We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Hostel Mostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mostel
Ranked #1 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Book ahead. This place is busy in the summer and for a good reason. It's cheap, clean, solid staff, interesting travelers, nice private rooms w/ shared showers and the dorms are nice as well. Security is solid and the location is central to where you want to be in the center of Sofia. There are several computer terminals available, breakfast and light dinner are a big plus as is the local butcher shop (cheap and good) a market nearby has japanese ramen for those of you missing a little asian food on the cheap which is easy to cook. Pretty sweet here, lots to see and a very comfortable common area. They also have a helpful staff to direct you where to go and what to see. Ask about their Veliko Tarnovo location, I think it's great.

Room Tip: Book ahead and consider the price for a private room with shared shower. It has a slightly better lo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic Guys and girls run the hostel, clean, cheap and with a super cool buffet breakfast(better than a lot of hotel!)
The guests are awesome as well, best weekend in europe since years!
It s included also a free glass of beer and a dish for the dinner, very useful to know the other guest(and maybe join the daily pub crawl!)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Fedeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here with a small group. The service is excellent - we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. The reception staff were able to offer good advice on what to see and do in Sofia.

The hostel room was ok - located across the road from the main hostel. Bathroom facilities were ok.

The continental breakfast on offer was very good. The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sofia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling for 8 weeks now, this is by far the best hostel! Amazing breakfast and a free supper with beer. Activities each day. Friendly staff and very helpful. The bedrooms are simple and clean. The showers are hot. Towels are provided! I can't say enough about how great my stay here was. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Anonymoustraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

One of the most famous hostels in the world! I didn’t know that Sofia is a nice city before visiting to this hostel. The hostel serves gourmet breakfast and dinner too! The price for one day is just 10 euro so you don’t have to spend extra money for having a meal. The staffs in the hostel were very kind and nice. Also, they have a large spacious lobby so that you can take a rest in a lobby for a while without considering others. If I have a chance to go Sofia, I will definitely choose this hostel!

Room Tip: The cheapest dormitory(8 beds without bathroom) was good if you just take a sleep in a room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berespectful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staff are the most friendly I've ever dealt with in a hostel. Room wasn't even a room, it was a whole apartment with common area, superfast WiFi, not even five minutes from Vitosha Boulevard (the main thoroughfare). Stupidly cheap - they could charge three times as much and it'd still be reasonable. Common area is also great, free (or cheap) breakfast wasn't amazing but given everything else is, I can let that slide. I've heard from friends that the dorms aren't as great, so if you do go, try to book a two- or three-person room, because it's in a freakin' apartment. (Also, the front garage door leading to the common area looks really dodgy but don't worry about that, just keep walking.)

Room Tip: Book a room rather than a bed if you can - three-person rooms are fantastic here!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandeweerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful hostel! Great free breakfast (eggs! veggies and fruit! not just bread!) and dinner, free pub crawl every night, helpful staff, and one of the best common areas I've seen, complete with pool table, computers, and a really well-stocked book exchange. They also have free luggage storage -- a HUGE plus for backpackers taking night trains/buses.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 133 in Sofia
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#7 of 133 in Sofia
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#8 of 133 in Sofia
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mostel

Address: pl.Makedonia 2a, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: £10 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Mostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mostel Hotel Sofia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing