We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite average as hotels go”
Review of Hotel Hecco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hecco
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite average as hotels go”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms spread across the three upper floors, but no lift! Reception appears to be quite efficient and the staff speak pretty-good English. The hotel is located some ten minute walk from the old town ... about a 15 minute walk back uphill after a long day of doing touristy things about the city. Breakfast is nothing to write home about - it's OK, nothing special.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
11
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for three nights there during a business trip and we used taxi to reach it at night because it is located on a hill. There was no elevator. The sheets and towels were clean but there was a smell in the lobby

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyioannina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were booked in here as part of a travel package across the Balkans and it was one of the best. The location is just above the city centre but it is ABOVE and there is an uphill walk to get there each time you go into Sarajevo. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. With the window open we could here some street noises including a barking dog but no problem with a closed window. Adequate breakfast. Nice reception area to wait in when necessary. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was very nice hotel, stuff are very friendly, they picked me up at the airport on my request, I didn't wait them at all, breakfast was very good. the room is nice, location is great because its nearby Bascarsija

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

During our stay in the hotel, we were pleased with everything.
Breakfast is ok, and parking is for free which is very good.
The staff here were very polite, helpful and friendly. They really made our stay very enjoyable. They were on hand to answer any questions and help us out at any time of day. The hotel is modern and clean and our room was great value for money. Great location made accessing the old town very easy.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marii69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel has no air conditioning and when I visited Sarajevo, the temperature reached 41deg C. I could talk about the threadbare duvet cover and the worn carpet but the first issue alone is reason to avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duncanbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarajevo hotels

Limbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have NO idea what anyone sees in this place. Firstly, my room had no air con. I had to sleep with the windows open, which then of course meant bugs and mosquitos swarmed my room. There was a burn hole from a cigarette in the duvet on my bed, which was also very old, thread bare, and a little dusty. The shower leaked all over the floor of the bathroom, making getting ready in the mornings very... well... wet. Also, a few of the reception staff where very unhelpful. There was one in particular that rolled her eyes every time I came to ask a question. Then the buffet breakfast was terrible. Everything was cold because they didn't light the burners under the hot buffet items and the fruit looked like it had been sitting out for days. It's not a bad location, thought it is about a 5-10 minute walk from old town, up a hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caitsera13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#24 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hecco Deluxe
Hotel Hecco Deluxe
#28 of 68 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Safir
Hotel Safir
#39 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saraj
Hotel Saraj
#47 of 68 in Sarajevo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel BM International
Hotel BM International
#57 of 68 in Sarajevo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hecco

Property: Hotel Hecco
Address: Medrese 1, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hecco 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hecco is a 3 star hotel located in the street Medrese 1. Distance of hotel from the core of Baščaršija as a cultural and architectural center is 5 minutes walk. Exterior of the hotel is suited to Bosnian architecture with elements of postmodernism, while the interior of the building is in modern style. The hotel rooms and its interior as well as equipment at the disposal of the hotel meets all the requirements. All rooms are equipped to the highest standards and its poses mini bar, LCD set with cable programs, telephone with direct line, free cable and wireless internet access, air conditioning system and hair dryer in the bathroom.The hotel also has a restaurant, garage and parking, which are under constant video surveillance as well as a conference room for approx 40 seats and it is equipped with LCD TV, projector, flip chart board, internet connection, laptop, DVD player, sound system and other necessary accessories. both hotel is particularly suitable for study and business trips due to its central location because it is located near all business and cultural centers, shopping centers and all the places where the majority of business meetings and fairs are held.Regardless of whether Your visit is of business or tourist nature we are confident that our hotels will justify your choice and trust given to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hecco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hecco Hotel Sarajevo
Hotel Hecco Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing