We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for early morning flights from Sarajevo Airport”
Review of Hotel Octagon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Octagon
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is ideal place to stay for all those having early morning flights from Sarajevo International Airport at Butmir, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Located at a walking distance from the entrance to the Airport, it is easily accessible by foot. Rooms are nicely furnished, with TV and Internet access, and the entire atmosphere combines something of a domestic guesthouse with basic standards of renowned international hotel chains. Hotel staff are also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel within walking distance of the airport, we stayed the night before our 630 am flight, great staff who are very helpful and showed us some local restaurants and the shortcut through the airport secret gate so the walk was only 5mins. Rooms are very nicewith all the expected amenities and also a mmicrowave should you need it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sarajevo was just a brief stop on our trip, we flew in on Tuesday night and left very early Thursday morning so an airport hotel made a lot of sense for us. Hotel Octagon is within walking distance of the airport, it took us 5-10 minutes to walk from the terminal to the hotel. We were greeted by a very agreeable young man who was also at the front desk in the morning. When we came down for breakfast at 9:30am and they had already cleaned it up he apologized profusely saying that he was sure all of the guests had eaten. Really, he treated us like personal house guests running back in the kitchen to put the food back out, cooked us some eggs and someone else ran back out to get more bread despite our insistence that it wasn't necessary. He even offered to drive us into town because he felt so bad. When we asked for directions, he gave us incredibly detailed instructions on how to get to the bus stop and what to do in town.

The hotel is very good for short stays or people with early flights but it's a bit of a journey into town with public transport. We took the public bus for 1.80 and I think it took about 20-30 minutes, other reviews suggest that a cab from the hotel is only about 6€ so it might make sense just to take a cab.

The room was comfortable, clean and modern. The free wifi worked great. There was a refrigerator and a microwave in the room. We didn't hear any noise from the airport, it's a very small airport so there aren't a lot of flights going in and out. Cable TV with lots of English channels. We paid 138.60€ for 2 nights, 69.30€ per night, via booking.com

I'd absolutely stay here again if we head back to Sarajevo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stay if you are flying, nothing else. Quick see the War Tunnel and go stay downtown. There are no cafes or much shopping nearby. A shopping center kinda close but its has little to nothing in it.
Hotel was very nice though. Continental breakfast. Even though we flew out early they were still willing to bring breakfast out early for us. Very Victorian feel to the inside of the place. No lift for luggage. They always keep the door locked for some reason though. So youre constantly ring them to let you in even in the middle of the day. She was vacuuming one day and we were stuck out for for quite awhile. Room was nice and clean. Nice Flat screen with lots of English channels. YOU HAVE TO ASK FOR THE A/C REMOTE. It was midnight and I was sweating to death and I finally called asking about A/C and he brought it up saying "you have to ask for it, then we give it" We walked to the airport. There is no nice sidewalks to walk to the airport, just pull your luggage through the street, through that parking lot down the street, through a bunch of grass, through the ditch, across the road, then you are at the airport. The roadway running by the airport does not have sidewalks. Just gravel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here for one night and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Room was very clean, breakfast was good. The room even had a separate area with a door for our child. This was a good find and we are sure to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This hotel is really god choice if you are coming to Sarajevo. International airport is nearby; pleasant and communicative staff willing to help; specific interior + very interesting furniture inside. The hotel is quiet, cozy and, the most important - very clean. All facilities in the room are great; so if you are in Sarajevo for couple of days, this is great solution.
The best thing in this hotel is the fact that you can easily agree on whatever is needed due to fact that people working in this hotel are really interested to please you and to make you happy while you are there.
Great choice to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was a great find. I thought it would be convenient for the airport and where I was working and it was. I intended to stay a week but stayed a month due to the very welcoming and friendly staff, large, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, super cable TV, Wi-Fi and most of all the helpfulness of the owners. It is also, quiet I never heard a plane despite the airport being only a 5minute walk away and the decor and furnishings for a small hotel are really splendid. It was also very good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#34 of 70 in Sarajevo
39 reviews
5.1 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radon Plaza Hotel
Radon Plaza Hotel
#21 of 70 in Sarajevo
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Malak Regency Hotel
Malak Regency Hotel
#18 of 70 in Sarajevo
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
#24 of 70 in Sarajevo
464 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sarajevo
Residence Inn Sarajevo
#13 of 70 in Sarajevo
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octagon

Address: Akifa Seremeta 48, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sarajevo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sarajevo
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Octagon 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Octagon is located only 100 m away from Sarajevo International Airport. Our exclusive hotel is a perfect place for a good night's sleep before an early flight or after a late arrival. Hotel Octagon offers you the possibility to provide your business partners and friends comfortable accommodation, without the crowded city traffic and with free parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Octagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Octagon Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing