We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service”
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Reviewed 15 April 2013

As the name says, this hotel is located downtown Sofia. It id only two blocks away from the culture centre, and close to the walking district. Nice large rooms, good breakfast, and good service. There is also a Starbucks really close, as well as many restaurants.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jsetsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Very comfortable rooms, combined with high standard services offered in affordable prices. Even though not in a walking distance from the main Sofia attractions, I would surely recommend it. Ask for a room on the last floor, with nice view on the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the last floor, there is a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Sofia is a very walkable city - so the location of Downtown Hotel is just right. You can walk all over the city and there's even a Starbucks close by for those who like that kind of thing.

My room was big and clean. The bed was harder than what I'm used to. Also the room was too hot but I turned the heating off. That helped with the actual room but unfortunately the bathroom or corridor didn't cool down at all.

There was no noise from outside (traffic or otherwise) but I did hear coughing from the room next to mine. I managed to sleep okay nevertheless.

The gym was enough for me, I only had time to use it once. It had to be opened up for me in the morning. It is located on floor -1, information which I could not find anywhere.

Breakfast wasn't fabulous but it was enough - very nice tea, loved the vegetables, cheese and fruit. I did not like the fact that the same pieces of cake were served everyday!!

The staff was very friendly and nice, it's always a nice to be greeted with a smile.

For the price, I think the hotel was value for money. When I return to Sofia, I will gladly stay at the Downtown again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had a fourth floor room and it was quite nice. It was winter and we needed to turn the heat off as it was too warm and had to open the window. A bit noisy at night with the traffic but otherwise a nice place. The breakfast was a wonderful western breakfast except for Sunday and Monday AM only bread and hard boiled eggs was disappointed in that. The staff were very nice and very knowledgeable. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th or 7th floor with the best wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgerpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel could be very nice if it would be possible to sleep!
I could hear during the 2 nights everything that was happening in the rooms above and next to mine... Just horrible, I was exhausted and happy to live!
I will not come back for sure...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a wonderful suite of rooms on the second floor with two balconies. The staff were very helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. The beds were extremely comfortable. I would recommend you to stay if you are in Sofia

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Poor WiFi reception in the room but OK in the lobby. And it's included in the price.
Clean and comfortably, quiet (309) and cool with good aircon for 30 degrees outside. Bathroom rather small but good facilities.
Amazing selection of whiskies in the bar but only bottled beers.
Breakfast OK but I had dinner elsewhere.
Would stay again here without question.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogget-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#20 of 133 in Sofia
308 reviews
Poduyane
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#54 of 133 in Sofia
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: stadionVasil Levski 27, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sofia
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the day absorbing all the vibrant culture, exclusive shopping and distinctive cafés that the capital has to offer, then return to the deluxe hospitality of the 4-star hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria.Located in the Sofia city centre the boutique hotel is within walking distance from the major financial institutions, historical sites and tourist attractions, in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture.Sofia International Airport as well as the Central Bus & Rail Stations are 15 minutes drive.Known for its unique architecture, elegant interior and attentive service, this luxurious 9-storey building combines home-style coziness and a peaceful atmosphere.Hotel Downtown comprises of 59 stylish rooms and suites with intimate atmosphere, all of them elegantly appointed and offering a comprehensive range of facilities: soundproof windows, working area, free high-speed Wi-Fi internet, individually controlled air conditioning, in-room safe, satellite/pay TV, minibar. En-suite bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, telephone and extended choice of bathroom amenities, bathrobe and slippers are available to the guests.Restaurant seating 45 guests, lobby bar, 24-hour room service, 2 conference rooms, business centre, minibus transportation from/to Sofia Airport, non-smoking floors, laundry, pressing and dry cleaning, free of charge car parking complete the guests’ pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing