We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a few nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sputnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sputnik
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Minsk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok for a few nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as we landed in Minsk late in the evening and then needed to drive to Mogilev the next day.
Very helpful staff, but nothing to do around the area of the hotel, so it's a bus ride in to the centre.
Would use again, but only as an overnight stop over.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DTDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    46
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
30
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

You must pay for your stay in advance which is not good if you don't know how long you will stay, so it's inconvenient to pay every day. I had informed them I will be staying at least 1 month but it could change any day, so I paid 1 week in advance and the 1st day after 1 week, a receptionist and security man knocked very loudly on my door insisting I pay for my room immediately and I was then escorted to the reception to pay. It was most embarrassing and I had just arrived from work. It is maybe the rules from management but the staff were not nice about and I was treated like I had just robbed the place. I stayed a few more days and changed hotel. Food is very salty. Rooms ok. Some of the staff are very nice and some not polite at all. Wifi very slow but ok at the reception.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank franky4f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valasske Mezirici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We choose this hotel because hotels around Minsk are soo expensive and this one was quiet near center ( 4 minutes by taxi ) . From the outside it looks like typical communist architecture hotel, inside is much better. Rooms are modestly equipped without AC, bathroom was very clean and nice with all "one time use" gadgets ( toothbrush, shaving razor, even comb ). There is sauna,pool, 24 hour bar ( poorly equipped ) , and good restourant downstairs. There is also small shop with souveniers and hygienic stuff at reception. Breakfast was great! Really big choice of meals, only they should put there some real juice not just water with some fruit flavour. Bed was comfortable, staff was speaking english properly, I only miss electric plug on my side of bed . Bancomat is next to the hotel .

Room Tip: If you dont want to be disturbed by the noise from the streets ask for room on the other side of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanislavholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hi all. Being there a few times, last and this year. Actually i go there only, when all other hotels are booked - it`s a typical soviet hotel, with rude personal and awful breakfest. Never been to the restaurant in the evening, burt the load old misic and not the best smell - makes some bad impression. The only good thing is the nice location, not far from M9 road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I agree with most of what I read. I was a solo traveller and was in a single room. No airconditioning which then needed a window open facing a main road. I think next time there are a lot more central options that for a little bit extra spend would be a much better experience. Breakfast was very good. However, would not go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanWils101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have been there only once and I can't say that I would go there again. The main problem is that the quality does not correspond to the price. In the room you will find only a table, chair, a bed and a Tv that shows only few channels. The room is so small that you can hardly walk between your bed and table. There was a phone but it did not work! 60$ for this room is too much. For 40-50$ you can rent an appartment in Minsk. So think twice before going to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaH1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Run by govermental company Minotel, Sputnik is Typical soviet style hotel which costs a lot money(I had business class room 100$\night) and for this you get small! room, old tv set from the last century, bad smelling fridge which appears working but not cooling and rude staff. They are real Homo sovieticus examples. I woul not recommend to stay there, but the problem is that I can't recommend any hotel for this price level to stay in minsk. They all are almost the same. Planeta, Orbita, Turist, Yubileinaya - not worth your money. All they cost around 100$ and they bring you to time travel trip to the early 90s. Shame to Minsk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ovd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minsk hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#20 of 44 in Minsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yubileiny
Hotel Yubileiny
#21 of 44 in Minsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Zvezda
Zvezda
#37 of 44 in Minsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#2 of 44 in Minsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
7.0 mi away
IT Time Hotel
IT Time Hotel
#33 of 44 in Minsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Orbita
Hotel Orbita
#16 of 44 in Minsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sputnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sputnik

Property: Sputnik
Address: Brilevskaya 2, Minsk 220039, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Minsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sputnik 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sputnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing