We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat, Pray, Love Tour”

Insider City Tours & Excursions
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: When we first started providing guiding services in Sarajevo in 2000, there were just a few of us. We were full of enthusiasm, creative ideas and ready to work hard, apply effort and learn. With the passage of time some of us went on different paths, finding different business spheres, but those who stayed, they stayed completely the same - creative, professional and dedicated to something they like. Actually, today we are 15 years older and during the time, we hope that we have gained more experience and become smarter which is not insignificant. All of these years brought us a lot of friendships, business contacts, meeting with many important people and delegations. We can proudly say that any important event in Sarajevo during the last decade wasn't without us. We just want it to be the same. We want our guests to become and remain our friends, to visit us again, and once they leave our city or country they should take away with themselves only positive memories. The mission of Insider is satisfied guest and visitor and in order to fulfill this we will give our best to meet the expectations and even more of any guest who decides to give us their time. We guarantee that with the Insiders you will always get more than you'd expect.
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent tour giving the inside track on the historical, cultural and culinary background to the city of Sarajevo. The guides were engaging, well-informed and friendly and clearly enjoyed showing us around their city. Good value for money and a must-do experience.

Date of experience: November 2013
2  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insider06, Front Office Manager at Insider City Tours & Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Sally, it was a pleasure showing you our city and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for leaving your comments. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"times of misfortune tour"
in 86 reviews
"tunnel tour"
in 158 reviews
"free tour"
in 56 reviews
"police officer"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 50 reviews
"perfect english"
in 9 reviews
"personal experience"
in 19 reviews
"first hand"
in 20 reviews
"hour tour"
in 17 reviews
"historical facts"
in 8 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 14 reviews
"three hours"
in 9 reviews
"great insight"
in 9 reviews
"sniper alley"
in 11 reviews
"private tour"
in 13 reviews
"recent history"
in 17 reviews
"two hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

523 - 527 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We did the Free Tour which lasted way longer Tham the 1,5 hours which was stated in the brouchure, so very good value for the tip we gave the guide. The guide was a charcter and very - well....- dominant to say the least but was a human dictionary.

Our second tour was the Tunnel Tour and it was very interesting and our guide; Adnan was a great guide and could give his thoughts about the war from a younger person's perspective.

We strongly recommend both tours. It will give you a crash course in the complicated history of Bosnia and former Yugoslavia. //Linda & Hanna from Sweden.

Thank leifsdotter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insider06, Front Office Manager at Insider City Tours & Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for joining our tours and we hope that you enjoyed your stay in Sarajevo and that you will recommend it to your friends :) Greetings to our dear guests from Sweden :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We heard that getting to the War Tunnel ourselves would be difficult because there isn't a direct public transportation route so we took the War Tunnel tour with Insider City Tours. They crammed nine of us inside a minivan which reeked of diesel fumes. My wife and I were squeezed into a three-seater bench with two other people which was uncomfortable. Our guide Nerman told us about the war and pointed out key buildings as we drove to the tunnel. It was a 2-hour tour, so this is probably the fastest way to get a summary of what happened during the war but the whole Bosnian conflict is so complicated that additional tours would be necessary if you really want to learn about it. Or a book. Overall, it was cheap and the easiest way to get to the War Tunnel, which is a must-see.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank KanannieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insider06, Front Office Manager at Insider City Tours & Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments about the tour and telling us the negative side of it. We had a late booking that day and we are sorry that you were squeezed, we will not let that happen again. We wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I took three tours with Insider.
First, we took the Times of Misfortune tour with Nermin. He served as a policeman during the siege so he was able to tell us a lot of things from first hand experience. A minor inconvenience is that his English is not very good, but if you have trouble understanding something you can ask him more questions.
Next, we took the free tour with Ibrahim. Even though he is only 19 years old, he is a very talented, warm and enthusiastic guide. He also speaks perfect English. The tour is quite short (1h30 min) but it covers most of Sarajevo's must see attractions and is a god way to get to know the city, especially if it's your first visit.
Finally, we took the Srebrenica tour with Miralem. He is a good driver, a well documented guide and a very warm person. He answered all our questions and was very patient while we took tons of photos.
We are not usually the kind of people who take tours and we prefer to be on our own, but we are very glad that this time we did and that we chose Insider. It was a good opportunity to learn from the locals and a good way to get more information than you would find in a tourist guide.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank madalush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I did the War Tunnel Tour with Dino and he was great. He explained everything about the war, the siege, Srebrenica, the tunnel, sniper alley and other interesting stories about Sarajevo. I could learn a lot from the tunnel museum thanks to his additional explanation. I was really satisfied with everything.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank ricdyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Insider City Tours & Excursions also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Insider City Tours & Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing