We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word: YES.”
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Let's just say I've enjoyed our stay so much I'm writing this before I leave.

Booked online for 4. Very reasonably priced Junior Suite for 4 days booked LAST MINUTE (i.e. the morning we showed up). "Gnadi" greeted us and quickly checked us in and showed us our room. The room has a definite boutique feel to it. The walls are a light purple shade with textured accent walls. The bathroom is spotless, clearly recently redone and the couch is a comfortable fold out and the bed is firm but the pillows very plush. The room was cleaned quickly and well and extra towels were brought quickly when requested. The small balcony has a nice view over the city but does not face the city center - you still have a nice view of the mountains and over the rooftops of the city.

Gnadi is the highlight of this establishment. He clearly places service above all else including restaurant recommendations, directions, calling us cabs, advising us how to get the right ones ("OK" not "CK") and helping us print our boarding passes. We leave at 4AM tomorrow and he called our room to apologize that he couldn't arrange breakfast before we left because there were no bakeshops that he could get ahold of at 11PM to deliver anything. He even had someone wrap some bottles of wine we were taking home. Seriously, the man gets service.

As for location, the hotel's immediate area is meh (lots of auto stuff), but it's proximity to the central square, the nevsky cathedral and the museums is an easy walk on major roads with well paved side walks. Taxis are readily available and the airport is 15 Lev away.

Seriously, stay here. It's not a luxury hotel but it easily is 3 star and the service makes it a solid 4 in my mind (it just can't get there because of the lack of a gym etc) but if you're in Bulgaria for the hotel, you've made a mistake anyway.

Room Tip: high floors - the tram runs nearby - can't hear it from the 7th floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arpit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Arpit D,

Thank you for the comprehensive review and all wonderful comments about BudaPest Hotel, Sofia. Me and my whole team are joyous about our work and it is crucially important for us to know that we have made your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Further to that, I am glad that you have appreciated Genadi's customer service - I will pass your great comments to him.

I hope that you will choose BudaPest Hotel for your next stay in Sofia and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very comfortable hotel with easy access to both the city centre (15-20 minute walk away), metro, trams and railway station - arrived late at night after the 9 hour train jouney from Bucharest, so the night manager's welcome and an open bar were just what we needed to set us up for a busy two days in this fascinating city. Genadi and Sonya could not have been more helpful, the former even offering us a lift to the airport on his way home off-duty!

Room Tip: Room was well insulated for sound so, even though ours fronted onto a busy street, we slept well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is well situated for the railway/bus station, a couple of blocks to the north and to the town centre which is equally close. Some of the attractions, particularly the Boyana church, (a must see) is a bit further away but still only a very cheap taxi ride away.
The Hotel is clean modern and with the windows closed, no noise from the trams below. I had a corner room with a small balcony. I only wish I had more than my one night to enjoy it.
Breakfast had all you could want and more while the simple evening meal that I had was my most memorable meal in my two weeks in Bulgaria. I would strongly recommend the hotel dining room for a truly authentic Bulgarian experience.
All in all wonderful hotel, great staff and for me a great introduction to Bulgarian cuisine and culture.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Usas1,

On behalf of the marketing team at Budapest Hotel I would like to thank you for the flattering comments. We are very happy to hear that you highly valued the services provided at our hotel and spent an enjoyable time in Sofia. Your review is a true acknowledgment for our work and dedication.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This modern hotel has good sized if sparsely furnished (no lounge chairs) rooms, is close to the rather off-putting Sofia train station and to most major city sights. Good breakfast usually included in the price. Avoid cabs at train station or negotiate a good price (under 5 lev, the local currency) and if you have light luggage, walk the 10 or 15 minutes to the hotel. Excellent hot water in showers and good coffee from the bar. Interior corridor decor rather dreary and dark. Overall, quiet modern hotel within easy walking distance of most major sights.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTravlrRevwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear IntlTravlrRevwr,

Thank you for your time and effort to write a review about Hotel Budapest, Sofia. Writing on behalf of the marketing department of the hotel, I can assure you that we have taken your comments under thorough consideration and will make our best to make our guests’ stay at the hotel more comfortable and enjoyable in the future.

We hope that you will choose Hotel Budapest for your further visits to Sofia.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a great 2 night stay in this hotel on our mini Euro train trip. Nice room, great mini bar and a view of the mountain from the little balcony. All the staff were so helpful and friendly, in particular Lyubo went out of his way to help us buy train tickets to Budapest. We don't speak any Bulgaria and had heard little english is spoken at the ticket office so he wrote all the details of our journey out for us very carefully and even rang the office to check prices to make sure we didn't over pay and got the tickets we needed. We were so grateful for his help - thanks so much Lyubo! The hotel is well located for the train station and walking distance to the centre of the city. Also the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Cath P,

Thank you for the time and effort to write a review about Hotel Budapest. Reviews like yours help us improve the overall service quality at the hotel and we truly appreciate all the useful comments provided. We pay special attention to our employees and are more than happy to know that Lyubo has treated you in a professional manner and helped you plan your journey.

Our team truly hopes that we will have the pleasure to accommodate you when visiting Sofia in the future.

Best regards,

Trifon Paskalev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

fantastic hotel brand new clean kind personnel an good location.
very nice restaurant and 20% discount for hotel customers.
mini bar had a special gift a box of condoms and a pack o gums. :)
i will come again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimpaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms,big bathtub, perfect restaurant with tasty food. polite and efisient staff.I was there for St. Valentine,s day and
it was just perfect-so romantic with box of chocolstes and rose

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyYanakieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
648 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,386 reviews
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 135 in Sofia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Sofia
#2 of 135 in Sofia
578 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,057 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £40 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing