We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse
Ranked #64 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Bistritsa, Bulgaria
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Heard about this hostel through very positive reviews on another site which were all right!
The beds are comfortable, the hostel is clean and Sasha the receptionist is really lovely and helpful. She even made us some pancakes and homemade jam ;)
There is wifi and two PCs, a TV/common room (including a guitar, which is now tuned) and a well equipped kitchen for self catering and a clean bathroom/shower.
Altogether a very charming, practical and comfortable place to stay in the city centre within walking distance of the main attractions and with lots of information available. Cheap too and no problem with noise.
I slept soundly and comfortably and was happy to stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    8
    11
    18
See reviews for
1
15
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was welcomed by a friendly and helpful staff that provided useful information and answered all my questions about the big city that I felt a little lost in. Free unlimted internet use was a plus for people like me who still don't have a computer. I had a comfy, clean bed (no loud clubs next door so a good nights rest was easy to get) with nice view from my dorm window of the funky book bazzar stretching out on the cobble street below. Also conveniently located within walking distance of many of the cities major monuments made this a great and cheap place to stay. The kitchen was well equipped and while I was there one of the staff made bluberry jam to share and it was very tasty. You win Nightingale Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Taxi couldn't even find the place to start, owner was nice to organise and pay when I arrived. The owner is lovely and can give you good local history in the morning! However this is not really a hostel..just an apartment with some beds. Glad I got a bunk, some were in the floor. Pretty sure a homeless man was staying in my room, very scared for my stuff. Breakfast was not much. Shower was cold. Was not comfortable staying here. No real common area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sofia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mostoles, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We got to the hostel the 1st of August at night, after a long trip from Istanbul. When we arrived, they told us that we had a reservation, but they didn't have free rooms. AND THAT'S IT. So, when we asked for a solution (it was nearly 10pm, it would be hard to find something else) they realocated us for the same price in another hostel which was under construction. So we changed our private room in this hostel with private kitchen, tv, all facilities for an "as many mattres in the floor as they can fit" room. FOR THE SAME PRICE. They didn't even have the dignity of lowering the price for a mistake they did. We had to use the kitchen of this hostel because we needed to cook for a coeliac person (and the other one obviously didn't have one), and the owner were repeatidly trying to kick us out.
If I rated this hostel, it would be a 4, it looked nice, even tho a cockroach greeted us in the kitchen. The experience tho, was a complete nightmare.
P.S. Cold showers.

Room Tip: Make sure they have your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Nightingale hostel. The room was fine (own shower, shared toilet), good, friendly common rooms and lovely breakfasts. All the staff - especially owner Mihail - were really friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge to help us make the most of our stay in Sofia. The hostel is really centrally located and by a tram line if you want to go further afield.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here just the night which was enough. We booked the private room which did have a shower but no toilet. The blinds had mostly fallen down so no privacy, the bed was comfy enough although the room wasn't overly clean. The location is close to supermarkets and restaurants. The rest of the hostel seems cluttered and like someone's house, the staff are mostly friendly and helpful but it seems an odd set up (they live there too?). We also heard a very loud argument - between the staff early one morning and doors slamming.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the extra for the private room - better off getting a hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronsonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Poduyane
City Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ivory Tower Hostel
#8 of 121 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Mostel
#1 of 121 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Art Hostel
#9 of 121 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hostel 44
#54 of 121 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Property: Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse
Address: ul.Budapeshta 8 | 15, Knyaz Aleksander Dondukov Blvd, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Poduyane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse is located in the top historical center of Sofia downtown. We are in a house on 1st Floor. We share a common entrance with a Pub 'Krivoto'. You can expect totally renovated place where you will find 6 rooms, a common room, 2 Shower places with 24 hrs hot water, 2 toilets,an equipped kitchen, Free Wi-FI internet, a tourist desk, lockers in dormitories, key card access system and 24 hrs front man.From 8.30am to 10.00am we provide a complimentary free breakfast with a choice of cereals, milk, tea, coffee and sugar with Check In after 1pm, Check Out before 12 am noon. You can use our luggage room for free if you come earlier or you want to leave for a couple of hours your backpack.We provide theme nights to learn and taste local drinks - rakia or wine, workshop Martenitza, an introduction in Balkan history. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing