We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple accomodation + great staff!”
Review of Hostel Gonzo

Hostel Gonzo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Gonzo
Ranked #71 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple accomodation + great staff!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the busy end of Ramadan weekend in Sarajevo. The staff are very friendly, and called us before we arrived to make sure we were finding the way by road from Croatia. The room was simple, clean and pretty comfortable. The breakfast buffet contained cereal, milk, various jams, bread, tea, coffee, and boiled eggs. The manager is very helpful and was committed to making sure we had a nice stay. I'd highly recommend this hostel, because it has great service, and is affordable!

PS: There is an adorable black and white cat who lives across the road, eager to give you cuddles in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maia1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

owner very friendly and helpful. Since the hotel is located outside town, he drove us in town, and picked us up in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 430elainel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed here few times and asked from the owner to write a public comment. So, here we are.
Hostel is nice, not the best on the world but stuff make your stay wonderfull! Always on help, 24 hrs reception, quiet place, not too far from downtown and minute walking from public transportation. Anything you need, they can arrange it. There is a manager, I called him "Mr. No Problem". And it was like that.

Room Tip: For double, ask for 21, for single, ask for 17 if possible or 20. For app (4 persons) ask for 4 or 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poeta313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We loved this hostel and we have stayed in quite a few. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. They couldn't do enough for you. They took the bags to the room and made fresh coffee for us on arrival. The breakfast was great, especially compared to ones we had had at a previous hostel. The cost was very reasonable and they even arranged for a taxi to take us to the station. Whilst Sarajevo is not the most touristy of places, if you do go there, the Hostel Gonzo is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniebanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

"Gonzo" was not what I expected it to be. Our room was small, I found lots of hairs in the bathroom, the shower wasn't working well... Moreover, we had some disputes related to breakfast - was it or wasn't it included?? In the end, we got it. The staff was really nice (there was a very smart boy there, helping us with the translation - he was of real help!), but I wouldn't stay there again if in Sarajevo.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaPetraComan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
3.6 mi away
Hostel Posillipo
Hostel Posillipo
#46 of 68 in Sarajevo
22 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travellers Home Hostel
Travellers Home Hostel
#5 of 166 in Sarajevo
169 reviews
4.0 mi away
Haris Youth Hostel
Haris Youth Hostel
#9 of 166 in Sarajevo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
TSC Pansion
TSC Pansion
#47 of 114 in Sarajevo
14 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Rooms
Residence Rooms
#8 of 166 in Sarajevo
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Guest House Ciro
Guest House Ciro
#11 of 114 in Sarajevo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Gonzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Gonzo

Property: Hostel Gonzo
Address: Gatacka 33, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Gonzo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Gonzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Gonzo Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing