We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business or site seeing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for business or site seeing.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I have visited twice (Q4 2011 and Q4 2013) Once for a business trip and the second time for business and a short holiday break. This hotel was booked after a recommendation from a colleague plus my positive experience with the radisson blu chain. To summarise:
Location - excellent 5/5. very good if you want to explore a little during your stay. It's right in the centre of the town, a few minute walk from some of the attractions and also close enough walk to several good resraurants. Approx 40mins via taxi from the airport.

Room and Amenities - Good 5/5. I travel alot on business and usually opt for the radisson blu or hilton style chains as their tried and tested hotels with the right comfort, amenties I need and good service. This Radisson Blu is no different, the room, restaurant etc are all excellent with good attention to detail.
Both my rooms were good, not that large but of an adequate size with clever uses of storage space. All the usual radisson blue refinements you'd expect. It was also well designed and laid out.

Service - Good On Occasion 3.5/5. All the staff I came across were polite and curteous generally. However when delivered room service I was asked for a tip (a little rude to ask isnt it?). Secondly on one occasion I opted to give a tip and noted it on the the paper bill (which I would settle on my checkout). The waiter however asked that I give cash because it wouldnt go through otherwise, so begrudgingly I did and crossed out the paper tip. However on checkout I saw that he'd rewritten over my cross out and added another tip. Very rude! Luckily i checked the detail. I challenged this at reception and the staff member was very helpful and immediately corrected the matter after I noted the error on my invoice. This last issue was frustrating, however on the whole the hotel is good and on the majority of points lives up to the radisson blu name. I hope this issue with the one waiter was a one off and not a systemic concern.

I will be returning and I would happily recommend this hotel to others. Just check your invoice though people!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bikrumjit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Bikrumjit P,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand hotel Sofia and for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.

With our constant strive to meet and exceed guests’ expectations your nice comments about the facilities and service are highly appreciated. Thank you also for sharing the tip issue. I would like to kindly assure you that it will be thoroughly looked into and necessary actions will be taken.

I do hope to welcome you back at our hotel when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    317
    94
    23
    12
See reviews for
53
156
70
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here in 2002/2003 and the faclity was very nice. Not so great this trip. This place is in dire need of renovation. The carpets are coming apart at the seams and need replacement in the hallways and at least in the room where I stayed. The place shows it age. Friendly staff. Nice location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Doug S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.

Please be informed that the change of the carpets has been planned and will soon take place. I would like also to thank you for the nice words about the staff.

I do hope to welcome you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Best regards,

Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We wish there was a 3.5 for this review.

We stayed in a "business" room on the fifth floor for two nights.

Service
The Hotel is a "safe bet" because it's part of a large chain and in our case the standards of good management that one would expect were upheld. We arrived on a Friday night when the square in front of the hotel gets very busy. Luckily, the hotel had a parking spot available (10€/day). I had contacted the hotel twice through their website and directly by email to inquire about parking, and had received no answer so I was a bit worried. I am not sure what happened, but one would expect better. Check-in was smooth and throughout the stay service was punctual, and while I do not personally appreciate having "vultures" around at breakfast waiting for me to take the last bite to remove my dish... I have seen this happening in different countries even in wanna-be posh restaurants.

Room
The room was a typical hotel chain room: wood, marble, carpet.. quite uninteresting. But it was large and sported a full wall window overlooking the square, the National Assembly building and the rest. Quite amazing in fact. It had a proper Nespresso machine with complementary capsules that was highly appreciated by the Italian in me. On the other hand, there was only one bathrobe, one water bottle (which was also not replaced on day 2), one pair of sleepers.. Of course we could have asked for more, but we couldn't be bothered and didn't really need it. I just think that attention to details could improve. Something else we don't usually pay attention to: the TV. Exhausted by the trip and the weather we wanted to watch something, but the channel selection was very limited and movies on demand are about 10$ each. Wi-fi internet was free and adequate.

Breakfast
The breakfast was very good with a reasonable variety. It is hard to understand how can they possibly have such a crappy espresso (or macchiato, or cappuccino) when they have Nespresso machines in every room. They are obviously not using one in the kitchen. Black coffee was ok, if you need espresso have it in your room.

Location
The hotel is pretty well located regardless of what you plan to do in Sofia. Of course if all you want to do is hang around the pedestrian shopping area then I'd advise you to book a hotel there. For the rest, monuments, churches, outdoor market.. this is a good starting point.

AOB
Adjacent to the hotel there are restaurants, clubs and a casino. The night we arrived (i.e. Friday) the club (I suppose) was still going strong in the middle of the night. Despite being on the fifth floor (!), exhausted and not-at-all light sleepers, the vibration of the bass was quite annoying (not really the music itself).

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor if you stay there during the weekend as the club downstairs can be very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamutukness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear hamutukness,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies on the fact that you did not receive reply on the comment in your reservation regarding the parking. I would like also to thank you for the feeback about the room. We constantly strive to improve and your comments will be addressed in order to offer better service to our guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Clean, best located hotel. great breakfast with a lot to offer. The service is extraordinary in both checkin, checkout and throught the stay . The rooms are big and clean., and the overall atmosphere is calm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Asaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was in a really central location close to the university. The staff were very accommodating although I was told the breakfast was included and the restaurant staff wouldn't listen and charged for it anyway. The reception staff credited it on check out.

Room Tip: Check if breakfast is included
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travelers. It is located in the heart of the city and if you choose room with view on the square, you will stay in touch with its pulse during day and night. If you prefer quiet room, choose the one on the other side with view to Vitosha mountain. All rooms are spacey and comfortable. As mentioned by other reviewers, beds are extremely comfortable with pillows and covers of the best quality. Staff is very friendly with great attitude and well trained to satisfy all your needs, very helpful at every occasion. In the morning you will especially enjoy the breakfast, which is of high quality and wide assortment. I have tried few other hotels in Sofia during my regular business trips, but this is the only one, I am looking forward to return to, despite the bit higher price. The location, friendly atmosphere, comfortable sleep and enjoyable breakfast pays it off.

Room Tip: Choose the front view room, if you want to stay on pulse of the city at day and night. Avoid it if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakub M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Jakub M,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for your time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor.

I am really glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities of the hotel. Our ultimate goal is to provide uniques Yes I Can! experiences for our guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back when your travel plans bring you back in Sofia!

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Top hotel top location Room very large
Few minuths to all attractions, malls,and airport
Price is reasonable and the room is very large with faciliteis to prepare tea or coffee
Internet free
very easy to use
Fax and computer floor number one

Room Tip: Stayed at room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Michaela55,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for your time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor.

I am really glad to hear that the location and the facilitiesof the hotel made your stay a most comfortable one and that we are your preferred hotel to stay while in Sofia .

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.9 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 133 in Sofia
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Property: Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Address: pl.Narodno sabranie 4, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Business Hotel in Sofia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#13 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History Built at the end of the 1960s, the hotel is part of Bulgaria’s cultural heritage and is within the architectural ensemble shaping the National Assembly Square. Located at the heart of the city, the hotel is part of one of world’s biggest hotel chains – Carlson Rezidor HotelGroup. All rooms on its north facade are overlooking the building of the Parliament right in front the St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the National Gallery for Foreign Art and other cultural monuments. The latest design was appointed to the London-based worldwide¬¬ recognized designer Francis Sultana. His elegant approach combines contemporary and classic design, leaving a sense of style from the art deco era. The guests can now enjoy not only custom-made furniture for the building’s interior but also art pieces by the world’s top contemporary artists. Location Radisson Blu Grand Hotel is situated right in the heart of the downtown, in the middle of the most notable historical monuments and attractions the city has to offer. It is in a busy interchange of Tzar Osvoboditel Blvd., which is the continuation of the one of Sofia’s major thoroughfare Tsarigradsko shose (fastest connection with Sofia Airport), and Vasil Levski Blvd. The hotel enjoys excellent visibility and benefits from its proximity to the main roads in the city, connecting the downtown area with the business areas and its top location, nightlife diversity wise. The area is a gathering point for people having the most preferable places for going out, combining trendy restaurants with the best known night clubs, opera house, theaters, etc. In only just a short walk one can enjoy a great variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, galleries, shopping areas and all types of trendy places the downtown offers. Facilities Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia currently has 142 rooms and apartments among which Business class and sumptuous Suits (with private balconies) giving unique views, a New York style restaurant on the Mezzanine level called Studio, due to the remarkable art pieces as part of its fully renovated interior inclusive of custom-made furniture, showcasing fresh international and local selections, a chic Lounge Bar, the place to enjoy a hot drink during the day or a fancy cocktail in the evening. On the same Mezzanine level there is a fully renovated conference center in elegant contemporary design. The famous, especially for Wedding celebrations & dinner cocktails, ballroom, has now a rentable area of 290 square meters and a capacity of 240 delegates in theatre style, completed by 3 break-out rooms with a capacity of up to 50 seats. They all offer much natural lighting, a lighting control system and modern audio-visual equipment in line with the Radisson Blu Experience Meetings concept. It is a new way Meetings & Events re-vitalise the positioning of the brand in the important Meetings, Incentives, Conferences & Events arena, and differentiate the brand offerings from those of our competitors. Experience Meetings concept provides meeting planners and delegates with the highest level of consistent product and service delivery, including the Brain Food strategy. This is a product for meetings and conferences developed in the partnership between the 5* Chefs of Radisson Blu and well known nutrition experts. Research over the past few years has shown that eating the correct nutrients, at the right times, improves our ability to learn and concentrate, promotes quicker reactions and even lowers stress levels. These are all factors that can affect the quality of a meeting. Brain Food helps ensure that all meeting participants remain healthy and alert all the way through a meeting. It is being served in the specious foyer on the Mezzanine level, perfect also for quick snack, coffee or cocktail at the Lobby bar area. A cozy Business Lounge with controlled access, guarantees privacy of the Business class guests and outside clients, who prefer to relax, read, catch up on e-mails, socialize or watch the favorite channels on 75” TV. This newly opened lounge, with inspirational atmosphere finished by contemporary art and natural daylight, offers comfortable seating areas to provide opportunities for semi-private meetings. The hotel hosts a nightclub, well-known brand in the night life scene of Sofia for years, as well as a fully renovated Casino. Just recently a Luxurious Asian restaurant opened at the ground floor level, offering the view of the Parliament square from inside and also from its outside garden. Yes I Can! The core service philosophy of the Rezidor Hotel Group is the unique Yes I Can! attitude towards all guests every day. As a result, guests with any request are met with a positive response, and made to feel that their well-being is the sole priority of the member of staff assisting them. Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia is proud to be the first Green Key Certificated Hotel in Bulgaria. Green Key Award is the largest eco-label for accommodation, recognized and supported by the World Tourism Organization and UNEP. This certificate guarantees to the guests that the hotel operates in a Think Planet way - reducing the environmental footprint without compromising comfort and quality: the award guarantees eco-friendly lights; reducing energy & water consumption; treating all waste water; recycling a maximum of waste and others, all in full compliance with the Responsible Business Policy of Rezidor Hotel Group. Taking responsibility for the environment and local community has been an important part of Rezidor's broader commitment to sustainable development since the first environmental policy back in 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing