We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more helpful”
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Small but very clean with excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Only a short walk from the town centre. We arrived on an early flight and they allowed us into our room at midday. They supplied us with a map and helped us get our bearings. The drinks were great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana_LT, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear RuthMitch,
Thank you for your very positive annotation. We are happy that you could experience variety of services here at Downtown and enjoy your stay. We will be truly glad to welcome you again and make your stay even more unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    83
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
6
20
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the city center. Very near to NDK and 10 minutes walk to administrative center. You can reach any point of the center by foot.

Staff is very kind. You can ask them anything about the city.

Fortunately the hotel is outside the protests zone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Naiden I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana_LT, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your informative recommendation. We are delighted to hear about your good experience at our hotel and are thankful for your high estimation of both our services and location. Yes, we would like also to affirm that our location is far from the protests spots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A small hotel, clean, nicely located, helpfull staff. Very satisfied. I stayed only one night, it was a family trip and the hotel was used as a transit point before going further into Bulgaria. This hotel would make an excelent choice for a buisiness trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eTel_ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mr. Dimitris,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sofia, Bulgaria and for your positive feedback. We are pleased when our guests leave contented as we always endeavor great service level by developing constantly our customer services and strictly following certain policy rules. We will be glad to meet you again at Downtown Hotel, Sofia!

Best Regards,
Hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked a single room this summer for 5 days. It's a good choice with proper price, convenient location and excellent service. I'll give all 5 and If I go sofia again, it's the choice.
One pity is about the socket to convert from European standard to other countries. I can borrow one from the front-desk, however, it can not suit mine.

Room Tip: early reservation may helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eTel_ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mr. David,

Thank you for being our guest and your positive appraisal. Yes, for your next visits, you can ask anytime our personnel members to place a socket at yours disposal or whatever other facilities and services you may need. Our team is 24/7 at your disposal and expects you upon your next visit to Sofia!

Best Regards,
Hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed for almost a week in 2013.
If you are on your business trip in Sofia, this is a good hotel. Clean, stylish and good service. The hotel is located 10-15 min walk from center of Sofia. Good also for vacation or romantic purposes and if you are looking for the comfortable place to stay for a week, this is the one. Bar next to the lobby is quite useful as well.
Friendly staff and professional. Nice breakfast too!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior level to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tourist_alex_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eTel_ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mr. Alex,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and your great recommendation! We are pleased that you as a guest of “Downton hotel” feel contented by our services and hotel features. If you are coming for a longer stay, remember to ask for a long-stay offer!

Best Regards,
Downtown Hotel, Sofia, Bulgaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meylan, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Downtown hotel for a week, while participating in a nearby conference. Everything about it was great, including the location, the rooms, the friendly staff and the excellent breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shachar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eTel_ltd, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Mr. Mirkin,

Thank you for the recommendation and the nice words for the hotel. Our staff is working hard to be able to give the guests the service, they deserve. We are always happy when someone appreciates the effort and shares it with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in June. Good service from friendly staff. The hotels best asset. Breakfast was pleasant. Rooms are a generous size. A little dated decor, but clean and comfortable. The location is also good - short walk to the centre of Sofia. Recommended as a value hotel in a nice capital city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
683 reviews
Art Otel
#41 of 133 in Sofia
66 reviews
Oborishte
Best Western Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Park Hotel
#19 of 133 in Sofia
297 reviews
Serdica
Best Western Plus Bristol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Property: Downtown Hotel
Address: stadionVasil Levski 27, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sofia
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the day absorbing all the vibrant culture, exclusive shopping and distinctive cafés that the capital has to offer, then return to the deluxe hospitality of the 4-star hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria.Located in the Sofia city centre the boutique hotel is within walking distance from the major financial institutions, historical sites and tourist attractions, in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture.Sofia International Airport as well as the Central Bus & Rail Stations are 15 minutes drive.Known for its unique architecture, elegant interior and attentive service, this luxurious 9-storey building combines home-style coziness and a peaceful atmosphere.Hotel Downtown comprises of 59 stylish rooms and suites with intimate atmosphere, all of them elegantly appointed and offering a comprehensive range of facilities: soundproof windows, working area, free high-speed Wi-Fi internet, individually controlled air conditioning, in-room safe, satellite/pay TV, minibar. En-suite bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, telephone and extended choice of bathroom amenities, bathrobe and slippers are available to the guests.Restaurant seating 45 guests, lobby bar, 24-hour room service, 2 conference rooms, business centre, minibus transportation from/to Sofia Airport, non-smoking floors, laundry, pressing and dry cleaning, free of charge car parking complete the guests’ pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing