We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”
Review of U Fontana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
U Fontana Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Minsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I usually stay at hostels, but as a part of the deal to get a visa to Belarus, I had to let my agency book a hotel from a (limited) list of hotels for me. U Fontana turned out to be the best combination of price and acceptable reviews. I did, however, end up rather disappointed. First, none of the staff spoke a word English. This is rather common among the average Belarusian, but you expect the staff at a hotel to at least master basic vocabulary. They seemed helpful and friendly though, but because of he language barrier I didn't talk much with them. My second encounter with the staff was later the day I arrived. I hadn't slept much on the night bus from Rīga, and decided to sleep a few hours before heading out. Naturally I put up the "do not disturb" sign, though this did not prevent them from banging on my door later! At this point I had overslept, so it didn't ruin my day, but "do not disturb" usually means just that, do not disturb! Maybe this encounter scared them, as my room was only cleaned once during my entire six-night stay there... Maybe there are some hotel customs I'm not familiar with due to always staying in hostels, maybe I was supposed to tell them I wanted my room cleaned, but from my limited time in hotels, I'm used to this happening automatically. Their breakfast was rather boring, but okay. I only tried macaroni with a few side dishes, as "macaroni" was the only Russian word I understood from the waitress. They have free parking, which I suppose is good if you come by car, but if you come by foot, prepare to walk. The city center is at least 40 minutes away! Pretty much the only positive thing I can say about this place, is that if you like nightlife, there is a nightclub literally down the street. All in all, I'd recommend travellers to find a cheaper hotel/hostel closer to the city center, or find an agency that let's you choose where you want to stay yourself (ie. not BelarusTourService...)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristoffer_909090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 77 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Елена К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank VitalyPapsuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank 210ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Afgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Sigvard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minsk hotels
1.0 mi away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#2 of 43 in Minsk
307 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#22 of 43 in Minsk
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belarus
Hotel Belarus
#6 of 43 in Minsk
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gubernski Hotel
Gubernski Hotel
#19 of 43 in Minsk
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Slavyanskaya Hotel
Slavyanskaya Hotel
#8 of 43 in Minsk
163 reviews
6.3 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#29 of 43 in Minsk
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Fontana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Fontana Hotel

Address: Amuratorskaya 4, Minsk 220004, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Minsk
Price Range: £32 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Fontana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "U fontana" is located next to the avenues - Winners and Masherova in cultural-historical and business center of Minsk, a 10-minute drive from the exhibition center "BelExpo" and sports and cultural complex "Minsk-Arena". Near the historical part of the city - the Trinity suburb, fountain "Sail" and Victory park, as well as other attractions. The 300-x m. from the hotel there is a shopping center, entertainment night club, underground station "Molodegznaya". Excellent transport links will get anywhere in the city as soon as possible . Advantages of the hotel: - Individual approach to each guest. - Free WI-FI and guest parking. - Restaurant, sauna, conference services, summer cafe. - Loyalty program for regular guests. - Special rates: Early Booking, minimum stay, last minute offer. - Various actions weekday and weekend. - Transfer from / to the airport, bus station. - Close to the historic center of Minsk. From the underground 500 m. Hotel "U fontana" offers 18 cozy rooms of different categories - deluxe 2-bedroom, 2-bedroom Superior 2-bed standard 2-seater and 1 seater. Each room has a double bed or two twin beds; all necessary furniture; (Wi-Fi); individual air-conditioning; mini bar; LCD TV; phone; soundproofed windows. In the bathroom: Modern sanitary ware, shower, hairdryer, toiletries, bathrobes and towels. All rooms with double and single occupancy. On request extra beds and cots. The restaurant "U fontana" serves the Belarusian and European cuisine, and enjoy the comfortable ambiance. Continental breakfast in the restaurant are from 8:00 am to 10:00 am. Guests can order room service lunch or dinner. The restaurant holds celebrations, banquets. Banquet halls for 50 and 25 people. Outdoor cafe in a fruit garden with an outdoor terrace and wooden pergolas where you can relax to the sounds of a flowing fountain and order such as kebab with grilled vegetables. The hotel has a spa suite. Where it offers a Russian sauna, Finnish sauna, swimming pool with hydrocannon, Jacuzzi, relaxation room with fireplace, Russian billiards. For business meetings, trainings, seminars and workshops hotel offers a conference room for 25 people with the provision of the necessary equipment and catering: coffee breaks, lunches. Among the services the hotel "U fontana" - round the clock reception service; transfer; luggage storage; air and rail / train tickets; Custom tours and tickets for theater, sports and recreational activities; Business services - print, copy machine, fax machine; Car rental with driver; turndown service, wake-up; laundry and dry cleaning. Within the hotel complex free guest parking. A manager will order a taxi if necessary. The friendly, professional staff will orient in the choice of a variety of hotel services, leisure facilities in the city. Will assist in solving any problems related to the stay in the hotel complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your U Fontana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing