We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key and comfortable in the center”
Review of Hostel Lavele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Lavele
Ranked #19 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I cannot recommend this hostel enough--it's located smack in the center of Sofia, and is in perfect walking distance of the capital's major sights and entertainment (plus public transit). The owner, Mario, is happy to recommend a number of excellent restaurants and night spots, and if you inquire about various tours available (free, bike, foodie, Rila, etc.), he knows just where to send you. What I appreciate the most, however, is the relaxed vibe of the place. There are a variety of other more "party-hardy" places to stay in Sofia (which are great if you're looking for something of the sort), but Lavele's appeal lies in its hospitable atmosphere, reliable staff, and the fact that you can get a good, comfortable night's sleep there. It's great for small groups and solo travelers alike. As a bonus, there's also homemade bread with breakfast. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Lavele
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Worth of money we paid. Service was excellent. Whatever problem You faced in Sofia, staff finds solution for You. I recommend. Best for travellers without car, because all tourist attractions are within 30minutes walk, but car parking payment is tricky.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed for one night with my family in the apartment. It's basic, but has everything you'll need. Like an idiot I left my iPod when I left and I never thought I'd see it again. But the staff here are people of integrity. The cleaner had found it and they phoned me to ask how they could return it to me. I was amazed and utterly impressed - surely any place you stay in the UK would have pocketed the iPod to make a few quid on eBay?!

These are people that you can trust and for me that's enough reason to recommend them wholeheartedly. I sent them a gift to thank them!

Room Tip: Ask Mario. His English is great and he's very helpful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeeeeeeeeeve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Lavele for two nights in an 8-bed dorm. Lockers were available but didn't open and close very well (they were located under the (bunk)beds which made it a bit of a hassle if somebody was sleeping in the bed above it). There are bathrooms on all four floors but the upper two are the best. The other two are very small; the showers are almost above the toilets, with wet toiletseating as a result. The staff was ok; a younger boy (about 16 years?) spoke English quite well and was very helpful, the others had a somewhat mistrusting attitude. They are only present between 9:00 and 21:00 (if we're not mistaking). Access to the hostel is provided through an electronic key. The breakfast is buffet-style and good, but easy to miss: it is served in the basement and only a small sign indicates it. This wasn't mentioned during check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorisANDwouter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed with a scouting group for 1 night. Very tidy rooms, Mario is really helpful and understanding. If there's 1 disadvantage of the hostel it is that there's only 1 toilet per floor, and the shower is right next to the toilet, which means the floor is always wet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geery101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Over the course of two years, I spent many a night in Sofia staying at Hostel Lavele. It is affordable, always clean, and Mario is exactly the kind of person you want running such an establishment--friendly, supremely helpful, and always up for something fun. Without a doubt, the place you should stay for you time in Sofia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swain U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My partner and I stayed recently at this hostel for 2 nights. The rate of the room, including breakfast was more than reasonable and the fact that we had the lesser fortune that our's was located on the 4th floor not really a problem and good exercice. (at least, not for young travellers or those young at heart with a big suitcase like as ourselves)
The hostel is centrally located and most of the sights are in the direct vicinity. Breakfast was good and the service very friendly indeed. The room we stayed in was very simple which translates in the the price but okay for us needing only a convenient place to stay for a short period. Special thanks to to the friendly lady/housekeeper and another one the young son of the owner who was so very kind to lend us his dad's umbrella. It's small things like these that make the difference.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckerspoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lavele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lavele

Address: ul.Lavele 14, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Lavele 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel that combines the comfort of a budget hotel with the coziness of a guesthouse and the low prices of a hostel. It is located in the heart of the Bulgarian capital, at some 100m from St. Nedelya square, which is the starting point for exploring Sofia. Hidden in a tiny street, it offers tranquility during the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Lavele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing