleasantly surprised.

The $45 (?) price for a standard was tempting, but the business class room I got for roughly $80 was worth every penny. They are busily converting rooms to a higher standard, and mine was clean, reasonably spacious, and attractive. Breakfast included in the room rate is on the top floor and was a plentiful buffet. I'd also recommend the small, cozy restaurant/lounge on the ground floor, where I had an excellent chicken salad sandwich and beer.

Yes, the ground floor is dark and spooky. (Why don't they turn on the lights in the former USSR?) And the staff were overwhelmed when my group got in - I waited for 45 minutes before I got to the front of the line. But on the whole, the Hotel Belarus can be an enjoyable experience. Just one proviso: DO NOT let them give you a "smoking room," which is what I got stuck with when I returned to Minsk at the end of my trip. It was business class all right, but it reeked of cigarettes and was just horrible.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Isoruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Hotel Belarus is a nice place to stay. The location is good. A short walk can take one to the major sightseeing areas here. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It provided a beautiful view of the outside. The bathroom was clean too. The pool is quite large with saunas. There is also a good gym here. But I heard that we have to pay extra for using the gym and saunas. The restaurant is good. It serves nice food. The breakfast buffet was fine. I stayed here with my wife for two days. We don’t mind staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank uncleh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Hotel is very good. Very helpful personal. It is located not far from the center of Minsk. It is very easy to find it. There is extreamly beautiful wiev from the window. I am very sad that we can't stay there this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vika77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Vintage Soviet-style all the way. Something for everyone to experience once before these places become extinct. Main problem was utter lack of sleep comfort -- miserable little bed, curtains in name only, no air conditioning. Nice view of West World though from room 821. And, the restaurant food was good. Lots of things to photograph here -- mural in pool area something special. Need a taxi to get downtown from the Belarus Hotel. Don't even think of the business center as an option.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minsk hotels
1.8 mi away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#3 of 43 in Minsk
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Minsk Hotel
3.2 mi away
Slavyanskaya Hotel
Slavyanskaya Hotel
#9 of 43 in Minsk
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monastyrski Hotel
Monastyrski Hotel
#5 of 43 in Minsk
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Minsk Hotel
Minsk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Minsk
480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Minsk City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belarus

Property: Hotel Belarus
Address: Storozhovskaya Str, 15, Minsk 220002, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belarus 3*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belarus Hotel is located near administrative and business centre of Minsk and metro station Nemiga. The hotel has 484 rooms of different class, equipped with modern furniture, satellite TV, telephone. Guests are welcome to use parking, beauty salon, pharmacy, currency exchange, shop, Laundry service, gym, pool and sauna, as well as access to wireless Internet (Wi-Fi), safe at the reception. The highlight of the hotel is a panoramic elevator that will take everyone to the observation deck, where you can enjoy the beauty of the capital. On the 22nd floor of the hotel offers is the "Panorama"restaurant, which also offers great views of the city of Minsk. Cafe "Belarusian cuisine" and "Paparats-Kvetka", cosy bars will give You the opportunity to relax in a calm and pleasant atmosphere. For business meetings you can rent a conference hall for 229 seats with equipment for simultaneous translation, conference hall for 35 seats or 2 rooms for negotiations with 16 seats each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belarus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belarus Hotel Minsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing