We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
517 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, great breakfast and excellent staff. Although as previously stated it is a little way out of the town centre but it is walkable and the number 9 bus from the city centre stops close by as well as trams. One the reasons we chose it was it is also within walking distance of the main railway station as we caught the overnight train to Belgrade.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renoir999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    167
    36
    3
    6
See reviews for
63
126
57
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful and accommodating staff who provided good information. Excellent and bountiful breakfast.The location grew on me. At first I thought it was a little far from downtown but once I learned the route it was a nice walk. There is a traditional Bulgarian restaurant a few blocks away that was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annebubkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We have arrived quite late in Sofia and had a taxi waiting for us arranged by the hotel. The hotel seems brand new ! Spotless clean, comfortable mattress and ergonomic pillow available upside request.Staff speaks english.A little far from the city center. The temperature outside being 33/℃ at noon , we ordered a taxi to take us places like:National Theater, Boyana Church, vegetable market, st. Alexander's church; had lunch in the center of the city while the driver waited and then airport , all took about 5 hours for 80lev. We enjoyed the stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tanaka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plovdiv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent hotel staff are very helpful very clean and the buffet breakfast will set you up for the day.
Its a little bit far from centre but can be walked but taxis are cheap.The only downside is WiFi was poor.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe room much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Let's just say I've enjoyed our stay so much I'm writing this before I leave.

Booked online for 4. Very reasonably priced Junior Suite for 4 days booked LAST MINUTE (i.e. the morning we showed up). "Gnadi" greeted us and quickly checked us in and showed us our room. The room has a definite boutique feel to it. The walls are a light purple shade with textured accent walls. The bathroom is spotless, clearly recently redone and the couch is a comfortable fold out and the bed is firm but the pillows very plush. The room was cleaned quickly and well and extra towels were brought quickly when requested. The small balcony has a nice view over the city but does not face the city center - you still have a nice view of the mountains and over the rooftops of the city.

Gnadi is the highlight of this establishment. He clearly places service above all else including restaurant recommendations, directions, calling us cabs, advising us how to get the right ones ("OK" not "CK") and helping us print our boarding passes. We leave at 4AM tomorrow and he called our room to apologize that he couldn't arrange breakfast before we left because there were no bakeshops that he could get ahold of at 11PM to deliver anything. He even had someone wrap some bottles of wine we were taking home. Seriously, the man gets service.

As for location, the hotel's immediate area is meh (lots of auto stuff), but it's proximity to the central square, the nevsky cathedral and the museums is an easy walk on major roads with well paved side walks. Taxis are readily available and the airport is 15 Lev away.

Seriously, stay here. It's not a luxury hotel but it easily is 3 star and the service makes it a solid 4 in my mind (it just can't get there because of the lack of a gym etc) but if you're in Bulgaria for the hotel, you've made a mistake anyway.

Room Tip: high floors - the tram runs nearby - can't hear it from the 7th floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arpit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Arpit D,

Thank you for the comprehensive review and all wonderful comments about BudaPest Hotel, Sofia. Me and my whole team are joyous about our work and it is crucially important for us to know that we have made your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Further to that, I am glad that you have appreciated Genadi's customer service - I will pass your great comments to him.

I hope that you will choose BudaPest Hotel for your next stay in Sofia and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very comfortable hotel with easy access to both the city centre (15-20 minute walk away), metro, trams and railway station - arrived late at night after the 9 hour train jouney from Bucharest, so the night manager's welcome and an open bar were just what we needed to set us up for a busy two days in this fascinating city. Genadi and Sonya could not have been more helpful, the former even offering us a lift to the airport on his way home off-duty!

Room Tip: Room was well insulated for sound so, even though ours fronted onto a busy street, we slept well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is well situated for the railway/bus station, a couple of blocks to the north and to the town centre which is equally close. Some of the attractions, particularly the Boyana church, (a must see) is a bit further away but still only a very cheap taxi ride away.
The Hotel is clean modern and with the windows closed, no noise from the trams below. I had a corner room with a small balcony. I only wish I had more than my one night to enjoy it.
Breakfast had all you could want and more while the simple evening meal that I had was my most memorable meal in my two weeks in Bulgaria. I would strongly recommend the hotel dining room for a truly authentic Bulgarian experience.
All in all wonderful hotel, great staff and for me a great introduction to Bulgarian cuisine and culture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaskalevTr, Director of Sales at Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Usas1,

On behalf of the marketing team at Budapest Hotel I would like to thank you for the flattering comments. We are very happy to hear that you highly valued the services provided at our hotel and spent an enjoyable time in Sofia. Your review is a true acknowledgment for our work and dedication.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Trifon Paskalev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 130 in Sofia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Sofia
#13 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Thracia Hotel
#6 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Property: Budapest Hotel
Address: 92 A Budapest Street | ul. Kozlodui 4, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sofia
#11 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the small street running throughout almost the whole downtown of Sofia on which Budapest Hotel is located and at the same time with walking distance to important transportation and business venues.The hotel consists of 31 standard rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 6 corner rooms, 3 studios and a Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing