We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good price hotel in Sarajevo”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a good price hotel in Sarajevo”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is near to the city center.The hotel is clean and the breakfast is valuable for the room price. The room was big but cold the system wasnt working. The staf is not that nice but they do their job! You will have a park just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majdibigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
18
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bizovac, Osjecko-Baranjska, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A few days to enjoy the culinary and cultural resources of Bosnia and Herzegovina. You must visit Bascarsija, old town. There you can see works by old masters and crafts that are nowhere else practice and certainly, the Bosnian kebab (cevapi), spinach pie, potato pie, cheese pie, pie with meat ... mmmm.
Hotel Italia is excellent, The rooms are spacious, breakfast is very good with the carefully selected ingredients, the staff professional and always willing to provide useful information and advice.
Hotel provides a lot more than the price for which you can get accommodation in it.

Room Tip: images show room 201. Very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danijel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is soooo good! I've been travelling around the world, and this hotel is one of a kind. Yes, it's maybe a little oldfashioned, but you are in Sarajevo. Bosnia is still developing..
People are writing "too far away," I simply don't understand that. You can walk to the centrum (it took me about 20-25 min.) If you, for some reason, don't like to walk, you can take a cab (just ask the staff to call one for you). It costs about 3-4 euro each way. And that's for a cab!!! When you stay at hotels in central Sarajevo, you can't sleep because of the noises from the clubs/pubs/bars around! This hotel is in a safe area, and you can get your beauty sleep!
Rooms, staff and the breakfast are great aswell. Best place and hotel for the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For a city linked with war, Sarajevo is surprisingly safe. You can walk around day or night, and the Hotel Italia is not central to market or the street where Archduke Ferdinand was shot, so you need to hoof it.

Nice thing about Italia is being able to leave the buzz and noise of town and retreat to a quiet space.

Helpful staff who speak English, free Internet in rooms and value for money that's had to beat.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up to get the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is far from the city center where you would go as a tourist and finish your day with a nice food and beer. The room was relativly clean but really worn. I'd not stay here again if I do not need to, however this time unfortunatelly the hotel I'm usually staying in Sarajevo was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarajevo hotels

Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I guess there one par of hotel is already renovated, because it looked much better than the part we were staying in. Rooms are in different shapes, it looks as builing was originaly not meant for hotel. Equipment is poor and old, but I must say that it is not dirty. I managet to get locked in the bathroom and had to call for help. Food in restaurant was cold, not very tasty, portions were small. Smoking is allowed everywhere. Not recomended.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This would have been a 5 star , top of the range hotel back in communist days. It has been modernized, yet somehow, it retains the old 'charm' if you want it to be put that way. We had a large room, more like an apartment. The room was clean but in need of modernization. The tv looked to be 20 years old, the minibar had 2 items in it, the towels were torn and the mattress was as hard it gets. There was a constant scent of smoke from cigarettes all over the place, but this was more a case of smoke coming from the corridors where the cleaners seem to just take a break and smoke in the hallway. While to a westerner this is unimaginable, this is perfectly fine in the Balkan states. I have to admit that we could hear the conversation very well coming from the next room, hence the walls are not exactly thick. The location is about 5 minutes by car from the old town and 2 minutes to the center (2 euros for taxi). Its also slightly on the hill, hence you get a pretty good view of the central Sarajevo. We arrived for breakfast with 1 hour to spare and there was pretty much nothing there. Nobody bothered to re-fill the juices, milk, serials, etc....The eggs were gone and there was no one around to ask. When someone finally did turn up, to their credit, they cooked us a very delicious omelet. The restaurant is on upper floor with great views, a very old piano and again has this characteristic old communist style charm - mind you, its very nice. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful and spoke good english. You want to give this hotel 4 stars for the value that it represents, but on the scale of things its a very good 3 stars indeed - as long as you don't stay there for longer then a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Hecco
Hotel Hecco
#50 of 68 in Sarajevo
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Saraj
Hotel Saraj
#43 of 68 in Sarajevo
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Octagon
Hotel Octagon
#31 of 68 in Sarajevo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kovaci
Hotel Kovaci
#35 of 68 in Sarajevo
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#59 of 68 in Sarajevo
12 reviews
2.2 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 68 in Sarajevo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Pofalicka 7, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Italia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Italia Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing