We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a great hotel. I had a spacious room and bright bathroom with jacuzzi in bath. Comfortable bed and good breakfast. The hotel is very central and walking distance to all the sights. Staff were helpful and friendly. The small bar/cafe is art deco. My only complaint is that glasses of wine were served in small 187cc bottles. I hate that!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

staying in Astra hotel for a business visit was a mistake as it is located in the centre and the bars are working 0-24. very noisy, extremely noisy and poor menu. the staff was really nice and supporting but when you are not sleeping for 4 nights, you just want to leave asap. however, if I decide to visit Sarajevo as a tourist, the location would be perfect. You can have drinks as many as you would like and just go to your hotel room :) and you are in the centre of the town.

Room Tip: top floors to have at least some quite illusion :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when visiting friends in the city. We enjoyed the breakfast, the staff, and the location. We had a hard time finding other hotels with their own bath and this was good for the price. Only complaint would be the noise in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Right in the city centre, next to other Sarajevo hotels (Europa, Art). All in all, the location is which makes the hotel a relatively good choise. It is an average hotel, with average services. Free WiFi is avalible. Breakfast is not very variable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enviro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Good value for money back then when I was there, especially if location is important for you. Very kind staff. Breakfast also good. I stayed there for 5 nights being there for business and I very much liked the proximity of all places I had to visit. Bascarsija/caffe area is starting just outside of the hotel. The room was spacious enough, clean and light, internet working good. It decent, normal price hotel. If you are there on weekends or sometimes in the evening there was a street noise from people shouting and laughing until late in the evening, as hotel windows are not that thick I guess.

Room Tip: I know that my room on the first floor was quite fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Europe was fully booked when we unexpectedly decided to take an excurtion from the Dalmation Coast for 3 days - the Europe recommended the Astra. No wonder - it has the same owners. The reception is very small and I thought it quite down market for what we had expected. However we were very pleasantly surprised - it is a small intimate hotel, very clean, fairly recently "renovated" and although the rooms are small, quite adequate for the couple of days we were there. What really made our stay was the lovely staff - so friendly and helpfull. We are accostomed to 4 or 5 stars, but I would put this in the Boutique Catagory. My one complaint is the inabilaty to lower the airconditioner for sleeping. At the time we were there I thought it very good value for money in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Currently in my Astra room, a portable airconditioner is making a lot of noise. I have to switch it off when I go to bed. Due to its central location (a benefit) there is street noise until late at night (bars), and the sound isolation is less than ideal. There is an old-fashioned TV, no flatscreen, no digital TV. De lighting is ugly, like other travellers reported.

The good news is that the staff is friendly and helpful, and internet is OK.

I chose this hotel after a couple of budget venues earlier in my holiday (some of them excellent) to have at last some luxury. I did not notice the noise (airconditioner, street noise) soon enough ...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astra Garni
Hotel Astra Garni
#34 of 68 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Opal Home
Hotel Opal Home
#13 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#9 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#5 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#7 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Old Sarajevo
Hotel Old Sarajevo
#17 of 68 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Property: Astra Hotel
Address: Zelenih Beretki 9, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing