We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europe Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europe Sofia
Ranked #92 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed from 14/05/14 to 19/05/14 with my wife on B&B terms, the visit was to support Team GB in the European Gymnastics Championships. This hotel was within a ten minute walking distance of the arena.
The area was not far from the university with a supermarket at the end of the road which was convenient as it opened late. We did a lot of walking around the area and felt safe even if the area appeared to be slightly run down.

Hotel
Friendly efficient staff at the front desk who ensured that booking in and out was very quick and easy. There were two bars one in the lobby and the sky bar on the 7th floor with great views over the city a nice place to have a drink in the evening the drinks were not expensive which is the norm for hotels .
Accommodation
Stayed in an apartment on the 6th floor, which consisted of a large sitting room with comfortable furniture a bedroom on suite bathrooms with a second wash room and rap around balcony. The bed was comfortable and provided a good night’s sleep. The apartment was clean.
Food
The breakfast was ok nothing to write home about there were the usual options including scrambled eggs, fruit, cold meat, cereals and cheeses. The meals in the evening were of a reasonable standard especially the fish dishes and the roast potatoes were very, very good. We ate in the restaurant three evenings the prices of the meals provided good value. The chef has to work on his/her pastries not great and lack of choice.

Summary
If you are attending a function at the arena and do not want to be getting cabs all the time I would recommend this hotel. There is a new mall a fifteen minute walk down from the arena which is worth a visit plenty of food options, and if you like walking it is about a forty minute walk into the city centre, you could also take a cab. Need to improve WIFI in the rooms was not good during our visit.

Room Tip: Get an appartment for the views and the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erskine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    44
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
15
27
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
261 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very close to airport and located in a residential area. Plenty of shopping nearby and also fast food joints and restaurants. Its off the main road but still ok for the price paid. There is a 24 hour super market round the corner and a decent bar directly opposite. The rooms are large, with a balcony with a good view of the mountain. Had a comfortable clean room and bed, with a good bathroom/shower, a room safe and plenty of storage space. Had reached very late around 2.30 am and was to check out by 7 am. Since couldn't take breakfast they arranged a snack pack which was very decent. All staff spoke good English and were polite and helpful. Free wifi and fast too. Many TV channels. Transfer to Airport was 16 Leva which was reasonable considering what others charge sometimes. Worth a repeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is not in a nice suburb but is only metres from one of the main roads and there is plenty of decent shopping nearby. I was in room 61 which was huge although sparsely furnished. The wifi was free and fast. I believe the romos can vary greatly and it appeared that soom were very large and others much smaller
I ate the evening meal at the restaurant where the service was good but the food nothing special.
Overall I felt it was a reasonably priced hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: I had an early flight so booked the shuttle service. It was there on time and I could bill it to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisteveandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here on business for 4 nights in the winter time. The hotel is in a quiet location, just off the main highway from the airport. It is a short (cheap) cab ride to the city centre. There is a well-stocked 24 hour supermarket just round the corner and a decent bar directly opposite.

My room was very large, with a balcony. I had a comfortable clean room and bed, with a good bathroom/shower, a room safe and plenty of storage space. Breakfast was a fairly basic buffet but perfectly OK. I had one evening meal, which was nicely cooked and presented. WiFi is included.

All staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

I would position it at 3/4 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baymadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Kind of an old hotel, seems like it used to be a 4 star hotel back in the 70's. I payed 75 euros for a night, but the overall value of it was about 35. The moment you set foot inside, you realize that it is quite old, however the staff is friendly enough. It is quiet, it offers free parking and wifi, and for the 75 euros I got the Deluxe room, which is quite large and nice, yet again... old. However it is all acceptable exact one thing: the breakfast. The food looks so bad that you just can't enjoy it. Bottom line, the moment we checked into our room, we booked a room for the same price in Park Inn Hotel, which turned out to be in a whole different league than this hotel. For the same money.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel, take the deluxe room. When we stayed there, it cost about 10 euros m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June 2013.
The hotel is nicely located in an residential area, but easy to take the bus to go downtown.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The room was very nice and equipped with modern smart tv.
A very good hotel and worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra La Vella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I will stay this hotel Mind blowing hotel nice palace nice view nice location nice service All of staff member friendly Nice desk service Reception manager very genital man Thank you My Travel Agent ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Suite Hotel Sofia
#12 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel RotasaR
#101 of 130 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Lozenets
Silver House
Silver House
#34 of 130 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Hotel Dom na Ucheniya Ban
#77 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe Sofia

Property: Hotel Europe Sofia
Address: ul.Liditse 1, Sofia 1113, Bulgaria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Europe)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel EUROPE is a four-star hotel offering all facilities and services expected by the international travelers and the business community. The wonderful location, luxury rooms, stylish restaurant and bars, convenient services make BEST WESTERN Hotel EUROPE one of the most exciting places in Sofia for rest and entertainment.The closest hotel to Arena Armeec Sofia ( only 10 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes driving by car) and 10 minutes walking distance to Joliot Curie subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Europe Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europe
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing