We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars for the friendly staff”
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at the Budapest Hotel for three nights. The staff was very nice, and that's the main reason we're giving the hotel four stars. The breakfast buffet is small, but good. Parking is easy if there's a spot available in front of the hotel. If not, sometimes there's a valet but one night we had to drive to a guarded parking lot down the street.

The rooms were clean, but there's a moldy smell the minute you walk in. The shower leaks all over the floor of the bathroom, and then onto the carpet in the room. The water was coming from under the tub, and not from inside the shower. The hot water is very limited. Our friends had the same issues in their rooms also.

The location is fair, but you will probably need to take a cab or drive to get anywhere. The price for the hotel seemed reasonable. This is a good choice for an inexpensive hotel in Sofia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nh_traveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Good points: Affordable, comfortable deluxe rooms, tv had some english channels, incredibly friendly staff who were always willing to help

Bad points: the biggest problem is location, its not central but you can walk to places within 10-15 minutes, the hotel is in the middle of a run down part of the city and at night it's probably best to take a taxi due to some undesirables

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is close (walking distance, about 10 minutes) to central bus station and central train station. However, its on a very ordinary street, not particularly close to restaurants or city sights, though there are simple cafes nearby.
My twin room was very pleasant, with a nice big shower (and good bathroom generally).
Reasonable desk provided, and the free wifi in the room worked very well.
My only problem with my room was that the fridge didn’t keep minibar beverages cold at all (although I assume it was turned on as it was certainly making noise!).

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor which had a good city view at twilight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

10 lv from the airport (about 15 mins). Nice modern hotel with decent facilities. 1lv per night city tax. 15 min walk from centre of city. train line close by which can be slightly loud at night, but possibly depends on which room you are in, certainly nothing major.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was there for a night in July 2012. I could check in early - the room was ready. Staff speak English. They smile and are genuinely friendly. They greet you as you walk by! Not used to this after in other European cities. Breakfast was varied and good. Beds are comfortable. The pillows were great. I just can't say enough about the pleasure that it was to stay there. My room overlooked the main road but soundproofing was perfect. I would not want to stay anywhere else if I return to Sophia.

Room Tip: Get your own drinking water. Better not to risk drinking the tap water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have accomodated a business client in thish hotel and my impressions are all positive. On the first place the marketing staff member Elvira attended carefully each request prior the arrival, furthermore the reception, guest relations and restaurant staff have been extremely polite, helpful and friendly. Wifi is fast and minibar - reasonable. The location is the only thing to consider if you are without car, otherwise I highly recommend Budapest for business travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzvetelina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I would recommend this hotel. It was clean, fairly central, approx a 10 - 15 minute walk to the main centre. The hotel staff were very helpful and there was free parking and wifi.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was excellent with a good variety.

I would definately stay here again and for the price and service, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: It is worth paying slightly more to have a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPL0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
649 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,386 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 135 in Sofia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
579 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,057 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £41 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing