We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lion Pansion - Hostel
Ranked #38 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have stayed in Sarajevo several times and have brought groups to the city, and each time I have used, and would recommend, the Pansion Lion. The main reason they are so excellent is the quality of the staff - they are some of the most helpful and kind I have experienced staying in any city and their English is excellent. More than once they have assisted me in sorting out tricky logistical issues for a group - including getting advance booking documentation for a visa issue before we arrived - at much hassle to themselves.

The second reason why they get my highest review is that the hostel is designed to be quiet and pleasant - all the rooms are lovely and they make a real effort to keep the place spotlessly clean. Unfortunately in recent times the 'quiet' part of the hostel is disrupted by the music played by other businesses in the square, but I sincerely hope that this does not put off any visitors as the comfort is worth it. Of course, the location is also a great benefit as you are right in the centre of Baščaršija

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed in Lion Pansion for a few nights in May and felt immediately at home in this cosy little hostel. Supernice owner, great location right in the charshiya and superclose to everything - wonderful experience, and a great value for money, too! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosia_Nowicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I was in Sarajevo more than 10 times in last ten years and I stay 9 times at Pandion Lion!

Small butiq private owned pension with great location at Bascatsija, garage for the car, clean and safe rooms, fair priced with great atmpsphere!

From here you have everything near!

Manager Biljana is very kind and helpful person!


Feel loke my home in Sarajevo!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sLOVEnia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The people who run the hostel are great, so helpful and genuine. Went out of their way several times.
Location is perfect, it's in the old Turkish town and easy easy walking distance for great nightlife/views up the hill/brewery/Latin bridge etc.
very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobbledstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Lion. It's centrally located in the Old Town, with large clean rooms and spotless shared bathrooms. Our room over looked a courtyard and the rear of a shisha bar, but any minor noise was not a problem. Views of the hills and local mosques made the location atmospheric. Good value for money and friendly staff. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were rather disappointed as we were promised a room with air condition and we only got a fan. We were also informed that coffee was available all day which was not the case. We were also told that bread and cakes would be available at the baker shop close by so that we could have breakfast outside prior to departure early morning.. Again we were misinformed and we did not have breakfast nor coffee had nothing to eat for our long journey thru Eastern Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDZ186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was quite apprehensive about staying here as I don't usually stay in hostels... but as soon as you entered the reception you knew it would be a special place. The family who run it are amazing - we only stayed for one night but we felt the warmth of Gina. The rooms are colourful, clean and comfortable - the toilets and bathrooms were immaculate (except i had problems with locking the toilet door).

We had AC but luckily that night was pretty cool so we didnt need to use it much. The Pansion Lion is right in the heart of the Old City - Bascarsija. excellent Pita place around the corner - just ask the hosts :). If you're looking for something affordable, comfortable and pretty accessible this is the place to go.

Room Tip: I would go for ensuite next time, but even shared bathrooms are easy to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shortbreakexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.2 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#16 of 70 in Sarajevo
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
TSC Pansion
TSC Pansion
#55 of 125 in Sarajevo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
#2 of 201 in Sarajevo
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pansion River
Pansion River
#2 of 125 in Sarajevo
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#35 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Pansion - Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Pansion - Hostel

Address: Bravadziluk 30, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range: £15 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel "Pansion Lion", a modern boutique hostel, perfectly located in the Old Town of Sarajevo. It's Close to the National Library "Vijecnica", The Cathedral, Gazi-Husref Bey's Mosque and the famous shops and buildings built in Oriental & Austro-Hungarian style. Hostel "Pansion Lion" offers unique elegance with the luxury of a hotel that is convenient for both business, vacation and backpack travelers, alike. This family owned and operated pension offers single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, four person rooms and even a dormitory style room that sleeps up to ten. All rooms are clean & bright with colorful decor unique to each and are equipped with linens & towels along with satellite television. The friendly staff are willing to help you enjoy your time here and speak numerous languages. There is even laundry service available onsite for your convenience. The reception is open and under video surveillance 24 hours a day. More than just a hostel, Hostel "Pansion Lion" is a place where you can relax, forget your worries and enjoy the comforts and luxury that you could not expect in an ordinary hostel. Come and experience Sarajevo in the comfort of Hostel "Pansion Lion". We look forward to your visit. - The Lion Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lion Pansion - Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Pansion - Hostel Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing