We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times most recently for 2 nights while on business. Great city centre location. Clean, very good service and facilities. Breakfast good but could be better for a hotel with this rating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guerdner,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    305
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
49
147
69
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Central location. Close to many main attractions.
Very enjoyable stay for two nights.
Comfortable large room and bathroom.
Great service, especially in the lounge, bar coffee area.
Breakfast was very good.
Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apples365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Apples365,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.
I am really pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Providing excellent customer service has always been our ultimate goal.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a work trip to a conference in Sophia. I asked for a room that overlooked the parliament for the views. Had the added bonus of getting a first hand view of the demonstrations that were taking place at the time (protestors marched on parliament each night). The staff were very helpful and provided great service. Hotel is nicely located, close to sights and central Sophia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for staying with us and I highly appreciate your feedback in TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for the nice words about the staff. We strive to deliver excellent service and to exceed our guests' expectations.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is convenient located in city centre With walking distance to restaurants. There is also a park nearby where you can jog. Radisson quality on staff, beds and breakfast (very good). The hotel is a little out dated but overall my choice in Sofia.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Stefan R,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for your feedback via TripAdvisor. I highly appreciate your nice words about our staff, beds and breakfast. Our ultimate goal is to provide impeccable service and to meet and exceed the expecations of our guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel when your travel plans bring you back into Sofia.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night in Radisson Blu hotel and I think it was good, but not a great hotel.

+ Fantastic location - very close to the centre and all the main attractions
+ Affordable
+ Free Wi-Fi
+ Good bathroom with the choice of bath or shower cabin

- No tea and coffee making facilities in the room (to my opinion these days it is expected in the hotels of an average level)
- Limit to the amount of devices to be using free Wi-Fi. These days the majority of people carry at least 2 devices which need the Wi-Fi. We have activated it on our laptops and could not use that on the phones, which was really inconvenient.
- Does not feel personal at all - no city map or any sightseeing suggestions in the rooms or around, not super friendly staff, no toilet or even hotel bar signs in the lobby - feels a bit dull and boring
- I believe the cleaners have not checked our room beforehand because when we arrived it clearly smelled cigarette smoke which was not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Irina V,

I highly apprecaite that you shared your feedback via TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay with us. I would like to inform you that we currently have coffee making facilities in all our rooms. Our WiFi could be used on up to three devices and if additional passwords are required we are happy to assist. We will use your further feedback to fine tune our operations in order to improve our services.

I do hope to see you agian at the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia when your travel plans bring you to the area.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for a business reason couple of days. Breakfast was ok, room ok. Prices in the restaurant very reasonable. Excellent location near all main tourist spots. Staff very kind and helpful. Many restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Mr. Zoran K,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for sharing your feedback. Our goal is to provide excellent product and service and I am really glad that you had enjoyable stay with us.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I chose the Raddison Blu because of its location.
Only 5 minutes walk to Alexander Nevsky Cathedral this hotel was perfectly located to restaurants and the main tourist attractions.
The hotel was modern and well designed and the room generously proportioned. I would have thought however that a pool is essential in a modern hotel. The bathroom was well designed and proportioned. The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. One of the best I have experienced.
Breakfast was appetising albeit unremarkable and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
If this hotel had a pool and gym it would rate higher. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiril R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear LeonSokulsky,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Sofia and for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you had great stay with us and you enjoyed the service and the facilities that we offer. Our gym is being relocated right now and we have an alternative for our guests. Thank you once again for your patronage and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Kiril Radoev
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Sense Hotel Sofia
#5 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#2 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia

Property: Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Address: pl.Narodno sabranie 4, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#7 Business Hotel in Sofia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#13 Family Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History Built at the end of the 1960s, the hotel is part of Bulgaria’s cultural heritage and is within the architectural ensemble shaping the National Assembly Square. Located at the heart of the city, the hotel is part of one of world’s biggest hotel chains – Carlson Rezidor HotelGroup. All rooms on its north facade are overlooking the building of the Parliament right in front the St. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the National Gallery for Foreign Art and other cultural monuments. The latest design was appointed to the London-based worldwide¬¬ recognized designer Francis Sultana. His elegant approach combines contemporary and classic design, leaving a sense of style from the art deco era. The guests can now enjoy not only custom-made furniture for the building’s interior but also art pieces by the world’s top contemporary artists. Location Radisson Blu Grand Hotel is situated right in the heart of the downtown, in the middle of the most notable historical monuments and attractions the city has to offer. It is in a busy interchange of Tzar Osvoboditel Blvd., which is the continuation of the one of Sofia’s major thoroughfare Tsarigradsko shose (fastest connection with Sofia Airport), and Vasil Levski Blvd. The hotel enjoys excellent visibility and benefits from its proximity to the main roads in the city, connecting the downtown area with the business areas and its top location, nightlife diversity wise. The area is a gathering point for people having the most preferable places for going out, combining trendy restaurants with the best known night clubs, opera house, theaters, etc. In only just a short walk one can enjoy a great variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, galleries, shopping areas and all types of trendy places the downtown offers. Facilities Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia currently has 142 rooms and apartments among which Business class and sumptuous Suits (with private balconies) giving unique views, a New York style restaurant on the Mezzanine level called Studio, due to the remarkable art pieces as part of its fully renovated interior inclusive of custom-made furniture, showcasing fresh international and local selections, a chic Lounge Bar, the place to enjoy a hot drink during the day or a fancy cocktail in the evening. On the same Mezzanine level there is a fully renovated conference center in elegant contemporary design. The famous, especially for Wedding celebrations & dinner cocktails, ballroom, has now a rentable area of 290 square meters and a capacity of 240 delegates in theatre style, completed by 3 break-out rooms with a capacity of up to 50 seats. They all offer much natural lighting, a lighting control system and modern audio-visual equipment in line with the Radisson Blu Experience Meetings concept. It is a new way Meetings & Events re-vitalise the positioning of the brand in the important Meetings, Incentives, Conferences & Events arena, and differentiate the brand offerings from those of our competitors. Experience Meetings concept provides meeting planners and delegates with the highest level of consistent product and service delivery, including the Brain Food strategy. This is a product for meetings and conferences developed in the partnership between the 5* Chefs of Radisson Blu and well known nutrition experts. Research over the past few years has shown that eating the correct nutrients, at the right times, improves our ability to learn and concentrate, promotes quicker reactions and even lowers stress levels. These are all factors that can affect the quality of a meeting. Brain Food helps ensure that all meeting participants remain healthy and alert all the way through a meeting. It is being served in the specious foyer on the Mezzanine level, perfect also for quick snack, coffee or cocktail at the Lobby bar area. A cozy Business Lounge with controlled access, guarantees privacy of the Business class guests and outside clients, who prefer to relax, read, catch up on e-mails, socialize or watch the favorite channels on 75” TV. This newly opened lounge, with inspirational atmosphere finished by contemporary art and natural daylight, offers comfortable seating areas to provide opportunities for semi-private meetings. The hotel hosts a nightclub, well-known brand in the night life scene of Sofia for years, as well as a fully renovated Casino. Just recently a Luxurious Asian restaurant opened at the ground floor level, offering the view of the Parliament square from inside and also from its outside garden. Yes I Can! The core service philosophy of the Rezidor Hotel Group is the unique Yes I Can! attitude towards all guests every day. As a result, guests with any request are met with a positive response, and made to feel that their well-being is the sole priority of the member of staff assisting them. Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia is proud to be the first Green Key Certificated Hotel in Bulgaria. Green Key Award is the largest eco-label for accommodation, recognized and supported by the World Tourism Organization and UNEP. This certificate guarantees to the guests that the hotel operates in a Think Planet way - reducing the environmental footprint without compromising comfort and quality: the award guarantees eco-friendly lights; reducing energy & water consumption; treating all waste water; recycling a maximum of waste and others, all in full compliance with the Responsible Business Policy of Rezidor Hotel Group. Taking responsibility for the environment and local community has been an important part of Rezidor's broader commitment to sustainable development since the first environmental policy back in 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia Hotel Sofia
Radisson Sofia
Sofia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing