We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greater than expected, Dedeman Princess are really up for it”
Review of Ramada Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Sofia
Ranked #54 of 135 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I visited Sofia for a business meeting and honestly I didnt know what to expect from the country as a whole, having in mind this was my first time coming to Bulgaria.I had the hotel stay arranged through a tourist agency , as my requirements were : not too pricy (sensible), close to the downtown of sofia and to offer as much comfort for the money I am spending.
What was my surprise when the Dedeman Hotel offered all that and more - great service, unique business center and conference options, incredible spa !
I would like to thank all the stuff for the unforgettable memories and for the delightful attitude - if I have the chance I will visit you again !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

This was my second stay at the Dedeman (the first being in the summer of 2010). While my first experience was great, the second was so substandard that I will not stay in this facility again. Reasons include:

1. Room was dirty: I found a stain on the bed sheets of what looked like tea or coffee. Carpets in the rooms also appeared unclean.

2. Sink in the bathroom was not working: when i first discovered that, I couldn't believe it. For the price I paid, this, in addition to the dirty rooms, was unacceptable.

3. Staff did not deliver wake-up call in the morning. Had i relied on them, I would have missed my flight.

After I complained to the manager in the facility, they moved me to another room WITHOUT coming in to see what the problems I had with the room were. This means that this room will not be improved and another unfortunate guest will experience this inconvenience again.

Although the location of the hotel is good, I won't stay there again. There are plenty of other options in Sofia.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leda_80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Very expensive snack bar and restaurant (2 Euros for a 330ml bottle of water, cheapest wine for almost 7 Euros). New year's eve diner was for 75 Euros no choice of main plate (roasted turkey was uneatable) previous plates inadequate in quality and quantity. Program mostly playback (no orchestra) and mostly Bulgarian.
Most of male staff, everywhere, were helpful and polite... strangely enough most (not all) of female staff would act like they were making you a favour... they would even talk back to you in case of a complain or a request.
Rooms were adequately spacious and clean but with cheap bamboo furniture and outdated decoration - a hole in the sheets was found as well. Don't forget to brink your toothbrush and toothpaste' they don't provide any.
Finally most serious problem that makes me say " Wouldn’t Stay There Again" was the heating. Burning coal fumes were coming in through the heat vents causing breathing and eye irritation symptoms. At some point I thought we were at a life threatening situation and there was no way to tell what the CO and other breathing gases levels were - had to keep the window half open.
P.S. The swimming pool was fabulus

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikolakis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Had a great time in this hotel
rooms were great , clean / comfy could of done with a bit less house keeping !
breakfast generally ok but could have done better here, chips for breakfast !! i note most dedeman hotels had croquets. Often cold scrambled egg, if any !
Reception, conciege, bar staff all excellent.
Spa staff friendly but what gives with the hats to be worn in the pool ??
Spa was excellent, pool outstanding

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Good central location for exploring the sites of Sofia. I found the rooms to
be VERY dated but clean.

The hotel lobby bar was very nice and live classical music in the evening.
Casino next door was rubbush although they do give you FREE drink.

Good choice hotel for the price and city!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

For the purpose of our seminars the Dedeman Hotel chain was able to offer the most suitable conditions and terms including spacious conference halls, great catering service and amazing hospitality. In total our company used the Dedeman Sofia twice and the one in Plovdiv once. A great sign of convenience was the immediate positive feedback we received from our clients who attended the first seminar in the beginning of October (numbers of more than 100). Consequently, this steered our opinion to choose Trimontsium in Plovdiv where we had around 30 people and again in the Sofia we hosted 80 clients from the whole of Bulgaria. Our clients liked the atmosphere and service of the both hotels. The conference halls we used were fully equipped for the purposes we required, including: sound system with microphones and huge speakers, high speed internet, projectors and so on. In other words the amenities provided by the hotels made our seminars a success. On behalf of Antoanette Ltd. (our company) we would like to thank Dedeman for their professionalism, help and high standard of service. We are also looking forward to working with them again and continue to build our partnership.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofiahotel, Director of Sales at Ramada Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you, for sharing with us your thoughts about facilities and services provided in Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel during your seminars, through Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to see that your seminars were success and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

It is through responses like yours help us and our future guests to evaluate our services.

Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely yours

Elena Urumova

Director of Sales and Marketing
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Had a great time in this hotel
rooms were great , clean / comfy could of done with a bit less house keeping !
breakfast generally ok but could have done better here, chips for breakfast !! i note most dedeman hotels had croquets. Often cold scrambled egg, if any !
Reception, conciege, bar staff all excellent.
Spa staff friendly but what gives with the hats to be worn in the pool ??
Spa was excellent, pool outstanding

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MastG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Serdica
Hotel Anel
Hotel Anel
#5 of 135 in Sofia
572 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 135 in Sofia
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sofia

Address: 131 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1202, Bulgaria (Formerly Sofia Princess Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Sofia
#15 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Sofia is one of the largest hotels on the Balkan Peninsula, offering excellent rooms and professional service. The hotel is located within walking distance from the city centre, 15 km from Sofia International Airport and near the Central Railway Station. In short, the hotel is convenient placed for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Princess Sofia Hotel Sofia
Best Western Sofia
Sofia Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing