We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, rather unfit to surroundings”
Review of Radon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, rather unfit to surroundings”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was a comfortable two nights stay.

Spacious and modern room; comfy and big, raised higher bed, with extra pillows. Slippers and bathrobe are there too, as a nice oriental touch.
Top floor restaurant showing great 360 degrees view over Sarajevo, Breakfast was in abundance, with good quality and variety. Coffee should be better.

Sealed windows and strong air conditioning provide isolated atmospheric conditions, which is useful on smoggy days, but rather artificial.
Nice mosaic decorated bathroom could be flooded if you do not set the glass bathtub cover "perfectly", which I didn't refine up in two days. :-D It doesn't bother me much, anyway.

Hotel is far from city centre, rather expensive if you compare it with similar value ratio in most of the Europe. Architecturally and conceptually it is unfitted with surroundings and local way of living. If you don't prefer the sensation of "spaceship-landed-in-the-village-field" rather stay down-town.

Staff is very kind, efficient and able.

Room Tip: 5th floor and higher if you need perfect view, bur rooms are all similar since the building is round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bg_Silfide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    78
    62
    20
    7
See reviews for
24
74
17
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent a single night here with an Atlas Travel group. It seems intended to be a more upscale establishment with top floor revolving restaurant. I’m not sure they are quite up to keeping everything in great shape. It may be simply that Sarajevo doesn’t have the amount of travelers that they need/would like and they’re struggling financially. When I arrived at my room, there was a workman still in it, can’t recall what he was doing. My bathroom was a very large room facing the highway with a wall of windows – when I went to use the shower bath that evening, I discovered the blind was broken and I couldn’t close them. After one maintenance visit I continued to wait (and then call) for the return of the maintenance to replace the pole/turner. Finally went to the front desk because they weren’t answering to learn that no one was coming. I just didn’t appreciate that non answering because you didn’t want to give me bad news. I was waiting. I wanted to go to bed….

Dinner in the restaurant for us was a set menu, so I can’t comment on what’s available from the menu. Our meal was ok, not great. Meat (maybe pork?) with gravy. The restaurant was fairly empty. The folks with a view seat certainly enjoyed the view as we very slowly rolled around. I found the breakfast buffet to be surprisingly sparse in the next morning, with only a few scraps of fruit left on the tray of fruit. The rooms themselves were comfortable enough, with nice beds etc.

Just near the hotel is a preserved “destroyed” building from the war, which is a very interesting thing to view and take photos. I think there was a mcdonalds close or next to hotel that we could see from the hotel but didn’t visit, for anyone who needs a micky d visit. In summary, I wouldn’t rush anyone to this hotel, but it may be as good or better than anything else around and the restaurant view is certainly nice.

Room Tip: It's right on a main road, so a higher floor if you're facing that direction would be prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms.Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel looks impressive, and the rooms are huge with king size bathrooms.The plumbing was in need of maintenance.
The rooms are clean with nice chairs, a mini bar and a flat-screen TV in addition to a "family sized" bed. No window can be opened so you have to rely on the AC if you want the room cool.
I felt secure, but a female colleague had people opening her door twice without knocking.
The lobby is gloomy, but the staff is nice and helpful with good understanding of English.
If you want to be in the center at night you must take a taxi or cross the street to take the tram which runs frequently and where numbers 3 and 5 take you to the old town. The ride is 10 min + and the drivers very helpful!
You will enjoy the restaurant for it's view, it's service and the excellent steaks, but the ambiance is that of an airport cafeteria.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the city lights from the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If that hotel deserves 5* I deserve the Nobel price for time travel!
Nothing is 5* there... ok, maybe the typical Bosnian friendly staff. Everythin else is far below 5*
Rooms cannot be ventilated, no window to open and air condition is not working well.
Our room was flooded every time we took the shower! There were no towels and staff said, sorry but hotel is full and we don't have enough towels! In what hotel they tell you: "Sorry we're full we don't have enough towels!"
Breakfast... again... we're full you have to wait to get the table! Moreover, can I get something to eat... sorry we're full the kitchen is doing its best, please wait a bit more! Totally not capable of handling full hotel!
Swimming pool... so full of chlorine that i felt like having burnings! Sauna - forget it it's like 350C!
Towels forget it, they're full!
Beds... if you like sleeping on something similar to water bed then you'll enjoy

Positive - super friendly staff that cannot help you with lot of things cause simply they are helpless! For coffee i recommend McCafe nearby! Also for breakfast (although it is a sin going to McD when in Sarajevo)
Free wifi and free parking is a plus...
Rooms are clean although without any style and air :)

Next time... there'll be no next time in that hotel, unfortunately :((
When coming to Sarajevo, stay in this hotel only if someone else is paying for it, otherwise avoid it. There are better hotels there.

Room Tip: When arriving, ask to check the room first! Check towels if you got them, check the shower if it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Defenatly not a five star as declared. Rooms are big and well equipped but not on the five star level. Sevice can be ranked as three star. Hotel have a garage with no extra charge. On the top of the tower is restaurant which is spinning so you can enyoj Sarajevo panorama view, but motors are not well installed so you don't feel comfortable.
Price is in accordance with the service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Billed as a 5-Star Hotel....but definitely not. I stayed here for two nights at beginning of October.

The Good bits:
1. Very modernistic-looking from the exterior;
2. Close to the airport;
3. Reasonably priced;
4. Very large bedrooms;
5. Revolving restaurant on 15th Floor with excellent 360 degree views of Sarajevo;
6. Decent pool and spa and also indoor bowling alley;
7. Very good McDonalds adjacent.

The Bad bits:
1. Staff need lots of training;
2. Far from the main/shopping/tourist centre of the city - I walked it in just over an hour;
3. Reeks of cigarette smoke;
4. Why the huge Viagra erection outside the entrance?;
5. Decor of rooms from the Soviet era - old and inelegant;
6. Saggy beds;
7. Breakfast disorganised and lacking international standards.

If I was visiting Sarajev0 again I would choose a more centrally-located hotel. The Radon Plaza is average (at best) among international hotels, despite the imposing, modernistic external photos.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is perfect for business travellers. Very near to the airport, huge rooms wifi free with a good connection in every floor. Breakfast isn't very well organized but you are at 15th floor of the hotel so the view makes the difference. Prices are very good and swimming pool and spa are included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoletta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#4 of 68 in Sarajevo
372 reviews
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#15 of 68 in Sarajevo
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malak Regency Hotel
Malak Regency Hotel
#17 of 68 in Sarajevo
18 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
207 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radon Plaza Hotel

Property: Radon Plaza Hotel
Address: Dzemala Bijedia 185, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sarajevo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radon Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to present you the Radon Plaza Hotel, the most luxurious Hotel in BiH that was opened in the middle of September 2006. Radon Plaza Hotel has on disposal 112 luxurious equipped rooms - 78 King size bedrooms and 34 twin rooms with separated beds, 2 Superior Suites and 1 Presidental suite. Each suite and room in the Hotel is equipped with a plasma TV set with cable programs, double internet connection, direct telephone line, as well as a mini-safe and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radon Plaza Hotel Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing