We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be hosted like the head of a communist state”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Built by the communist regime for foreign heads of state, adapted by Sheraton into a grand place to stay. Impeccable condition, huge rooms full of tasteful solid wood furnishings, plaza-sized public spaces, again beautifully appointed, lots of wood, no plastic of any kind. Eye-candy all over.
complaints: (1) no Bulgarian yogurt @ bkfst (this is a huge foul in my rule book), (2) don't advertise well their free wi-fi, while wired connection is steeply priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERRYBOND, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and feelings regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

In reference with your comments about Bulgaria yogurt at the breakfast I would like to assure you that I have taken notes and addressed the mentioned issue to the all concerned departments for immediate reaction and would make sure the special attention is paid.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and excuse your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan next time your travels bring you to Sofia.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
2  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have had some bad experiences with Sheratons both in the United States and abroad, but this one was excellent. It is a beautiful hotel, literally smack in the middle of the tourist area, actually attached to the Presidential Palace. They gave me a gigantic room, which was impeccably clean and comfortable. I stayed at Marriots, Hiltons, Ibis, and Starwood hotels during my 10 day trip through Eastern Europe, and this was by far the best hotel (although all were nice). The one minor complaint is that the prices for any food or drink from the refrigerator in the room are absurdly expensive. I had run out of water, but I was unwilling to pay the ~$15 for a small bottle of Evian.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Brad_K_NY_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your positive thoughts and feelings regarding your memorable stay at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is through responses like yours that we evaluate our services and I thank you once more for your invaluable input.

We look forward to welcome you and be of service hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have been to Sofia on several business trips, and always find Sheraton Hotel Balkan, ideal for me needs. Good location in town center, friendly and helpful staff. Good quality free WiFi throughout and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Businesstraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

When i first enter to the hotel the reception and the lobby area looks very nice, i stayed at a corner suite and the room was extremely big. my first impression was good, bu after a while the details became clear. the room and the bath room was dirty. it was about 10 pm when i checked in so i did not say anything to the house keeping. the next day i left the room in the morning and came bad late at evening. Surprisingly no house keeping service was given to my room. i called the room service at 8 pm, they just laughed.
next morning at the breakfast i ordered a coca cola, the waiters said no :))) i said why? she said you have to pay. i said ok i pay please bring me a coke, again she said no :))) after an argue about 5 minutes i was able to drink a coke.

in brief, the service team is so bad and rude, the only thing i can say about this hotel is the location

Room Tip: corner suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekobarlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your latest experience in our hotel.

Given the fact that we cannot establish when exactly you stayed in the hotel due to the limited amount of information given to us, it has been rather difficult for me to isolate this incident and take corrective action on internal basis.

However, let me profusely assure you that our daily practice and service culture in our hotel is of very high standards, that is reflected in our market leader status in Sofia.

Having said that, I would like sincerely to offer my apologies to you for the negative experience you had in our hotel and let me assure you that I would be delighted to meet you in person when your travels bring you again to our beautiful city.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 weeks while on a business trip. It is very conveniently located near the shopping area, with many good cafes/restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms were spacious, clean and nice. Customer service was great, and breakfast selection was reasonably good. My only suggestion for improvement is to improve the fitness centre, which doesn't seem new and well-equipped enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemrac_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our team have fulfilled your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your experience at the Sheraton Sofia Hotel Balkan through Trip Advisor.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and further improve our standards.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This gorgeous property has been saved by the Kimpton Group and turned into a lovely hotel. But it has some quirks. One day great hot water, the next, almost none. And the room service tray looked like it was from MacD's. No glass of water, no glass for the beer, beer unopened, no salt/pepper/mustard/ketchup - very odd - almost like they went out for it and dumped on a tray.
I liked the look and feel of the hotel and I might stay again, but these inconsistencies were hard to accept.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

With all due respect, we believe that you were put all comments not for us, but another hotel in USA. We will be delighted to invite you in our hotel in Bulgaria.

Sincerely Yours,

Gerasimos Perdikaris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 135 in Sofia
1,035 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
789 reviews
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#5 of 135 in Sofia
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: pl.Sveta Nedelya 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated hotel in traditionally styled, 5-story building located at city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sofia
Sofia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing