We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Sofia”
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Sofia”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very comfortable hotel with easy access to both the city centre (15-20 minute walk away), metro, trams and railway station - arrived late at night after the 9 hour train jouney from Bucharest, so the night manager's welcome and an open bar were just what we needed to set us up for a busy two days in this fascinating city. Genadi and Sonya could not have been more helpful, the former even offering us a lift to the airport on his way home off-duty!

Room Tip: Room was well insulated for sound so, even though ours fronted onto a busy street, we slept well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    180
    39
    3
    5
See reviews for
68
141
68
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is well situated for the railway/bus station, a couple of blocks to the north and to the town centre which is equally close. Some of the attractions, particularly the Boyana church, (a must see) is a bit further away but still only a very cheap taxi ride away.
The Hotel is clean modern and with the windows closed, no noise from the trams below. I had a corner room with a small balcony. I only wish I had more than my one night to enjoy it.
Breakfast had all you could want and more while the simple evening meal that I had was my most memorable meal in my two weeks in Bulgaria. I would strongly recommend the hotel dining room for a truly authentic Bulgarian experience.
All in all wonderful hotel, great staff and for me a great introduction to Bulgarian cuisine and culture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Usas1,

On behalf of the marketing team at Budapest Hotel I would like to thank you for the flattering comments. We are very happy to hear that you highly valued the services provided at our hotel and spent an enjoyable time in Sofia. Your review is a true acknowledgment for our work and dedication.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This modern hotel has good sized if sparsely furnished (no lounge chairs) rooms, is close to the rather off-putting Sofia train station and to most major city sights. Good breakfast usually included in the price. Avoid cabs at train station or negotiate a good price (under 5 lev, the local currency) and if you have light luggage, walk the 10 or 15 minutes to the hotel. Excellent hot water in showers and good coffee from the bar. Interior corridor decor rather dreary and dark. Overall, quiet modern hotel within easy walking distance of most major sights.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTravlrRevwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear IntlTravlrRevwr,

Thank you for your time and effort to write a review about Hotel Budapest, Sofia. Writing on behalf of the marketing department of the hotel, I can assure you that we have taken your comments under thorough consideration and will make our best to make our guests’ stay at the hotel more comfortable and enjoyable in the future.

We hope that you will choose Hotel Budapest for your further visits to Sofia.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a great 2 night stay in this hotel on our mini Euro train trip. Nice room, great mini bar and a view of the mountain from the little balcony. All the staff were so helpful and friendly, in particular Lyubo went out of his way to help us buy train tickets to Budapest. We don't speak any Bulgaria and had heard little english is spoken at the ticket office so he wrote all the details of our journey out for us very carefully and even rang the office to check prices to make sure we didn't over pay and got the tickets we needed. We were so grateful for his help - thanks so much Lyubo! The hotel is well located for the train station and walking distance to the centre of the city. Also the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Cath P,

Thank you for the time and effort to write a review about Hotel Budapest. Reviews like yours help us improve the overall service quality at the hotel and we truly appreciate all the useful comments provided. We pay special attention to our employees and are more than happy to know that Lyubo has treated you in a professional manner and helped you plan your journey.

Our team truly hopes that we will have the pleasure to accommodate you when visiting Sofia in the future.

Best regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

fantastic hotel brand new clean kind personnel an good location.
very nice restaurant and 20% discount for hotel customers.
mini bar had a special gift a box of condoms and a pack o gums. :)
i will come again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimpaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms,big bathtub, perfect restaurant with tasty food. polite and efisient staff.I was there for St. Valentine,s day and
it was just perfect-so romantic with box of chocolstes and rose

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyYanakieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Maybe you will find a hotel in Sofia with better location or luxurious accommodation, but for sure you will not find better hotel.
The greatest treasure of this hotel are employers. Thanks to them, you will feel better then at home. Their sincere desire to help you in every moment is amazing.
Otherwise, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is good and the quality of the food in the restaurant is high. You can be in the city center in 15 minutes walking.
And again, the main reason why you have to stay at this hotel are the people who work there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mirko M,

Writing on behalf of the marketing department of Hotel Budapest, I would like to personally thank you for the flattering comments provided. My team and I are dedicated to making the stay of our guests as enjoyable as possible and are delighted to hear that the hotel’s staff has treated you accordingly.

We truly hope that you had an amazing time in Sofia and will be more than happy to have you as a guest of the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
467 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,269 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 133 in Sofia
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 133 in Sofia
258 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
711 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Property: Budapest Hotel
Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#11 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing