We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good”
Review of Hostel Ljubicica

Hostel Ljubicica
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Ljubicica
Ranked #90 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cheap and good”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The lady in reception is very helpful and motherly. We like her a lot. Although it is a bit packed, it is relaxed. Better if there are more cooking utensils in the kitchen.

Room Tip: stay away from the door if you have a chance. as over ten people packing in one room means people co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariayAdley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    10
    14
    9
See reviews for
2
7
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ljubicica offers flats for tourists in the old city in Sarajevo. Very good location, low price and very nice and helpful staff. I liked the fact that it's not a typical hostel (a separate building for tourists only) but flats inside buildings where local people are living:) They have a basic kitchen and bathroom. I was with my 2 year old son and 5 months old daughter in Sarajevo. At our flat which was located at Safvet bega Bašagića street I found everything I needed for myself and the kids.
When we opened a window we could hear a muezzin calling for a pray from the nearest mosque - amazing!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Safvet bega Bašagića street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I am female African Hali Barry. Hi. my plan was to stay 2 days. turns to
8 days. I like the hostel and the city and all that i enjoy . I am traveling 14 countries in Europe staying in many hostels. Certainly Hostel Ljubicica Sarajevo is among the best. EXCELLENT LOCATION PRICE this means more money left in your pocket ACCOMMODATION with kitchen complete STAFF availability 24hrs friendly helpful CONVENIENT easy access fresh markets SECURITY. KITCHEN complete. The staff is approachable and very easy to deal with. they are not watching your every movement.. your space becomes yours until you check out.. Pickpocketers stole my Samsung 3G phone on the street. the staff did everything with the police report to help me. unfortunately never found and lost 4,000 photos of my trip.
Fellow travelers this is the place to stay REASONABLE OR UNREASONABLE . HAPPY TRAVELS TO ALL .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hostel is very cheap and not particularly nice. They have a lot of different buildings, and most of them are well located but the staff wasn't very welcoming to us and the beds were average. I would recommend staying there for one or two nights if you want to save money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy_suzy_suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

If you are on a budget this place is excellent. We paid 5 pounds per night for a four bed dorm, which is excellent. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. Stayen here also allowed us to have extra money to do this in the city like tours. I would defiantly stay here if I returned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I've stayed at this hostel twice within a two month period and had two different experiences.
Honestly, the location is the only redeeming feature of this place.
First of all, the staff will ask for your passport as security when you check in, which they keep until you leave. Do not leave it with them! When I was there, the storage place was an open box on a shelf behind the counter with a stack of other passports. There are alternatives - you can either leave your driver's licence (I left an out-of-date one) or a small cash deposit.
The central office of the hostel is across the road from the old town central square. This is where breakfast is served - tea/coffee, bread rolls, cold cuts.
There are several dorm rooms directly above the office and in the neighbouring buildings. In summer, these fill up quickly, but the hostel also owns buildings further out, one of which is on Podcarina, about a 15 minute walk from the office. I stayed here for three nights in mid-August, 2007: the bathroom was relatively clean and the beds were clean and comfy. Breakfast was apparently available in the central building but not in the other locations.
I stayed at the same hostel in October 2007, but this time there were beds available in the central building. The beds here are incredibly uncomfortable, they squeak incessantly, the dorms were freezing cold, and the bathrooms were between tolerable and filthy. Short version: if you're here in summer and are used to Eastern European hostels, try it out. Otherwise, look for somewhere else.
They also a very informative tour up to the old winter olympics site which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hostel is among the cheapest in Sarajevo and it is well located in the Old Town tourist district. It has a kitchen, common room and free computers and a towell. The staff was helpful. I didn't like their keeping my passport but I got it back fine. I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a flashlight--it's dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.0 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#7 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel For Me
Hostel For Me
#15 of 152 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Home Hostel
Travellers Home Hostel
#5 of 152 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
#3 of 152 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#1 of 68 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartments Sarajevo
Apartments Sarajevo
#55 of 152 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ljubicica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ljubicica

Property: Hostel Ljubicica
Address: Mula Mustafe Baseskije 65 | Bascarsija, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Ljubicica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Ljubicica Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing