We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a real 5 star hotel, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sense Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sense Hotel Sofia
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Lodz
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a real 5 star hotel, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel boasts 5 star at the entrance, but my experience tells me it is a 4 star superior at best. no smoking rooms available even if it had been booked in advance. Smoking was possible outside or in the very noisy bar on the roof: the music was still to be heard from the 9th to the 6th floor!!!! The room was nice and well equipped, also the toiletries were of good quality; unfortunately there was a persistent smell of old wool covers lingering in the room after having been closed in a cupboard for ages, and a stagnating water unpleasant smell from the bathroom (maybe also linked to the shower base made out of wood). The breakfast was acceptable, but for sure far from the level of a 5 star hotel. I would define it as a sophisticated business level hotel. Unfortunately I had no time to check out SPA and relax areas. The personnel was average friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitza V, General Manager at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us.
We are grateful for the feedback that we receive from all our valued guests like you. We strive for perfection in everything we do and your comments are of great importance to us.

I do hope that you’ve enjoyed your stay and the mentioned matters have not affected negatively your overall experience.
We have diagnosed the smell issues specified by you and we are in a process of rectifying them.
To ensure breakfast variety to all our guests, we are working on implementing ‘wish-to-order’ items that are not offered at the buffet. Additionally, as a result of your and of other valued guests recent comments, we are re-training our team members to ensure consistent and professional service to all our guests.
All our rooms and indoor facilities are non-smoking as publically advertised. For your future stay I do suggest and offer our suites with terraces for should you wish to smoke.
I do hope that during your next trip to Sofia you’ll have time to try our exquisite SPA areas and services.

It would be our great pleasure to have you back with us.

Kindest Regards,

Elitza Velichkova
General Manager
Sense Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    173
    47
    15
    21
See reviews for
53
189
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really nice modern hotel with huge bed and huge large screen tv with a massive selection of tv channels.Room was very spacious and the full length windows let a lot of light in.My room was smack bang opposite the Nvesky cathedral and I had a great view.The large bathroom had a bath and shower and lovely Molton Brown toiletries.
5-10 minutes walk to the town centre and major sights so the location was great.
The rooftop bar seems to be the place to go in Sofia for those with a bit of money.Was certainly a bit pricey compared to most other bars but the view was stunning with the floodlit Cathedral taking centre stage.
Staff as expected were very helpful.I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Obviously try and ask for a room opposite the Nvesky Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitza V, General Manager at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. I’m glad that you have enjoyed the views from our Rooftop Bar.
It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. Your comments have been shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Sense Hotel Sofia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Your Sincerely,

Elitza Velichkova
General Manager
Sense Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just wanted to make a visit to the rooftop bar last weekend (26.04.2014). Despite my office making a reservation, the staff could not find it. An experience which was rather humiliating as we were a party of 4 people and had to leave the place again (no support whatsoever from the lady at the entrace - she just did not care that they made a mistake). Disappoint - but what can you do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitza V, General Manager at Sense Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the Rooftop Bar at the Sense Hotel Sofia.

I regret that you and your party could not be accommodated at the bar. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the miscommunication about your reservation.
Following your comments our Bar Manager has been addressed with the issue of how the situation was handled by the hostess on shift. We do aim to offer high as the sky service throughout all our premises and such guests’ experience is a great disappointment to us and absolutely unacceptable.

Once again, I apologize for the way this situation has made you feel.
We do hope to have you as our guests in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Elitza Velichkova
General Manager
Sense Hotel Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Excellent location and great minimalist design

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights deluxe room. One must pay 4BGN for coffee and tea in the room which is ridiculous for a 5 star hotel. It was only one coffeecup in the room, even though we were two guests.
We did not get clean cup the next day and it was not satisfactory cleaning of the room. The terrace and the rooftop bar has great views but in the last moment we did not get the reserved table and it was not possible to put the bill at the hotel room!
Small things but annoying and unnecessary for the expected quality

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful design, gorgeous views, amazing service, perfect location.
The rooms are spacious, well-designed and super clean.
The staff is friendly and professional.
Smack in the center of town, across from the Nvesky Cathedral.

Look no further - best hotel in Sofia!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamutalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Perfect location and a great mix of high class and young design and atmosphere.
Spend 3 nights in this affordable 5 star hotel and would be glad to return to the nice big bed and excellent shower. Staff are mostly helpful and polite with relatively good English. The only disappointment part was breakfast which lacked in variety, plus the hot drinks cost extra, not a true 5 star experience. The top floor bar has a great city view. All in all - big thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Grand Hotel Sofia
#7 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#3 of 130 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lozenets
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 130 in Sofia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Sofia

Property: Sense Hotel Sofia
Address: bul.Tsar Osvoboditel 16, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sense Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the most aristocratic boulevard in the very heart of Sofia, Sense’s focus on refined, and modern contemporary design is mixed with luxurious and sensual elements to create a unique "new classic" venue which will not date as casually fashionable hotel. The superb location also offers numerous restaurants, bars and nightlife spots, as well as an easy walk to the main government and cultural buildings, tourist sights and shopping areas.All rooms are comfortably designed and offer full range of amenities a guest may need. Elegant furniture and smart materials (tactile stone, natural wood, corian and leather) with an ultramodern twist created by the integrated technical advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sense Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing