We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vaule for money.”
Review of Hostel Lavele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Lavele
Ranked #24 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Everything was perfect, staff, close to center, apartment. We'll be back again. We had a small problem with the check out. We did not know where to leave the key, because the man who works on reception was not there. Good vaule for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamija111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Easy walking distance to everything you need in Sofia, good info for local tours, highly recommend the free walking tour and the FREE FOOD TOUR~!!! absolutely awesome and all totally free. We booked a twin room and were on the top floor, those 4 flights of stairs were a bit painful with luggage so just a heads up. PRICE wise great value, you can't argue too much with an included breakfast as well. cereal, tea, coffee, juice, cheese, ham, bread and spreads to set one up for a day of exploring. There was a quick confusion if we had paid for our room in advance, as the hostel charged us even though on Booking.com they were not mean't to. So TIP: make sure you have a receipt of any payments. We came into Sofia by bus and it's really not walkable from the bus station and so we caught a taxi to the hostel, however the metro in the city is the best option, and the hostel is right by the metro station which had two of the main lines. One bathroom with shower and toilet shared between aprox. 6-8 persons sometimes made it a little tricky between peak periods. Bed's were a little uncomfortable, but okay on hostel standards. Wifi good. Security gate system.
I'd return and recommend for a simple place to sleep, great location and reasonable price given food/wifi the basics any hostel should offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room to avoid the flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25yo_F_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Hostel labeled is one of those jewels among hostels. the location is outstanding, the service is definitely above and beyond the call of duty.the value is unrivaled anywhere, and not least important the atmosphere is truly one of a kind

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosheharboun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked a room with this hostel because of all the good reviews. But we had a very different experience, e staff were not friendly or helpful. I booked the 2 bedroom apartment. My friend and I arrived to sofia a few hours earlier than the 2pm checkin, but we were told that we definitely couldn't check in before this time. When the room was finally ready it reeked of cigarette smoke. We asked for another room and were provided with a another twin room. Not sure why this wasn't offered as all the other rooms on our floor were empty. There was a problem with the previous occupants of the room I'd booked, but instead of management discussing the situation with us, they just expected us to put up with a smelly apartment. My friend needed to leave earlier than breakfast is normally served, but the hostel wouldn't provide an earlier breakfast and I'm not sure why not they set up breakfast from 7am as we went and sat in the dining room at that time. There was coffee ready, i asked the staff member for milk and she kept telling me breakfast at 8am! The hostel did finally agree to provide my friend with a sandwich the night before. I have stayed at a number of Bulgarian hostels, this is the worst. The room was clean but with only one bathroom/toilet on the floor it would get very busy. It has a very good location. I will not recommend this hostel, the staff don't make you feel welcome, I felt like a paying inconvenience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I cannot recommend this hostel enough--it's located smack in the center of Sofia, and is in perfect walking distance of the capital's major sights and entertainment (plus public transit). The owner, Mario, is happy to recommend a number of excellent restaurants and night spots, and if you inquire about various tours available (free, bike, foodie, Rila, etc.), he knows just where to send you. What I appreciate the most, however, is the relaxed vibe of the place. There are a variety of other more "party-hardy" places to stay in Sofia (which are great if you're looking for something of the sort), but Lavele's appeal lies in its hospitable atmosphere, reliable staff, and the fact that you can get a good, comfortable night's sleep there. It's great for small groups and solo travelers alike. As a bonus, there's also homemade bread with breakfast. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Worth of money we paid. Service was excellent. Whatever problem You faced in Sofia, staff finds solution for You. I recommend. Best for travellers without car, because all tourist attractions are within 30minutes walk, but car parking payment is tricky.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed for one night with my family in the apartment. It's basic, but has everything you'll need. Like an idiot I left my iPod when I left and I never thought I'd see it again. But the staff here are people of integrity. The cleaner had found it and they phoned me to ask how they could return it to me. I was amazed and utterly impressed - surely any place you stay in the UK would have pocketed the iPod to make a few quid on eBay?!

These are people that you can trust and for me that's enough reason to recommend them wholeheartedly. I sent them a gift to thank them!

Room Tip: Ask Mario. His English is great and he's very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeeeeeeeeeve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,362 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
4.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 135 in Sofia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
596 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 140 in Sofia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lavele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lavele

Address: ul.Lavele 14, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Lavele 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel that combines the comfort of a budget hotel with the coziness of a guesthouse and the low prices of a hostel. It is located in the heart of the Bulgarian capital, at some 100m from St. Nedelya square, which is the starting point for exploring Sofia. Hidden in a tiny street, it offers tranquility during the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Lavele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing