We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"different" food”
Review of L'etranger

L'etranger
Ranked #39 of 1,021 Restaurants in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The oldest running French restaurant, established in 2001
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"different" food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are looking for new dishes and a "different" tast, go to l'étranger. Sure, it is quite pricy for Sofia, but definitely worth it. They also offer good Frensh wines. The services could be better, though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gebes567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    43
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great food! Last time we went I ordered the meal of the day and it proved extremely good. Recommended for its beef meat selection. The interior is nice. Great location. Bear in mind that the place is quite small though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekaterina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Everything is very, very delicious, beautiful and feels like you visit an old friend for dinner. Try the duck with honey sauce!

Helpful?
4 Thank Susamusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, cozy French restaurant in Sofia”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was very skeptical of a French restaurant in Sofia but this was a very pleasant surprise. The food was great and hostess was a pleasure to talk to. It's hard to find a restaurant in Sofia that delivers consistent results for many years - restaurants seemingly change every couple of years. This is my new away-from-home French restaurant when in Sofia.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mkotarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“By far the best place to go”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Despite only having been here twice, I allow myself to place L'Etranger on the top of my list of restaurants to visit in Sofia. The place itself is cozy and nice furnitured, with small hints of decoration that can bring you to a street café in Paris. The owner and cook is French, staying downstairs in the kitchen, while his Bulgarian wife greets you with that rare-to-find huge smile, seats you, and responds perfectly in both English, French and Bulgarian of course. The food here is great, it has a touch of gourmet-sense to it, but don't be afraid to leave and still feeling hungry. Portions are generous, this time I had the duck - perfectly cooked, delicious vegetables on the side along with potatoes. Although I was very satisfied, I couldn't let go of the chocolate fondant for dessert, unfortunately a little "dry", but still good! If I'm not wrong, they change the menu quite often (and also have interesting daily specials -this time we got delicious homemade pâté for starter), which makes the visit even more worth it. The prices are a bit high, but you get very (!) good value for the money, both in terms of a delicious meal and excellent service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joh_lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'etranger also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to L'etranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing