We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“MTV Brasil crew in Bosnia - Hwala Skender!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarajevo Funky Tours

Sarajevo Funky Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.25*
and up
Herzegovina Day Tour from Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We believe one the of the most important things in life is to get rid of prejudices and stereotypes in every aspect of life. Our vision in regard of tourism: Sarajevo & Bosnia and Herzegovina - zero prejudice through better understanding and stunning sightseeing. Join us for some great trips throughout Sarajevo and BH to learn and see more in best way possible. Much love!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MTV Brasil crew in Bosnia - Hwala Skender!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

August 2012 - with a small film crew MTV Brasil went to Bosnia to film two episodes of a new travel program called 'Adnet Viaja'. Why Bosnia? Well, Marcelo Adnet, Brazilian comedian, presenter and singer had been to Mostar once before and got inspired by the Sevdalinka music, the beautiful landscape and the fascinating history of the country. Our first connection with Sarajevo Funky Tours was made here on tripadvisor.com where we read great reviews on the tours and excursions Skender and his people arrange for tourists from all over the world.

The first idea we had was just to go on one of the tours, but... after thinking again and thinking a bit bigger, we needed someone to be with us all 3 days in Bosnia, show us Sarajevo, go with us to Mostar and even Neum, and basically be part of the crew! To never have asked is always a no, so we decided to ask the question: can we go on a Sarajevo Funky Tour that lasts three days 24/7??? Lucky for us, Skender got very enthusiastic immediately and not long after, our Bosnian journey began....

Two days we stayed in Sarajevo, what a great city! The old town is beautiful and the fact that we were there during the last days of the Ramadan made it even more special. Skender took us places to eat, to drink coffee and to smoke nagila that made us feel one of the Sarajevo citizens. We went on the war tour to the tunnel and a jewish cemetery that showed us the complexity and deep scars of the war. We also got to see the city from the highest point of Sarajevo, an amazing view and a great place for Marcelo Adnet to sing a Sevdalinka with the locals :)

After driving past amazing blue rivers and lakes and eating the traditional lamb on the way, we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the city of Mostar. We got to see the famous bridge and how it was devastated during the war, we saw ruins of buildings destroyed and infiltrated by bullets, but nothing could take away the beauty of this city!!! It is just enchanting.

Our trip went further through the beautiful towns of Blagaj and Počitelj down to Neum and eventually crossing the border to Croatia where we would continue our trip towards Italy. This is where we had to say goodbye to Skender with at least several hugs and a tear in our eyes. What a great time we had! Not only did we get to see Bosnia's most interesting, inspiring, beautiful and impressing places, Skender made us feel what it is like to be Bosnian, what it is like to have a past living in fear of your life and how that gives you the motivation to make today's Sarajevo and Bosnia as a whole a better place. Skender gave us goosebumps with his story telling, impressed us with his extended knowledge of the history, his great ability to think with us on showing the best sides of the country. He became a crew member very quickly and naturally, made us feel at home in his country, laughed with us, sang with us, thought with us, ate with us (when he was not fasting because of the Ramadan) and most important of all: made us FOB's (Fans of Bosnia) forever!!!

Crew MTV Brasil: Marcelo Adnet, Marcelo Botta, Mariano Kweller, Aron den Boer and Maria Hupkes

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly reccommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The siege tour was really interesting and it was fascinating to hear the history from someone who had actually lived through it. Skender had such an incredible memory for the details and history and managed to make it easy to understand. I really appreciate having such a terrific guide.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Revisit Sarajevo under siege, and relive its former glory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

During the war in 1995 most of the inner city of Sarajevo was badly damaged by bombings and sniper fire. Nowadays a lot has been rebuild and except from few bullet holes, the evidence has faded away. However, when you are with Skender it is easy to relive the most important parts of the war. His knowledge is incredibly indepth and well told.
The best part is, however, is that he also tells about the Sarajevo from before the war. About the 1984 Olympic Winter games, the old observatory on the hill, Ilidza - a former vacation park for the wealthy and powerful, like Tito -, and much more. It does not matter what your interests are, Skender will point you to the right spot in Sarajevo, definitely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“total siege tour and old city tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We visited Sarajevo in July and took both tours in the same day. Skender was able to accommodate us during a very busy week for his company. What an amazing experience! Skender has incredible knowledge and passion about his country and historical events. Sharing his personal experiences made the tour so memorable. Few travelers from the US think of traveling to Bosnia. It is a wonderful place to visit, and Sarajevo Funky tours made the experience far more interesting and meaningful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Bjelasnica hiking tour - a truly memorable, fun day in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Sarajevo Funky Tours is a well-run organisation, specialising in trips not only in Sarajevo, but also in other parts of Bosnia Herzegovina and beyond. We only went on the one (full!) day trip hiking, and it was totally splendid from start to finish - a highlight in our wonderful road trip through Bosnia Herzegovina. Skender is a fantastic guide - charming, funny, intelligent, informative - happy to talk about history and politics in his country, but also equally content to join in with less 'heavy' discussions and holiday frivolity! We were a group of 2 British, 1 Canadian, and 1 American - thrown together on this tour - and we had a laugh from start to finish. The mountain hike requires good footwear (walking shoes/boots rather than trainers) but is well worth it. The views are breathtaking. Food and drink is provided in the mountain villages. We got to drink water from a clean mountain stream, pick wild thyme from the hillside, and gather wild blueberries too. Words cannot describe the loveliness of this hike, so for those physically capable of doing a 12km hike (a lot uphill and down) I would urge you to contact Sarajevo Funky Tours and book yourselves a day you will never forget. We did not have time to go on other SFT trips but the Canadian and American on our hike had previously done the Srebrenica and Tunnel tours with Skender, and said that these two were also both tremendous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarajevo Funky Tours also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Sarajevo Funky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing