We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in central Sofia.”
Review of Thracia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thracia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in central Sofia.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is a decent hotel, a short walk from Sofia central. The rooms are clean, nice firm beds. Excellent power shower! Bathroom smelt a bit damp on arrival. The breakfast is fine but not outstanding. Staff are nice and friendly. Will be great when the spa is fitted!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroGrinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    280
    51
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
240
49
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We chose this hotel, not based on price but because of the glowing reviews that everyone gave it on Trip Advisor. It could be of course that they put us in a standard room rather than the superior that we paid for on Expedia which coloured our judgement!

During our stay, although the room was nice, I really doubted whether we were in a superior room but looking at the website when we were there it was difficult to see what constitutes a standard or superior room as they all look very similar, so we had to believe they would give us the room we had paid for. On leaving I asked the receptionist if the room was standard or superior, he told me standard and would raise my complaint with the manager. On returning, after a few days hearing nothing I emailed the hotel, explaining that it was a special occasion which was why I had booked the superior room. After a few more days I received an email telling me because I had booked it through Expedia they couldn’t refund the money, but they would upgrade us next time we stayed! After emailing Expedia, we received a refund of 10 euros a night. (Thank you Expedia for the £50 voucher as a good will gesture)

On the positive side the hotel, room and bathroom was very clean, with two, rather low but comfy, twin beds pushed together, (uncomfortable thin pillows), a kettle and tea bags (not replaced during our 4 nights stay), a mini bar (not replenished when used). On the negative side, the room wasn’t that big, and very dark which meant we had to have the lights on during the day, stifling hot, the air conditioning did not work at all, we left it on deliberately when we were out to cool the room down and came back to the room being like an oven, it seemed that whatever setting you set it at, it did its own thing, we had to have the windows open to be able have a decent temperature in the room.

On arrival the check in staff was indifferent, unsmiling and did his job nothing more, no welcome greeting, coming into the hotel, on another occasion when he was on duty he didn’t even acknowledge we had walked in. During the time we were there, there was another gentleman in a suit who always acknowledged we had entered by greeting us, so I suspect if you are lucky enough to have contact with him then the experience will be different.

The hotel had many positives, it is in a good location as it is off the main shopping street, but as Sofia is a walkable city all the hotels we saw would have been in a good location for us. WIFI was good, breakfast was excellent, as were the waiting staff, all friendly, smiling people. The hotel has no restaurant so they obviously get it from local restaurants, and that was good, not overpriced and delivered by a pleasant employee.

We have stayed in many hotels, in many cities over the years and without the room situation and a friendlier check in service, would I have given them “very good”, probably.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ag.Nikolaos
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff,rich breakfast,clean warn room.The receptionist upon arrival was very friendly .After asking if was our first visit in town he gave all the basic informations a visitor needs providing a town map.The waitresses very friendly in breakfast room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed this hotel and found it clean, modern and had excellent service from very friendly hotel staff. The hotel is situated very near and within easy walking distance of the main pedestrian mall of Sofia with many varied restaurants and shops and other entertainment.
Just outside the hotel are a few tables for lunch (the pizzas are good) and drinks which is very handy if you do not feel like walking after a full days touring. The breakfast room was good and we had an excellent buffet breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed in quite some hotels in Sofia and so far this is the best based on price/performance. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Sofia near Vitocha blvd.. In Sofia everything is in the center so if you want to avoid heavy traffic you better stay in the center and walk. They have a parking place available for € 10,- a night which is quite exceptional (forget about finding a free parking place on the street). The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are quiet (walls are not made out of cardboard like most other hotels), clean and nicely decorated. WIFI is actually working and the speed is OK. Usually all Bulgarian hotels advertise with WIFI but either it just doesn't work or the speed is 1 bit/hour max.. Breakfast is very good and comparable with 5 star hotels. The only point of criticism I could find were the lamps in the room. They produce so much light that I even got a tan. And do not hang your jacket on the lamp because it will burn in no-time. If you want to go for dinner either go to UGO on Vitocha Blvd. or to the Irish pub which is around the corner (Karnigradska chausse). Overall it is just a perfect hotel which I can fully recommend if you want to spend +/- € 100,- a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaesAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of October for a weekend trip. Ideal location, very quiet, room was really nice, very clean, good bathroom too and good condition. Hotel a short walk away from shopping area and were able to find our way around quite easily as city on a grid system. Only niggle would be the breakfasts, choice very good, service also, but the cooked breakfasts were barely warm, either need to think about covering the food to help this or change heating method, noticed a lot of half finished food at breakfast because of this. Otherwise, great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As a hospitality employee I am very picky where to stay and this hotel was definitely the correct choice. Room as ready straight away and for first time ever I could not find anything to complain about :))) Overall lovely hotel with very helpful staff and the perfect central location.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and they also give the option of ordering free breakfast, cooked especially for you.
The two girls working in the breakfast room (sorry did not remember names), were amazing and going the extra mile every morning with my special coffee requests.

Room Tip: if travelling as a couple, ask for double duvet, instead of two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naddia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thracia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thracia Hotel

Property: Thracia Hotel
Address: ul.Solunska 30, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Thracia Hotel)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thracia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thracia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing