We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Fine hotel located in the very centre of the city. Walking dostance from all attractions, restaurants snd landmarks. Nice and polite staff, service minded too. The interior is a little worn so it is not really what you would expect for a five star hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jtjkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you, for sharing your thoughts and positive feelings about the services and hospitality that our employees have extended to you during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    387
    185
    56
    25
See reviews for
70
173
94
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

You would expect from such a hotel with the history and glory of the past for more. The hotel & rooms are simply too old, feel of dust from all the old & heavy furniture, carpets and large curtains. The water is smelly & yellow brown (unlike other hotels in Sofia I visited) and the total feeling is very inconvenient. The mix of the lobby within the restaurant is also very uncomortable. The team was vey nice and helpful - service was good, but in all - I wouldnt return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to share your thoughts and your recent experience during your stay with us.

I was very pleased to read about your positive experience with our staff. However, I am very sorry that we have failed to fulfill your expectation about the facilities in our hotel, which are already taken under serious consideration.

I would be grateful, if you could also inform us what was the number of the room to which you were referring.

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us, and assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here to attend a conference at the hotel. Beautiful old hotel in need of a bit of attention but very centrally located. Bedroom was just what I needed - spacious, comfy and airy. Overlooked square but not a problem with street noise.
Staff were very friendly, very attentive and helpful. Well equipped gym onsite. Pool was refreshing, but crowded.
Bar prices were steep so not surprising that the bar was normally quiet, but lots of options nearby. Young lady in the hotel lobby promoting a nightclub in the hotel basement.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room was recommended and worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Let me thank you for your time taken to write such a positive comments regarding your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan a Luxury Collection Hotel!

I was very pleased to read that our facilities and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Your comments will help us to improve on even more our standards.

Once again thank you very much for your invaluable input and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoakum
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Checked in for a 4 night stay. Beautiful room, turned on cooling and went for walk and lunch. Returned a couple hrs later and the room was still hot. Asked for engineer to teach me to operate controls. He switched it off and on then turned on heat. Opened a window and shrugged his shoulders. Went to front desk and asked how much extra for a room with working cooling. Was offered a fan. Yes just a fan in what is billed as a 5 star hotel.

"Professional lady" working the lobby, confirmed same with front desk. Very classy place, indeed.

Can not recommend staying at this property until mid summer or winter as the property has absolutely no control over ventilation system.

I really wanted to stay at this property but I'm not going to sweat myself to death just to stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our services and facilities during your recent stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel through the Trip Advisor’s website.

I would like to note that we have already taken into consideration your comments, especially the ones about the air conditioning and working women, and measures have been taken. It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more. Your valuable comments will contribute to our team’s ongoing efforts to monitor and improve our service standards and help us in our continuous search for excellence.

I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations. As such we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on Internet ratings, but I was somewhat disappointed. The hotel needs a major refurbishment, the bathrobe and towels are threadbare, the room smelled a bit smoke, the window didn't close well, thus the outside noise was heard all overnight and didn't sleep well. Not am hotel to go.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and impressions from your recent stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I would like to assure you that corrective action has already been taken regarding your remarks about your room accommodations, especially concerning the bathrobes and window (it would be really helpful to know the number of the room you are referring to). Moreover, your comments about the smoking in the rooms, which is something hard to control, have already been taken into consideration, as well.

As such, I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our utmost to meet and exceed your expectations and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel next time your travels bring you to Sofia.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

ABOUT THE HOTEL: The hotel is in the center of Sofia, near the most important places and routes. I went in this 5 star hotel for a Conference: it was amazing. 80 euros / day for a single room with breckfast. Rooms are big and confortable (mine was just in front of the Cathedral Church Sveta Nedelya!), and are sort out twice a day. Breackfast is self service, there are a lot of stuff and you can eat as much as you want. Just a few hundreds meter near the hotel there is a bus that start at least twice a day for a tour in Sofia. The tour is managed by a no-profit organization, you can leave an offer at the and of the tour if you want. There are many big room for business conferences and parties. Hotel staff is very kind and willing, and will always give indications or help you whenever you need. I will reccommend this hotel to anyone coming to Sofia for business or holiday.

ABOUT THE CITY: Local currency is the Leva. 1 Leva = 0,50 Euro. Taxy are very inexpensive: about 12 Leva from airport to hotel (6 euro!). There are many restaurants, bar, pub and fast food near the hotel, and they are very inexpensive too: about half italian prices: about 2 euro for a 0.5L beer or for a caesar salad, 2.5 euro for a pizza margherita, 4 euro for a 350 gr chicken steak. There are plenty of palaces, monuments and cathedrals to visit in Sofia. And last but not least, in Sofia there are the most beautifull women I have ever seen, and they are everywhere!

CONCLUSIONS: If you don't know where to go on holiday, you want to see typical orthodox chatedrals, some soviet architectures, and the most beautiful girls of the planet, or if you want to give value to your money, bring it to Sofia: it's worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sveta Nedelya Cathedral: beautifull panorama and very quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaggiatore_da_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

May I thank you, for sharing with us your positive thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Your warm comments are more than impressive and I would like to assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to fulfill and indeed exceed your expectations. Allow me to mention that comments like yours motivate us to improve even more on our performance.

One more time thank you for your high appreciation and rest assured that we look forward to welcome you again to Sofia and Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.


Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Sheraton Hotel is located right in the center of Sofia.
You can visit all the city by foot.

The General Manager Mr Athanasios Pantazis is very dynamic.

The staff are very kind and are always looking to give you the best service
with a smile and are always available and flexible front the doormen to reception,
the waiters and waitresses , cleaning and technical.

Mrs Vesselka Shivarova Responsable for the reception desk and rooms is
a person who does miracles when you ask for the moon.

The atmosphere from the lobby to the dining is very pleasant.

The rooms are very spacious and have good natural light.

I thoroughly recommend a visit.”

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danaelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSheratonSofia, General Manager at Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow me to thank you, for sharing with us your positive thoughts about the services and facilities experienced during your stay at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Let me assure you that your sincere and kind comments have already been shared between all our team members. Comments like yours motivate us to improve even more on our performance.

Once again thank you very much for your invaluable input and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofia Hotel Balkan A Luxury Collection Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Athanasios Pantazis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
0.2 mi away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: pl.Sveta Nedelya 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Family Hotel in Sofia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#20 Business Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated hotel in traditionally styled, 5-story building located at city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sofia
Sofia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing