We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for families”

National Museum of Natural History
Ranked #35 of 170 things to do in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We went there today and the location in the city center. The museum is very nice and big. A lot of staff to see. Kids enjoyed their time

Helpful?
Thank hatemh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    12
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yes it is old fashioned - and honest!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have visited museums all over the world and this one at first didn't seem all that remarkable. If you are a fan of taxidermy it is great (and well done in this case) and there was a really nice temporary (I think) display of medicinal herbs. As an ethnobotanist, I loved this. All in all, I warmed to the place very quickly as it was a museum like they used to be - quiet and unassuming.

It is a great way to while away a couple of hours in Sofia, especially if you have an interest in nature or small children to keep occupied.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrGardenscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

For Bulgaria, this is a great quality museum. Its rough around the edges as another reviewer stated but for bulgaria this is pretty nice. Also if you are a student you get a discount to enter and it is not that expense. Its a great little museum, I recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I loved it - just as it's name describes, natural history”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A fellow traveler said they didn't enjoy this museum but I loved it. Don't be fooled by the large but limited display in the great hall when you enter the museum. You'll find many smaller rooms tucked away off side halls upstairs and downstairs. You can find friezes, some icon paintings, silver and goldwork, and a host of ancient artifacts such as arrowheads and pottery. Not a place to visit for fine art - it is a natural history museum so you should have an interest in that subject.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Compact, rough around the edges but a great little place to visit.”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My friends and I just happened to notice this place whilst exploring the city so decided to pop in 10 minutes before closing. The floors are packed with display cases and there are an amazing number of birds in particular......the Andean Condor is phenomenal! Some of the taxidermy was pretty poor, especially the big cats, but that just added to the charm of the place. I liked the joke that one of the workers played by putting a coil of hose in amongst the pickled snakes! If you have time to spare then it's well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkFromTheZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing