We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Bransgore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel with great character”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our route into Sarajevo took us through some fairly grim areas so we were amazed to find this gem of a hotel down a narrow back street. We were able to park our car securely and were welcomed by friendly staff who supplied us with maps of the city and advised over best places to eat. The city centre was a short walk away. Our room was like nothing else we've ever seen, complete with gallery, chandelier, mural, king size bed and private terrace. Breakfast was fantastic, would definitely recommend the omelette cooked to order. The only downsides were the bathroom (leaky pipe and shower curtain an inch short of the top of the bath) and we found it a little noisy at night (dogs barking, the local mosque at 3am and the church bells at 6 am). But overall a fantastic place to stay and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    83
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
27
110
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is out of this world, a real gem in an atmospheric city. Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, perfect setting and delicious coffee. It takes just five minutes to walk into town. Yes please, I'll be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great hotel, room was large and comfortable. Location is a shortish walk into town. All the staff I met were very nice, I was made to feel welcome.

Room was spotless.

Secure parking was provided for my motorbike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a tour guide I took a group of Israelis for a 13 days trip in Montenegro &_BIH &Serbia. We stayed in nice hotels but this one was something else.
Lovely decorated with special taste of the designer . All rooms are different but each one is a nice surprise. The group spent time exploring each other rooms.
Food is great as the service is. 2 nice women served us breakfast super efficiently.
The only minus is the street where the hotel is located - it is not a nice one. But it takes 7 minutes to walk down to the center - Cathedral.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full - Check and find the right gem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I found this hotel as the top rated "Best Value" hotel on Trip Advisor. I was not sure what to expect. But from the moment i arrived, this hotel has exceeded all my expectations. It is a gem in the heart of Sarajevo. Right from Ms. Majda who manages the front desk to the waitress in the breakfast area, the management of this hotel knows how to treat its customers. The rooms are outstanding, large and well equipped. It is a pity that i stayed here for only one night.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be really well taken care of!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdpgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel goes beyond any of my expectations. A completely modern hotel it beautifully combines the old with the new, Each room you enter inspires a tour of the antique furnishings and tasteful accessories. There are paintings that you linger over and inviting seating to enjoy it in. The service is efficient, friendly and very welcoming. Our room was deluxe with a huge bathroom and very comfortable bedding. The breakfast included piping hot made on the spot omelettes, and a varied amount of other items which were all delicious. They have very hard working employees who go out of their way to make each guest feel special. No question is too small and their attention is devoted to answering and making suggestions to make things easier, The weather was cold and rainy but their welcome was warm and enthusiastic. We had parking right out front, It is not an easy place to find, perched just over top of the Old Town. Lots of one way streets and signage that naturally was not in our language. One quick call to reception - to a wonderful woman - and our difficulties were solved. She suggested hiring a cab and following him to the hotel. This was a perfect solution and the taxi cost us almost nothing. Do not miss this special place - all kinds of celebrities didn't miss it, and we are also glad that we were lucky enough to have 2 nights here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are many types of room sizes, depending on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynskiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavtat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been to Sarajevo may times and is one of my favorite city's to visit. This was the first time we had stayed in Hotel Michele with the family. The hotel itself is very interesting with antique details and large rooms. It is located just outside Bascarsija approximately a 5 min walk. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is 2nd to non. The breakfast was more than satisfying offing a great selection. The service also was great especially since we were traveling with our kids 2,4, and 6 years of age which is not always easy to deal with. The next time we come to Sarajevo, we will be staying at the Hotel Michele.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubrovnikFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#4 of 68 in Sarajevo
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 68 in Sarajevo
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#9 of 68 in Sarajevo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michele Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michele Sarajevo

Property: Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Address: Ivana Cankara 27, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sarajevo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michele Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michele is a small, discrete and family run boutique hotel located in quiet residential area, Sarajevo city centre. Situated in small narrow Street (which is typical for Sarajevo), few hundred meters from main pedestrian zone and just few minutes from Old Town and all other attractions. Opened in 2006 provides high level quality of accommodation and service. Since then it’s been visited by many famous people who visited Sarajevo such as: Bono Vox with family, Richard Gere, Kevin Spacey, Morgan Freeman, Steve Buscemi, Terence Howard, Michael Moore, James Brolin, etc. If you are looking for a spa, gym, or pool this may not the place to go, but if you want to experience the elegance and soul of old town Sarajevo there is no better hotel in the area! Hotel Michele is pleasing blend of modern and traditional very well combined.Furnished with antique furniture, paintings from famous artists and many other things which would better find their place in some museums gives it a charming appearance and makes you fell cozy and warm.. The staff is English speaking, helpful and friendly and will answer any question. For convenience for our guests we have indoor and outdoor park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Michele Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Michele Sarajevo Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing