We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hotels for this price in Sofia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marinela Sofia
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When I arrived at this hotel I was impressed, it looked quite pretty. My room was on the 11th floor and when I got out of the lift there was this awful smell in the corridor. My room was outdated and the bath had a bit of mold around the edges. The shower was noisy and you could hear the next rooms shower as well. The most important thing was there was no Wi-Fi in the room and I had to go the lobby to use it. Breakfast room was really crowded and I had to share a table with other people on one day (which is a little unnerving). Service was good though so not all negative. This hotel was a little bit out the way which didnt make me feel like venturing out on my own.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was completely disappointed by the Standard room in the hotel. The impression is - you are thrown back by 20 years.(battered furniture, dark colors, 15 years oold T.V.set...). the hot water pipes were noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Libor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was in Sofia with my wife on business trip and booked standard room in Kepinski. The hotel is old fashioned, standard rooms are not refurbished and from the bath smels very bad. When I asked the maid why is that she explained me that this happens when the weather is bad. Room was not refurbished with old furniture and huge CRT TV. There was only one dressing gown in the bath and bath cosmetics for one person. I had to ask the maid for additional dressing gown and cosmetics. At the afternoon they brought in the room fruits and water as a compliment. In the hotel there are 5 restorants (panorama restorant on the 19th floor is with amazing views). The pool is free for guest but you are allowed to use hat pool. You can buy it for 12 leva. The gym is exellent with very good equipment. Breakfast is various and rich. Near to the hotel there is a metro station and for only 1 lev you can ride to the down town.

Room Tip: Book only deluxe room because they are refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location of the hotel is good and from the outside it looks impressive. Once you step inside, you feel time has stopped - in the 80's... I was booked into a standard room and as I had read trip advisor ratings before my visit, I was not surpised! The hallway smelt pretty bad, the room was stuffy with two single? beds and a huge CRT TV. The furniture was worn and definately 1980s (perhaps even before that?). The bathroom tiles were very old and the bathtub was worn and had stain marks from the cleaning liquid! The matress was terrible. I was on a business trip so I dont know waht they charge for the standard room, but I will never go there again if I can help it. From what the receptionist told me, for an extra 20euro a night I could opt for the Deluxe room which is refurbished. I wonder why they still provide the standard rooms - it is going to ruin the Kempinski name and reputation very soon!
To be fair, the hotel is situated in a good location and has nice views, while breaksfast was OK, nothing too fancy. There is a big choice of restaurants and a disco.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diver2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Would you stay into an hotel without air conditioning? In my last stay in October the rooms were so hot that I had to sleep with my windows open!
As I was told by the staff there is no way to cool them in winter.
Way out from the center , it's not the best place unless you need to stay in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matteo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I only stayed here two days, but the bed, linens and pillows were a treat. The breakfast was brilliant, as well as the service. The rooms are clean, quiet and quite spacious. I like doing walkabouts on days off and at night, and I found this too far away from restaurants and the lively city centre. Having said that, there is a metro station about a seven minute walk away and the cabs are relatively inexpensive. The laundry service is silly expensive as well as the attached bars and restaurants, but it is a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Any as far as I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This feels like an ex Eastern Bloc hotel - monolithic and faceless. We were in a deluxe room - and if this is deluxe, goodness knows what horrors a standard room holds!
Sad and tired and in desperate need of a major up-grade, the rooms in this tower block inconveniently placed a taxi ride out of town( be careful - fares vary hugely - tho the cheapest are great- knowledgable and helpful) all seem to be permeated by years of stale tobacco, carpets are grubby and bathrooms and beds basic. Breakfast was adequate but uninspired and the main restaurants formulaic. the staff were not helpful - I asked if it was possible to walk into town - and was told yes, it's that way , with a wave of the hand in a vague direction. after 15 mins walking with still no sign of the centre I thought it safer to hail a taxi!
Some positives: the Japanese garden is lovely, the gym is good, and the chain Asian/ Sushi restaurant is excellent and reasonable, unusual in a large hotel ....also if you read the small print in your room- there's an excellent choice of pillows, and additional toiletries to order.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room - or even better a suite if you afford it. Higher floors have a great view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 135 in Sofia
800 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#20 of 135 in Sofia
370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
3.4 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinela Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinela Sofia

Address: 100 James Bourchier Boulevard, Sofia 1407, Bulgaria (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Marinela Sofia)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range: £95 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marinela Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marinela Sofia has an outstanding location, just 20 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to the city center. The hotel boasts amazing infrastructure built on 30 000 sqm and features the most comprehensive facilities in Sofia offering 442 rooms and suites with stunning panoramic views, the biggest hotel conference facilities in the capital, superb leisure and dining facilities including six restaurants and two bars and a modern health club with the biggest hotel swimming pool in the city. The hotel also offers the only Japanese garden on the Balkan Peninsula. Each Deluxe room and Junior suite are equipped with mini-bar, safe, individually controlled air-condition and heating systems, LCD or plasma flat screen TVs, a modern hotel entertainment system with video and music on demand, high-speed free Wi-Fi Internet and a smart card system in accordance with the latest security standards. Hotel Marinela boasts the biggest presidential suite in Bulgaria, in which a number of celebrities have stayed, such as Helmut Khol, Recep Erdogan, Sylvester Stallone, Julio and Enrique Iglesias, Lady Gaga, Tina Turner, James Brown, Anatoly Karpov, Wesley Snipes, Sergei Mihalkov, Elton John and more. Hotel Marinela provides every amenity necessary for focused and effective business communication. It is appropriate place for your successful meetings and celebrations. Three large banqueting halls, fully equipped to meet international expectations: Sofia 1, 2 and 3 can combine to form the largest hotel ballroom. Hotel boardrooms offer daylight, comfortable chairs and tables, easy connectivity to power and the web for each delegate, access to built-in multi-media equipment, interactive screens, microphones, flip charts, white boards, peg boards and free Wi-Fi. The six restaurants and two bars offer tantalising culinary creations from world cuisines. You can sip aromatic coffee or tea on the sun-lit terrace of Intermezzo lobby bar or enjoy fresh fish at Captain Cook or sushi fantasies at Happy Sushi; dine at the top of the city under the starry sky in Panorama Restaurant, taste sweet creations at Candy bar or stylish cocktails in Bar Le Parfum. The spacious fitness center is one of the most modern in Europe and includes massage rooms and the largest indoor hotel swimming pool in Sofia. Hotel Marinela offers free Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marinela Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing