We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a casino...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Sofia
Ranked #38 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“More like a casino...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I didn't stay here myself. However some friends stayed a couple of nights and said the rooms were fine for the price and breakfast was OK. I used the bar a couple of times and it is very overpriced for Sofia and quite fussy for service (which is very polite). Clientelle seems to be a lot of older people - certainly several Israelis and some Turks. I don't think they come for the hotel as much as the large casino that it contains. Casino is quite busy and access easy once you register with your passport. One thing to note is that I was offered 3 times by different doormen whether they could "help me with local assistance or with company" which I assumed was with 'female' company at a price!!!! Read into that what you will!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    211
    218
    62
    46
See reviews for
70
129
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Although not a bad hotel, I did find the whole interior and exterior quite dated.

I had a room on the 13th floor and did find it quite quiet which was nice. The bathroom was a decent size but the plug socket was falling off the wall and I could see small sparks in the socket when using the hair dryer so I used the one in my friends room instead. Free wifi was a bonus and worked pretty well for just surfing Facebook etc.

The bar downstairs was decently priced and we managed to get bar snacks quite late at night after watching a dance competition at Universaida Hall. Breakfast was also quite substantial. The room service was ok, although our burgers smelt like nail varnish remover which was a little odd but we lived to tell the tale!

Taxis were also reasonably priced. I did not enjoy going out for a walk in Sofia by myself, I felt like I was being followed all the time and the pavements were horrendous!

Also found the lady who checked the mini bar a little annoying. She came to my room 3 times on the Saturday morning in quick succession to see if it needed refilling and seemed surprised every time that I'd opened the door and said no every time..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girltravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Over on here on work ,so this the most central location and a very good one I must say .The food was great wine that they don't export ,shame, No matter what reason stay here its got the lot. The shops in the city are very interesting with a large scope of products.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Located across the bus and the train station it's a nice 4 star hotel, although a little pricey for the quality they offering. The room we've got was standard twin bed room 30m2, but it was clean. Great minus are the beds, the mattresses which are very uncomfortable. No mini bar in the room, but they have room service, and a lots of other facilities, like lobby, restaurant, conference room, casino etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow West
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11.30pm from the bus station which is across the road. The area is fine although not much nearby. The metro station is one minute walk from the hotel giving access to the city centre. Beautiful spacious reception area and pleasant bar with good service and reasonable prices. The room we had on the 9th floor had great views, was clean but fairly basic. The breakfast buffet was mediocre and not particularly appetising. Avoid the coffee. There is a large indoor swimming pool and nice garden off with tables and parasols which you can enjoy a drink in. The hotel has a hairdresser/beauty salon, gift shop, travel agency and has a large casino attached, which we didn't use. All in all a good experience for a large hotel chain and an excellent location for arrival/departure by public transport.

Room Tip: Rooms to front have great views but are noisy with air conditioning plant outside and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiegeeGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked a Superior room for three nights, which was an adequate size, basic and outdated, good job as we hate to think what a normal room would be like. There was tea/coffee facilities which we welcomed. The room definitely needs a renovation, carpet was old and threadbare and parting in places. Curtain was smaller than the window! at least the view was very nice. The bathroom was small with the WC positioned behind the door, very uncomfortable. Wifi was available in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and a good variety. Although not even a 'good morning' or a smile was offered by the waiters!! The spa and indoor pool, well leaves much to be desired!! water was very cold and children jumping about, not a place to relax in. Pity, as we were looking forward to it. Do not attempt to get any help from the Excursion office that is supposed to offer excursions, as they know nothing and will do nothing. We went there to buy a couple of excursions and although they had the pamphlets, they could not book it!! The hotel's management or rather the owner has just installed an x ray machine similar to the ones at the airport to check on baggage. It is a monstrosity, ugly and made us uneasy as to why it is a necessary to the hotel to check all the luggagel!!
English is not spoken by most of the hotel staff, which made it a lot difficult to understand. We had a couple of good taxi drivers, mainly Kirill, who was very helpful and spoke good English. Also the concierge were very helpful and they did speak English. On the whole this hotel should have a 3* standard not four star. The casino on site is quite an attractions and there is a bureau de change 24/7 which was quite handy.

Room Tip: Although we had a beautiful view of the city and the mountains, our sleep was interrupted by dogs ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Leger tour round the Balkans. I have mobility problems, so I have written this with that in mind.

The hotel seems very modern, and looks relatively expensive. We'd asked for a twin room, and were more than pleasantly surprised to be assigned a proper disabled room, complete with a wet-room. The bedroom was large with air conditioning, but the latter was quite poor. We think that the hotel keeps it switched off (centrally) until 5pm or so, and then switches it off again sometime during the night. The room was therefore overly hot. (Temperatures outside were in the 30s.) Our beds weren't made until after 3pm, and only then when we phoned reception about them. These things rather let the hotel down.

The hotel does offer foreign exchange, but what a rigmarole. They have a casino in the hotel. To change money, you have to go and enrol as a member at the casino (with passport), then go to the cashier in the casino and ask for the exchange.

The food was good for both dinner and breakfast (both buffets for us), though we were a little surprised to find that there was no drinks waiter. The beds were comfortable.

The hotel seems to be very good in places, and poor in others. I like my comfort, so the air conditioning was, for me, a problem. The disabled room, on the other hand, was almost a miracle, and totally unexpected. But it's position in the town raises the overall rating, hence the 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBlackDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budapest Hotel
#10 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#2 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sofia

Property: Ramada Sofia
Address: 131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#13 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Sofia is one of the largest hotels on the Balkan Peninsula, offering excellent rooms and professional service. The hotel is located within walking distance from the city centre, 15 km from Sofia International Airport and near the Central Railway Station. In short, the hotel is convenient placed for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel Sofia
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing