We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop”
Review of Novotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sofia
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Targu Mures
2 reviews
“One night stop”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Travelling to Greece we made a reservation to this hotel using booking.com. We had some problems in finding the location but once we arrived there everything was perfect. The check in was really fast and the rooms were very nice and modern. Breakfast was not included and we payed for it in the morning - little bit too expensive if you compare it with the room price.
But overall excellent place to stay in Sofia!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gheorghe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Gheorghe,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments regarding Novotel Sofia!
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Sofia!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    181
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
49
53
18
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Travelling back from Greece, got very tired so stopped at OMV, usued their free wifi, booking.com app and booked into Novotel Sofia at half price. Took 20 minutes from OMV Gas Station and was checked in in less than 2 minutes and the family was in the room in 5 mins.
The staff made up the extra beds very quickly and nothing was a problem and this was at 1230 at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Novotel Sofia with us!
I am glad that you choose us as your one night stop to home and you were satisfied with our services!

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have used this hotel three times now and I find it comfortable and well equipped. Staff are friendly, attentive and eager to help. It is a 10 min drive from the airport and the hotel can provide a shuttle service to and from the airport for a fee. You will need to take a taxi into the city centre but it is not far. Wifi access is good, rooms are well equipped and comfortable with comfortable beds. There is a small gym with a cycle machine and two tread mills. There is a small selection of weights. Steam room and massage are available but I have not tried these. Restaurant is good with a reasonable selection. Hotel is next door to a large modern shopping mall with a good selection of shops and restaurant. There is a large Carrefour supermarket on the mall which is handy for provisions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiemannZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice review on Novotel Sofia!

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our team. We take great pride in training and developing ourselves and comments like yours are highly appreciated!

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you again with us!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the novotel for 5 nights on business. It was chosen as it is close to my office, but it also close to the airport and there is a new modern mall next door. The hotel itself is modern and has really good sized rooms and lovely clean bathrooms. I was really impressed with the room size and quality and the free soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch. I ate in the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meals and service was very good and the food quality also good. The front desk were very helpful supplying iron and ironing board when I asked for them and the free shuttle to the airport was also appreciated. The hotel is a little way out of the centre of Sofia but you can get a taxi from the mall and they are so cheap it only cost about £3 each way - just make sure you get a proper cab company. All in all I enjoyed my stay, my only negative comments would be that the gym & leisure facilities are not great. It comprises of two treadmills and one exercise bike and some free weights. It was almost always full in there so i didnt get to exercise - and the steam room has no information as to whether there are changing facilities, whether its unisex etc. However if i were to stay again there is a gym next door which a colleague negotiated a weekly price for using. My only other comments are that the bathroom while nice and large, the towel size and toiletries are adequate but not brilliant and the monsoon shower isnt very powerful - however these are details you would expect from a 4 or 5 star luxury hotel so for the price of the Novotel its not a big deal and overall i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Novotel Sofia with us!
I am pleased that you liked the design of the hotel and you had a chance to enjoy the free minibar and all other services.

Thank you also about your remarks regarding the fitness facilities and bathroom supplies. Your opinion is highly evaluated.

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

If you are in Sofia for business you certainly don't want hotel in which Wi Fi is so slow that in evening hours you can not even acces your mailbox. I was not able to complete one wery important project due to this fact.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Jovan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Novotel Sofia! We are sorry that on this occasion we could not meet your expectations. It was really unpleasant to find out that due to connection fail down you had interrupted your workflow. I will personally look into this matter. Should you decide to share more comments regarding any other aspect of your stay with us, please feel free to contact me a h8468-rm@accor.com
Once again please accept our apology and hope to see you again with us!
Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here at the start of our return leg home. After a bad experience at novotel in Southampton England, I was dubious about staying here --- how wrong I was. It was absolutely lovely! The beds were like little clouds of happiness sending you off to one of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time! We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food! Good central location, it cost us 7 Bulgarian lev in a taxi into the centre of the city.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of the beds and had a chance to also explore Sofia city center.

Thank you for choosing us and we are looking forward to welcome you again with us!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed two nights at the new Novotel in Sofia, Bulgaria. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, brand new, and in a good location, right next to a beautiful new shopping mall and only about 10 minutes from airport. The room was very well appointed, the only thing that kept it from being a 5 is that there was no where to have two outlets by a mirror (I'm a hair dryer and flat iron person). Had to figure out how to plug in. No outlets in bathroom and only mirror was where the suitcase holder is.

Great shower, a few complimentary beverages in mini bar. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2Travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent D, General Manager at Novotel Sofia, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for your review on Novotel Sofia!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your remarks for the plug ins, we are in a process of adding new outlets in order to make our guests` stay even more comfortable.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Vincent Dujardin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
4.4 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#5 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Sofia
1.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Sofia
Suite Hotel Sofia
#13 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 132 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sofia

Property: Novotel Sofia
Address: 115 N Tsarigradsko Shousse Bvld, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing