We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical soviet style hotel”
Review of Sputnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sputnik
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Minsk
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical soviet style hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Run by govermental company Minotel, Sputnik is Typical soviet style hotel which costs a lot money(I had business class room 100$\night) and for this you get small! room, old tv set from the last century, bad smelling fridge which appears working but not cooling and rude staff. They are real Homo sovieticus examples. I woul not recommend to stay there, but the problem is that I can't recommend any hotel for this price level to stay in minsk. They all are almost the same. Planeta, Orbita, Turist, Yubileinaya - not worth your money. All they cost around 100$ and they bring you to time travel trip to the early 90s. Shame to Minsk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ovd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    51
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
33
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This place was clean and efficient. The breakfast was excellent. There were many items, constantly replenished, and very tasty. If I return to Minsk, will have no problem with staying here again. if there was a way to indicate 3.5 stars on Tripadvisor, that is what I would give, as I believe it is slightly beyond average. In North America, this would be a solid 3 star property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flipperpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Вильнюс, Литва
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed at "Sputnik" one night at the end of May 2012 with a group of my colleagues (25 people) from different Scandinavian countries.
The hotel is well located, not far from the city center and has free parking in front of the building. It's infrastructure is not bad comparing with other 3 stars hotels in Belarus. Rooms are renovated, rather spacious and clean. All furniture and bathroom equipment are comparatively new. We were satisfied with the facilities.
However, the level of service is very poor. The staff are not trained to serve their customers, they are not organized, unhelpful, impolite and very rude. We had a reservation for conference hall, but one hour before the time it has apeared that it was under construction and we were informed about it just before the meeting! I was shocked and asked for a compensation, but instead of apologizes and compensation the receptionist was very rude and said: "Compensation for what? It's your mistake because you had to sign a contract at your checking-in. If you did it, everything would be ok". But I didn't understand how signing a contract could change reconstraction of the hall?! I asked to talk with administrator, but I was told that there is no administrator as it was Saturday. After that I asked to call the administrator, but I was given an answer: "On Saturday?!" So, we were very angry and dissapointed with the service we got. I don't suggest to stay at "Sputnik" even for those who got used to Belarusian service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaryaTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Very big rooms with a little old furniture, but the value is really good and the location is close to the main Minsk road, so the transportation is easy. Food was not so good for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zimbardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel is suitable only as a place to sleep. The rooms look very old, with old bathroom, old furniture and an old small TV. Wi-Fi is available, but very slow and costs about 2 Euro per three hours. Breakfast is till 10 o'clock, but we didn't try it. The hotel stuff is not polite and speak bad English. The hotel is far from metro stations.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyEstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Please note, I can speak Russian so my review is from this perspective.

The hotel is unquestionably a Soviet-era hotel updated to the 21st century in a Belarussian way, which gives the hotel a certain character. If you don't like going from city to city and staying in the same hotel, i.e. Ibis, Holiday Inn, etc, then the Sputnik is the ideal choice.

The reception staff were polite, friendly and offerred good advice on the city. I even received a lift from one of the staff's partner to the airport when leaving at 4am!!!

The restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The previous review on the breakfast is 100% accurate, the selection of food available stretches the imagination and is of very poor quality. I'd recommend to avoid the restaurant for lunch and dinner too. The 24hr cafe offers some tasty rolls with cheese, ham or fish (salmon). They also have very inefficient fridges, so the beer is often mildly cold. At least the beer in my room was efficient :-)

The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch. I sometimes found the cleaners to be a bit too keen and did more than I'd have expected. I stayed in the hotel for 10 days, so didn't want the room cleaned everyday. The cleaners speak some English.

TV channels in the hotel are local Belarussian, German TV channels DMAX and RTE, with English channels FashionTV and CNBC.

I like the location of the hotel with close proximity to the bus #100 and a couple of supermarkets nearby (5 min walk directly across from the hotel).

Overall a good hotel in Minsk which made me feel welcome and will definitely be back to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mosc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This hotel is sited in a late-Soviet building that was recently upgraded, both inside and outside, but still retains some gloominess of furnishings and service. The best thing is probably the location, 10 min walk from Institut Kul'tury subway station or a short ride with bus 100 from the city center.

Although the rooms and service are generally OK, there are many small things that remind of earlier times. That's typical for Belarus, which is in general a quaint country. However, in this particular hotel traces of the past are somewhat annoying and spoil the impression. Unfriendly ladies at the reception who have apparent problems with foreign languages (at least some of them), the stupid procedure of room check at check-out, tatty doors with insecure and hard-to-use locks. The rooms are fine albeit old-fashioned. Amenities conform to the declared 3-star status: fridge, TV, soap, shampoo, and shoe brush - everything is there. Wi-Fi internet is provided by byfly. Although charged, it is very cheap and costs about 50 cents per hour. Access cards are sold at the reception (same login and password are valid for many other byfly hot-spots around the city).

The worst thing in Sputnik is its breakfast, which is as ridiculous as it could be. Hot dishes (sausages, fried bacon and even fried fish) are accompanied by fatty starters (like eggs in mayonnaise), a bit of cheese and vegetables, and milk with one type of cornflakes. Juice is non-existent (some strange disgusting drink is offered instead), bad Nescafe as coffee, and few unappealing pastries that run out pretty fast. Although it is possible to get a bite here, you will have to go out for normal coffee and decent morning meal.

Overall, Sputnik is neither comfortable enough to justify its price of >50€ for a double, nor sufficiently old-style to be a nostalgic experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atsirlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minsk hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Orbita
Hotel Orbita
#15 of 44 in Minsk
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gostinitsa 40 Let Pobedy
2.3 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#22 of 44 in Minsk
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Zvezda
Zvezda
#38 of 44 in Minsk
77 reviews
2.5 mi away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#2 of 44 in Minsk
292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Slavyanskaya Hotel
Slavyanskaya Hotel
#8 of 44 in Minsk
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sputnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sputnik

Property: Sputnik
Address: Brilevskaya 2, Minsk 220039, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Minsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sputnik 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sputnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing