We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel's location is good, rooms are ok - nothing special. The showers were not that good, lack of pressure made showering difficult. Breakfast was average. Got a good nights sleep though. On total it felt a bit overpriced and would probably go somewhere else next time. In addition they have severe issues with my CC payments due to the lack of connections - which made the checkout last for ~30min.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You for the feedback and Your recommendation. We will try to get the things better especially regarding the breakfast. What happened due to the check out is really accidental so we apologize for the caused inconvenience. Sometimes the banks have problems or the connections are embarrassed but this happens very rarely. The receptionist inform You about her actions and decision to call the bank and find out what is the problem with the credit card so You agreed and You knew about the delay. Very often the issue bank has special restrictions and it depends on that is the card debit or credit or some other reasons are possible.

About the prices for accommodation I could assure You that it depends on availability and season so You could check in other four stars hotels in the city center and You will see that there the rates are not much different. Anyway You have special agreement, very good conditions and special rates which are much acceptable than those prices on reception desk.

We would like to inform You that the hotel has strict policies for recycling, water preserving and energy efficiency so that is why probably You felt lack of pressure which made the showering difficult. It is good for both sites when a problem exists or the client is disappointed to express this so our team could help and solve the problem on time.

We wish You all the best! We hope to be again Your host by future visit in Bulgaria.

From The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    106
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
41
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is in a central location in downtown Sofia, near to the Parliament and the University. It is from a 15 minute drive from the airport, and it also offers transfer service for a reasonable price with high quality. The standard room is enormous and very comfortable, the mini-bar is well equipped, the bathroom is big enough, with all the services you would need. Staff is friendly, speaks fluent English. The hotel also has a quite well equipped gym, although I had no time to try out the spa area, it left a good impression. The breakfast is decent, although nothing special, the selection of food was not that wide you’d expect from a 4 star hotel. The restaurant on the other hand is really on of the best I’ve been to in the city. Piano music, good wines and delicious food. The only thing I did not like was the cigarette smoke in the elevator. I’d definitely spend my time here again when in Sofia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darvkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank You for the excellent rating and good words for Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace. The management appreciates also Your recommends for serving breakfast. It is really strange that You’ve mentioned cigarette smoke because all rooms in the hotel and areas around are non smoking. Probably this happened only that time and we would like to apologize for the caused inconvenience. We hope to be our guest again when You visit Sofia.

Best regards!

From the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was part of a tour group booking.
Very nice hotel and room and we had a pleasant stay.
Within walking distance to centre of the city and sights to see.
Very nice room and clean.
Food was delicious for the included dinner.
Interesting that for breakfast all the cups were chipped - not a good look to the tourist and it was discussed on the departing bus.
Close to a park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Josie,
Thank You very much for Your nice and positive review. We are glad that Your stay at Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace was pleasant. We appreciate Your recommendation about the details of the service and outlook in the breakfast room.
We wish You all the best!
From the Management
Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is well situated in the City center, just behind Sofia University. All important sightseeings are available ona walking distance. The rooms are well equiped, clean and spacious. Personal is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ludovit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ludovit K,
We would like to thank You for Your excellent review. We appreciate every good word for the hotel and staff too. We hope You will stay again here when You come back to Sofia.

We wish You all the best!

From the Management
Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour of the Balkans.

This is a beautifully appointed hotel close to the centre and the Alexander Nevsky cathedral. We had a suite (202) and it was fabulous.

The bed was massive and very comfortable in a huge corner bedroom. Strange that only one single quilt was supplied but another single quilt was in the wardrobe !

The bathroom was luxurious BUT the floor is *lethal* - be very careful because the bath tub is very high and has a wide rim - I only chanced one shower as there is no grab rail and being slightly disabled I struggled to stay safe exiting.

The towels were large, plentiful and fluffy but there was only one loo roll all our stay.

We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was good.

Breakfasts were also good with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for a stay in Sofia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPI-Hotels, General Manager at Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank You very much for the excellent rating! Actually You had a free upgrade in deluxe suite. We are glad that You've liked it. The second quilt is usually in the wardrobe because there are big enough and practice shows that if the quests require separate blankets we just put those from the wardrobe. We also appreciate Your recommendation about the bathroom. It is strange that You did not see the grab rail which is on the wall. We already put two paper rolls in each room. We apologize for the caused inconvenience.

We wish You all the best and hope to welcome You again in Boutique Hotel Crystal Palace!

From the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wichita,ks
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very convenient hotel. Near tourist sights e.g. Alexander Nevsky, but across the street from a park and near non-touristy Sofia neighborhood where foreign embassies are located. Appx. 7 minute walk to the Sofia University Metro Stop. No more than 20 minutes away from the airport. Many good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Across the street from a park.
Nice selection of choices on the breakfast buffet. Service was professional, but friendly. Rooms and hotel very clean.
Bathroom was fairly large and very clean.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were quieter. I heard some people talking in the street late one night when I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the yellow brick road and Sofia University. It I also near touristy sites and a metro station. It is only 15 minutes from the airport. The lobby is comfortable as is the bar and restaurant. There is a pretty patio associated with the restaurant. The hotel is extremely clean. The stairwell sparkles and smells like citrus. The rooms are just as clean. Beds are comfortable. I did not detect street noise. The bathroom is spacious w large tub and shower. There is plenty of storage space with closet and a safe. There is a flat screen tv with a variety of channels in different languages. This hotel is across the street from a park and is within walking distance of good bars and restaurants.service is top notch and friendly. I think breakfast is a convenient option with a large variety of options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
0.5 mi away
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: ul.Shipka 14, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#15 Business Hotel in Sofia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel is a 4 star hotel located in downtown Sofia, next to the famous Doctor's Garden, Sofia's National Library, the University of Sofia, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and other main institutions, cultural sights and places of interest. The stylish hotel offers 63 spacious and cozy rooms and apartments behind a facade that is defined as an architectural monument. The elegantly furnished hotel is well equipped with modern amenities and has 2 conference rooms, a lobby bar, a sophisticated restaurant and a SPA & Wellness center. Crystal Palaces' restaurant and lobby are very popular amongst members of the Bulgarian government and high society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Boutique Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing