We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, perfect serivce and great prices”
Review of Hotel Safir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Safir
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I stayed there one night October and really enjoyed this place.
It was my first time in Bosnia and I was amazed to see how people were kind and hospitable. The reception team at hotel Safir was no exception to that and they were offering a perfect service, giving advices, chatting and always with a great smile.
The location of the hotel is perfect, just near the old town where you can find nice restaurants and bars. The rooms are simple (white) but extremly cosy. Everyting is spotless and really looks like new. Finally the rates are great and include a nice breakfast downstairs. Don't hesitate to order a Bosnian coffee to start your day !
I'm really wondering why this hotel has only received 2 stars. From a very objective point of view, it diserves at least 3.
A great little hotel in a great city.
Olivier (Belgium)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

I am an experienced traveler who has stayed at hotels of all types around the world. I was very impressed with the Hotel Safir, in fact so impressed this is the first review I have ever taken the time to write for a hotel.

The location couldn't be better for those looking to stay in Old Town Sarajevo. It is a few minutes walk from numerous shops, restaurants, and sights. The hotel is extremely clean, the cleanest I have every stayed at. And the rooms are quiet and roomy with a comfortable bed and even a 360 shower in the more than adequate bathroom.
The rooms even have a small kitchen and refrigerator.

The service was very good as well. Fatima at the front desk was pleasant, accomodating, and helpful. The hotel is also well secured.

I cannot imagine there is a better place to stay in Old Town Sarajevo for those looking for a small comfortable pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I stayed for one night. The room was super modern, yet comfortable and cozy. It was warm, clean, had all the amenities. The kitchentte is top-notch as is the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel was also very quiet. The location can't be beat! Oh and there is free wifi (and a great signal) Great value for money!!!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Nomad_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Hotel Safir is centraly located, 100 m from Bascarsija in one of small Bosnian streets. It's a small private hotel with beautifuly decorated rooms. All rooms are in nice colours choosed with taste, there is a small kitchenette so you can make yourself a coffee or a tea or something to eat. WiFi is free! But it's not everything perfect. The bed was uncofortable for us, my back were killing me every morning. We didn't have enough toilet paper so we needed to ask twice. Toilet is very nice, with massage shower tub, but massage service is not in function. Door isolation is not good, so you can hear telephone ringing at the front desk and people speaking in the hall. You need to ring at the entrance and wait for someone to open you a hotel door...
Here are some conclusions...
Pros:
- location, room decor, cleanless, great staff, general look, kithenette, free and fast WiFi, nice toilet, free washing and ironing...
Cons:
- bed and pillows are not brilliant, I didn't like it at all. Some small issues like towels and toilet papers. Isolation is bad so you can hear every other noise in hotel, especially when someone is trying to call the hotel in 6 in the morning and there was no one at the front desk...there is no free parking around...cheapest option is 8 euros/night or 0.5 euros hour
But, generaly those are just a small issues and we recommend this hotel definetely...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eislamov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed here for two nights, its clean, safe, very centrally located, friendly staff and reasonably priced. A 2 minute stroll to the heart of the city, it's a small hotel with no frills, but if you just want a solid resonably priced room in a central loaction, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelpfulHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This is a newly renovated small hotel with big bright rooms. The location is in the heart of the old town and couldn't be better. The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, particularly Fatima whose english is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCCWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Stayed in twin room in this amazing city. Very modern small hotel, room very stylish however, afew things were broken in the room which was a shame - the shower didn't work properly as the knob was snaped, the blinds on the velux windows didn't close properly either- sounds picky I know but just little things. There never seemed to be anyone on reception so you always had to the let out and let in. Breakfast was standard - not what was on the menu though. Easy to find and parking was ok on the road near the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.1 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#11 of 70 in Sarajevo
227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#53 of 70 in Sarajevo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hayat
Hotel Hayat
#59 of 70 in Sarajevo
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#35 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 70 in Sarajevo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Safir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Safir

Address: Jagodica br. 3 | Bascarsija, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sarajevo
Price Range: £23 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Safir 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Safir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Safir Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing