We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elegance Hostel and Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Situated in central Sofia, a short walk to most of the major attractions it's a shame that the place is so hard to find - I took a cab from the airport and even the taxi driver didn't know where it was! When I booked I had informed the staff at the hostel that I would be arriving at 12 midday, however when I arrived there was nobody at the building - I had to call somebody on the phone and wait over an hour for them to arrive. I was then informed that I was unable to make payment by credit/debit card either so had to pay in cash for the duration of my 6 night stay. Apart from these negative first impressions the staff were friendly and helpful and the customer service was very good.

The 'hostel' is actually two apartments laid out on separate levels of what appears to be an old, pre-war tenement building. From outside it really doesn't look very attractive but inside the rooms are all well appointed (especially the bathrooms which appear modern and newly decorated). The decor in some of the bedrooms has clearly seen better days however and the kitchenette in the apartment where I stayed was relatively small with no dining area, unlike the larger apartment upstairs. One room in each of the apartments provided hostel accommodation (6-8 bed-spaces with lockers) and the private rooms each had wardrobes and TV sets. The facilities were all very clean and tidy and complimentary tea and coffee was provided to all guests. A washing machine was also available for items of personal laundry.

Unfortunately on the downside the water pipes creaked from first thing in the morning to last thing at night and the banging of doors kept lighter sleepers like myself awake (as well as getting them up)...Views from the windows are unremarkable to say the least and my bed had a really soft mattress, which took some getting used to. As this is my first time in Bulgaria I'm not sure if this option represented particularly good value but at 18 euro a night for self-catering I found it reasonably acceptable, though nothing special. The place was far from busy for the time of year as well...Perhaps the smartest money already found itself a better option? I myself may be inclined to stay again as I felt it was a better than average option but I would probably shop around first...

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor - It has a living room/dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We slept here for just one night. The advantages of this hostel are: low price, clean rooms and bathrooms, a nice kitchen and a convenient location. Definitely could use a better range of Internet, the possibility of credit card and less keys;). Despite this, stay here remember very nice. Sofia is a city that is worth seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mery_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ask Darko the manager. He is your guy for everything you need to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topdzija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kakaikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Etienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clavedeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vladyslav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.6 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 143 in Sofia
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel 44
Hostel 44
#37 of 143 in Sofia
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hostel
Art Hostel
#20 of 143 in Sofia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Mostel
Hostel Mostel
#1 of 143 in Sofia
704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
Moreto & Caffeto Hostel
#3 of 143 in Sofia
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Hostel and Guesthouse

Address: 33 - 35 Bratja Miladinovi Str, Centrum, Sofia 1303, Bulgaria (Formerly The Danish Hostel)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Serdica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £12 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elegance Hostel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing