We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly located excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superbly located excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is excellently located within a short walking distance from the main tourist attractions, the city centre and the Alexander Nevsky Cahedral. There is a large park opposite where one can have a morning walk and an outlet of the famous "must do" Jimmy's Ice Cream parlour" next door. The only downside I felt was the overlarge lobby that lacked "warmth" and the huge breakfast area, which while necessary for groups, was too minimalistic for a boutique hotel.
The rooms were adequate and comfortable and quiet. We did not get to use the swimming pool but it looked rather attractive! I would not hesitate to strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrishNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    106
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
41
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and it keeps getting better. Ever since Bulgaria became a member of the EU both the Hotel and the surrounding area has improved considerably.

Rooms are decent (always very well kept) and WIFI connection is stable, always a plus when on a business trip.

Good selection of Whiskey's at the bar. If you are not much of a drinker I recommend the freshly made juices. The carrot and orange one being my favorite.

Hotel restaurant is also surprisingly good but expensive in comparison to standard Sofia restaurants.

Staff is always very polite and helpful.

My only concern is that the Gym is a tad on the small side.

I will be going back though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanito-gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Crystal Palace in September 2012 for 2 nights when we arrived in Bulgaria, and 1 night before we left Bulgaria. Crystal Palace hotel was clean, quiet and best location in Sofia in my view. Small hotel with nice staff, great breakfast and all amenities included. We were in Bulgaria for 10 days traveled from Sofia to Black Sea. Crystal Palace was the best hotel we stayed for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone at any time!

Room Tip: Corner room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeasInThePodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I attended a wedding here recently and I thought that it was a very nice place. The food we had was delicious and the service was well executed. Our friends who stayed in the rooms were pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueensNYmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a very good hotel, part of a small group but with an individual feel to it. Very well appointed rooms (though tea and coffee making facilities would be nice) and spacious, high quality public areas. The hotel is in a great location, just a short stroll from Nevsky cathedral, with most other city centre attractions within easy walking distance. Food good (though the restaurant is very quiet at weekends).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I wound up at the Crystal Palace for a work function over several days. I live in Sofia, so am generally sceptical about the service offered by local establishments, especially those with ostentatious names like crystal palace.
However, I have only good things to say about this hotel - from the competence and courtesy of the staff, to the quality of the rooms and food, location - all excellent. Fantastic value too. I gave the rooms a 4/5 only because old world heavy furnishings aren't my cup of tea, but the quality in all other aspects well outweighed my style biases.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarikmuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great food especially the breakfast the staff were friendly and spoke English . Took around 30 minutes by cab to the airport. Found a beautiful mosque in central Sofia opposite the McDonalds too which is around 15 minutes by cab from the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imranpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
0.5 mi away
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: ul.Shipka 14, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#15 Business Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in downtown Sofia, next to the famous Doctor's Garden, Sofia's National Library, the University of Sofia, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and other main institutions, cultural sights and places of interest. The stylish hotel offers 63 spacious and cozy rooms and apartments behind a facade that is defined as an architectural monument. The elegantly furnished hotel is well equipped with modern amenities and has 2 conference rooms, a lobby bar, a sophisticated restaurant and a SPA & Wellness center. Crystal Palaces' restaurant and lobby are very popular amongst members of the Bulgarian government and high society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing