We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from everything and used”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is far from the city center where you would go as a tourist and finish your day with a nice food and beer. The room was relativly clean but really worn. I'd not stay here again if I do not need to, however this time unfortunatelly the hotel I'm usually staying in Sarajevo was fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

I guess there one par of hotel is already renovated, because it looked much better than the part we were staying in. Rooms are in different shapes, it looks as builing was originaly not meant for hotel. Equipment is poor and old, but I must say that it is not dirty. I managet to get locked in the bathroom and had to call for help. Food in restaurant was cold, not very tasty, portions were small. Smoking is allowed everywhere. Not recomended.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This would have been a 5 star , top of the range hotel back in communist days. It has been modernized, yet somehow, it retains the old 'charm' if you want it to be put that way. We had a large room, more like an apartment. The room was clean but in need of modernization. The tv looked to be 20 years old, the minibar had 2 items in it, the towels were torn and the mattress was as hard it gets. There was a constant scent of smoke from cigarettes all over the place, but this was more a case of smoke coming from the corridors where the cleaners seem to just take a break and smoke in the hallway. While to a westerner this is unimaginable, this is perfectly fine in the Balkan states. I have to admit that we could hear the conversation very well coming from the next room, hence the walls are not exactly thick. The location is about 5 minutes by car from the old town and 2 minutes to the center (2 euros for taxi). Its also slightly on the hill, hence you get a pretty good view of the central Sarajevo. We arrived for breakfast with 1 hour to spare and there was pretty much nothing there. Nobody bothered to re-fill the juices, milk, serials, etc....The eggs were gone and there was no one around to ask. When someone finally did turn up, to their credit, they cooked us a very delicious omelet. The restaurant is on upper floor with great views, a very old piano and again has this characteristic old communist style charm - mind you, its very nice. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful and spoke good english. You want to give this hotel 4 stars for the value that it represents, but on the scale of things its a very good 3 stars indeed - as long as you don't stay there for longer then a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very friendly service. Silent location. Exept outside my room (110). Steep asphalt road. It had been over 40 deg C for a long time, so the asphalt was bleeding. In the morning came a light rain, so the road got slipprier than ice. 3 cars came with locked wheels down the road and into the wall. I had first row view.
Staff is very helpful. Some of the best I´ve ever met. Very fine breakfast with a superb view over Sarajevo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have 2days in july in this nice hotel not in the centre of Sarajevo but don t worry. Taxi is very cheap, for 4 euro is possible to come in Bascarsija.Near is large shoping Mercator.Hotel is clean,very good brekfast and staff is verywarm and friendly.Room is big, with satelit Tv,wifi working good, parking is own and closed in the night.

Room Tip: For little money a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zupem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I had 1 night experience in this hotel. I have very satisfied hotel facilitied. room was clean room and tidy. furniture was old style but it was made by massive wooden. All receptionists were very helpfull. If you do not big expectation except cleanless and big room. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: there is a two different block, I have stayed far end block which passed gate, the rooms are new at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRabesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a realy good, clean, traveler frendly hotel. Rooms are nice, clean, with all you need for a good sleep. The personal is very friendly and quick in problem solving..... A place to go to... They serve selfservice breackfast from 7 to 10, have an all night bar service, vireles internet...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skripec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
3.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#55 of 70 in Sarajevo
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#50 of 70 in Sarajevo
100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#15 of 70 in Sarajevo
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#32 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Old Sarajevo
Hotel Old Sarajevo
#13 of 70 in Sarajevo
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Pofalicka 7, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: £32 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Italia Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing